Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Ryzen 3XXX (Matisse) on x470 will memory run faster?

    Question is in the title, does anyone know if you can get the new memory speeds being advertised on the x470 board that some of the x570 boards are advertising for the Ryzen 3rd Gen?

    I am seeing some boards advertised speeds of 4800+ Mhz on DDR4 memroy. Which has me asking if I can swap my current Ryzen 2700x with a Ryzen 3900x and will I then be able to get speds over 4000Mhz on the DDR4 memory with my Asus x470 Crosshair VII board?

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,412

    Possibly. There are two issues I've heard so far regarding Ryzen memory improvements. One is the memory controller on the CPU being improved and decoupled from the fabric. The other is motherboard trace improvements. So if your limits stem mostly from the CPU, yes an upgrade will help.

    If you don't want to be the guinea pig I'd recommend waiting until others have tried 3000 series on the Crosshair.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Possibly. There are two issues I've heard so far regarding Ryzen memory improvements. One is the memory controller on the CPU being improved and decoupled from the fabric. The other is motherboard trace improvements. So if your limits stem mostly from the CPU, yes an upgrade will help.

    If you don't want to be the guinea pig I'd recommend waiting until others have tried 3000 series on the Crosshair.
    From what I am seeing in other threads is that the latest BIOS is limiting DDR4 speeds to 2400Mhz if you are using a 3xxx chip and that AGESA 1.0.0.3AB (or something like that) is going to be released soon and that should open it up.

    I am hopping

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    90

    DDR4 is NOT limited at all!

    People are running speeds of 4000MTs and more on X470

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    281

    Quote Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
    From what I am seeing in other threads is that the latest BIOS is limiting DDR4 speeds to 2400Mhz if you are using a 3xxx chip and that AGESA 1.0.0.3AB (or something like that) is going to be released soon and that should open it up.

    I am hopping
    It has turned out the absent RAM OC was because BOOT DRAM VOLTAGE defaults to 1.2V in this bios, many OC settings needs more juice - normally 1.35V. Just set the value before rebooting and RAM OC will work as usual.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    It has turned out the absent RAM OC was because BOOT DRAM VOLTAGE defaults to 1.2V in this bios, many OC settings needs more juice - normally 1.35V. Just set the value before rebooting and RAM OC will work as usual.
    So do you have any links of people posting about this saying they have gotten RAM to run at 4000Mhz with the C7H and a Ryzen 3xxx?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    217
    Posts
    6,218

    I just did a internet search and found results from Mr Logan

    3900x:crosshair 7 = 4400mhz
    3700x:crosshair 8 = 4600mhz

    Why shouldn't it be possible to OC the memory on Ryzen 3000?
    Last edited by Rockford; 07-10-2019 at 02:07 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    281

    Quote Originally Posted by Rockford View Post
    I just did a internet search and found results from Mr Logan

    3900x:crosshair 7 = 4400mhz
    3900x:crosshair 8 = 4600mhz

    Why shouldn't it be possible to OC the memory on Ryzen 3000?

    Yes. I have seen several results, it works and very well. You just need to know your bios bugs, like the current 1.2V boot issue.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Given how the frequency of Infinity Fabric works I am not sure you'd want RAM running that fast, as opposed to running at 3600-3733MHz with better timings.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array Prydeless PC Specs
    Prydeless PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero x470
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)Trident Gskill
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega VII
    Monitor2x Acer 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity Waterblock
    CaseLian Li
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200
    Keyboard Logitech g610
    Mouse Logitech g602
    Headset Steel Series Arctis 7
    Mouse Pad Steel Series RGB XL
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Prydeless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I have a 3900x on a CH7 and have overclocked my ram to 3600 (ram boot voltage is what is giving alot of people c5 errors, it defaults @ 1.2)

    Anyways, here are my timings, set the ram to manual with the fclk to 1800 (half of ram speed, don't leave on auto, your latency will be alot higher if you leave on auto)

    https://imgur.com/a/1nbMl4B

    Hope that helps.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •