Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 52
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR9 3900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3800MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX2070 Super Gaming
    Sound CardMotu M2
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #11TB Samsung 970 Plus NVMe
    Storage #2plenty
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
    CaseNZXT H700
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    358

    Bios 2501 performs very well, it's only the known bugs disturbing the experience.

    But Yesterday AMD said they will have a new AGESA with all possible fixes delivered to vendors on Tuesday, so we have a much better bios possibly incoming first half of August.

    New Ryzen Dram Calculator also incoming tomorrow!

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Yes 2501 performs well.

    Even better is 0068 if I disregard how on 1st POST after flash chipset gets ~1.35V, when default is ~1.05V.

    Why 0068 is better is it has better training process at POST and changes of settings.

    For example I can go from stock to PBO+150MHz 3800MHz C16 whilst on 4x8GB in one go on UEFI 0068, but UEFI 2501 will Q-Code: C5. UEFI 2406/2501 need to be coaxed into that profile, they can jump from stock to PBO+150MHz 3800MHz C16 whilst on 2x8GB in one go.

    There are a few other factors which make also UEFI 0068 best IMO. UEFI 2602 was pants IMO, I was hoping that would gain the training process UEFI 0068 had, but didn't look like it did. I'm hoping next release is more like UEFI 0068.

    I also like changes in PBO on Extreme Tweaker of UEFI 0068 is better reflected in RM.

    https://youtu.be/CLEopLPNoJw
    Last edited by gupsterg; 07-28-2019 at 02:11 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  3. #33
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    My board on 2501 and 3600 running G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 CL14 2x8gb keeps forgetting the VBOOT setting on every cold boot, gives C5 error like when VBOOT is set to AUTO. Any idea how to solve this, it's getting really annoying, i have to clear CMOS and load up my profile every time i use the PC for the first time that day. Luckily it's stable and works fine otherwise.
    2602 was an absolute BSOD fest. Previous 3200 CL16 ram worked fine though with DOCP.

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    When you mean cold boot, you mean you turned off power to PC power supply?
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  5. #35
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    When you mean cold boot, you mean you turned off power to PC power supply?
    Yes, i turn off the APC overnight or when i go out for some time, like now, i came home, turned on, C5. It's like Vboot rolls back to the previous value, which was 1.2v i guess. I've now just set dram in vboot voltage to 1.35v, will now restart into BIOS and set the DOCP profile and all other stuff, maybe it'll work.

    Another bizarre problem is i can't get into BIOS except from windows, the keyboard doesn't work until the it's too late to press DEL or F2.

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array KeithMyers PC Specs
    KeithMyers PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 Hybrid
    Graphics Card #2RTX 2080 Hybrid
    Graphics Card #3RTX 2080 Hybrid
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO M.2 256GB
    CPU CoolerXSPC 360 V3 radiator Aqua Computer Kryos Cuplex Next
    CaseThermaltake Level 20 XT
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200
    OS Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68R

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    BIOS 2501 is totally broken. Turns off all the motherboard fan headers at least a couple times a day leading to cpu overtemp error and a reboot. All fans stop spinning. This is with all fan output controls disabled in the BIOS for nothing but solid +12V to all the fans all the time for 100% fan rpms. I've been dealing with this aggravation ever since upgrading to the 3900X and the 2501 BIOS on the C7H. Never a problem before for the 2700X and the 1001 BIOS that was installed previously. I have had over half a dozen reboots to cpu overtemp errors so far. Adjusted clocks and voltages to no effect. I am on custom loop cooling with the pump powered by SATA. But the radiator fans were connected to the cpu fan header. Every time I found the system waiting on the BIOS splash screen to have F1 key pressed to enter Setup, all the fans are spinning. Finally had it happen while browsing the forums, and noticed the cpu temp at 92° C. and all five fan outputs at 0 rpm. Got the side panel off to look and finally found all fans actually completely stopped. Moved the radiator fan cable to the cpu opt header to see if that did anything. It did not. At that point the computer rebooted at 95°C. on the monitor and then all the fans started spinning again once the display arrived at the BIOS splash screen with the cpu overtemp error.

    I have moved the radiator fans to a molex direct connection and have ordered a fan controlle hub powered by SATA. ASUS needs to fix this BIOS ASAP.

  7. #37
    New ROGer Array DJATOM PC Specs
    DJATOM PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus N55SF
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)KHX3200C18D4/16G
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 2070 Gaming OC
    MonitorDell UltraSharp U2312HM Black
    Storage #1Kingston A1000 @ 240 GB
    Storage #23x Toshiba 3TB HDDs
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
    CaseChieftec Bravo BA-01B-B-B Black
    Power SupplySeasonic ATX 1000W Focus Plus Gold
    Keyboard Sven Standard 307M
    Mouse Razer Naga 2012
    Headset/Speakers Some Microlab speakers
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-N56U B1 (Padavan FW @ AC Network mode)

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithMyers View Post
    BIOS 2501 is totally broken. Turns off all the motherboard fan headers at least a couple times a day leading to cpu overtemp error and a reboot. All fans stop spinning. This is with all fan output controls disabled in the BIOS for nothing but solid +12V to all the fans all the time for 100% fan rpms. I've been dealing with this aggravation ever since upgrading to the 3900X and the 2501 BIOS on the C7H. Never a problem before for the 2700X and the 1001 BIOS that was installed previously. I have had over half a dozen reboots to cpu overtemp errors so far. Adjusted clocks and voltages to no effect. I am on custom loop cooling with the pump powered by SATA. But the radiator fans were connected to the cpu fan header. Every time I found the system waiting on the BIOS splash screen to have F1 key pressed to enter Setup, all the fans are spinning. Finally had it happen while browsing the forums, and noticed the cpu temp at 92° C. and all five fan outputs at 0 rpm. Got the side panel off to look and finally found all fans actually completely stopped. Moved the radiator fan cable to the cpu opt header to see if that did anything. It did not. At that point the computer rebooted at 95°C. on the monitor and then all the fans started spinning again once the display arrived at the BIOS splash screen with the cpu overtemp error.

    I have moved the radiator fans to a molex direct connection and have ordered a fan controlle hub powered by SATA. ASUS needs to fix this BIOS ASAP.
    Actually I've noticed such behavior with AI Suite, so I've uninstalled it and no problems with fans for now.

  8. #38
    New ROGer Array chuckkm8 PC Specs
    chuckkm8 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GVK @ 3733CL16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    Sound CardBenchmark DAC2 HGC
    MonitorDell P2715Q x2
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro & Intel 750 Series
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo & Intel 730 Series
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv X
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850P2
    Keyboard Topre Realforce 87U (Norbaforce)
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX (KISS Modded)
    Mouse Pad Artisan Hayate Kou FX Soft
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305
    OS Windows 10 1903
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by DJATOM View Post
    Actually I've noticed such behavior with AI Suite, so I've uninstalled it and no problems with fans for now.
    Yup, all motherboard software like AI Suite is complete garbage, there are no exceptions. Why people continue to install this utter crap and wonder why they're having issues is beyond me. Installing this bloatware is one thing but if your first instinct when you run into problems isn't to uninstall it I don't know what to tell you.

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Quote Originally Posted by igralec84 View Post
    Yes, i turn off the APC overnight or when i go out for some time, like now, i came home, turned on, C5. It's like Vboot rolls back to the previous value, which was 1.2v i guess. I've now just set dram in vboot voltage to 1.35v, will now restart into BIOS and set the DOCP profile and all other stuff, maybe it'll work.

    Another bizarre problem is i can't get into BIOS except from windows, the keyboard doesn't work until the it's too late to press DEL or F2.
    I believe this is a UEFI bug. Hopefully release after 2602 fixes it.

    UEFI 0068 (link) does seem to have this bug fixed. It is AGESA ComboPi-AM4 1.0.0.2, be aware though on some boards chipset voltage on first POST after flashing can be ~1.35V, link.

    Once you manually set chipset voltage as 1.05V it will be that value even if you used "SAFE BOOT" button or make board enter "SAFE MODE" by holding down power button on board/case, the only time it can be ~1.35V is if you do CLEAR CMOS or on initial post after flashing.

    I find getting into UEFI can be difficult when a restart is done from OS. I watch the Q-LED, just as I see it get to boot LED and here post beep I hit DEL to get into UEFI. When the board is posted from shutdown then there is enough delay on initial UEFI screen to enter UEFI with ease.

    Quote Originally Posted by KeithMyers View Post
    BIOS 2501 is totally broken. Turns off all the motherboard fan headers at least a couple times a day leading to cpu overtemp error and a reboot. All fans stop spinning. This is with all fan output controls disabled in the BIOS for nothing but solid +12V to all the fans all the time for 100% fan rpms. I've been dealing with this aggravation ever since upgrading to the 3900X and the 2501 BIOS on the C7H. Never a problem before for the 2700X and the 1001 BIOS that was installed previously. I have had over half a dozen reboots to cpu overtemp errors so far. Adjusted clocks and voltages to no effect. I am on custom loop cooling with the pump powered by SATA. But the radiator fans were connected to the cpu fan header. Every time I found the system waiting on the BIOS splash screen to have F1 key pressed to enter Setup, all the fans are spinning. Finally had it happen while browsing the forums, and noticed the cpu temp at 92° C. and all five fan outputs at 0 rpm. Got the side panel off to look and finally found all fans actually completely stopped. Moved the radiator fan cable to the cpu opt header to see if that did anything. It did not. At that point the computer rebooted at 95°C. on the monitor and then all the fans started spinning again once the display arrived at the BIOS splash screen with the cpu overtemp error.

    I have moved the radiator fans to a molex direct connection and have ordered a fan controlle hub powered by SATA. ASUS needs to fix this BIOS ASAP.
    I have only experienced fan PWM going bad once on UEFI 2501. The board had been in use ~3 days without power off, only reboots had been done.

    The other two times PWM went bad when I had Ryzen Master open with other monitoring tools, I have to have RM and other tool concurrently open for few minutes and then board headers have an issue.

    I know your not on MS OS, perhaps something in Linux is sending Super IO chip wacko. I have yet to use Linux with R5 3600+C7H.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  10. #40
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    I believe this is a UEFI bug. Hopefully release after 2602 fixes it.

    UEFI 0068 (link) does seem to have this bug fixed. It is AGESA ComboPi-AM4 1.0.0.2, be aware though on some boards chipset voltage on first POST after flashing can be ~1.35V, link.

    Once you manually set chipset voltage as 1.05V it will be that value even if you used "SAFE BOOT" button or make board enter "SAFE MODE" by holding down power button on board/case, the only time it can be ~1.35V is if you do CLEAR CMOS or on initial post after flashing.

    I find getting into UEFI can be difficult when a restart is done from OS. I watch the Q-LED, just as I see it get to boot LED and here post beep I hit DEL to get into UEFI. When the board is posted from shutdown then there is enough delay on initial UEFI screen to enter UEFI with ease.
    Tried to manually set what DOCP sets, but still no luck, C5 on post after power has been off. I think i'll just wait for a new BIOS and hope it fixes this.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •