Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array g051051 PC Specs
    g051051 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1060

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    ROG Zenith Extreme (not Alpha) switching to NVMe instead of SATA on DIMM.2

    I have a ROG Zenith Extreme (not Alpha) with 2 1Tb M.2 SATA sticks on the DIMM.2 card. The price for 1Tb NVMe sticks has dropped to under $100 per, so I'm considering an upgrade. How easy is that nowadays? I remember horror stories from early on with incompatible drivers, RAID getting messed up, etc.

    I have a 4Tb array on the normal SATA ports, and the most current SATA RAID drivers. Is there any issue with the NVMe RAID drivers and the SATA ports?

    I figure I'll have to do the following steps:

    1. Clone my boot drive off of the M.2 SATA RAID.
    2. Switch the firmware to enable NVMe.
    3. Replace the old M.2 SATA with NVMe sticks.
    4. Set up array on NVMe drives.
    5. Boot the clone drive
    6. Install NVMe RAID drivers???
    7. Clone updated boot drive back to NVMe RAID.
    8. Boot from NVMe RAID


    The "Install NVMe RAID drivers" part is my concern. Anyone have any experience with the most recent 9.2.0.120 AMD RAID Drivers package (7/7/2019)? Any additional steps I need to take? This seems like a totally safe operation...my old M.2 sticks will be untouched so I can just swap them back in if something goes wrong.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array FalloutBoy PC Specs
    FalloutBoy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY-T7042H
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD 2950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW64GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1Aorus GTX 1080 Ti Extreme 11Gb
    Sound CardInbuilt
    MonitorViewsonic XG-2703-GS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1 Tb
    Storage #2Raid 6 Array 8 x 4 Tb SAS III on a 9361-8i
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S TR4 Edition with two AF15s
    CaseXigmatek Elysium Super Tower
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider ST-1500
    Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Razor Chroma Deathadder
    Headset Hyper X Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Playmax
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit 1903
    Network RouterFritzbox 7490

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    I'm going to piggypack of this ( hope you don't mind )

    I would like to know also if you can place this device in the board with no drives in it - I like the aesthetic of it and what effects would it have if the board was unpopulated?
    I truly believe that there are people on this planet who should voluntarily remove them selves from the gene pool.
    Maximus IV Extreme Z/16G/2600K, Rampage V Extreme Edition 10/32G/6900K, G751JY-T7042H
    Zenith Extreme Alpha/64G/2950x , X399 Prime A/32G/1900X
    Power Mad Mu ha ha ha

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array g051051 PC Specs
    g051051 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1060

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by FalloutBoy View Post
    I would like to know also if you can place this device in the board with no drives in it - I like the aesthetic of it and what effects would it have if the board was unpopulated?
    I don't get your meaning. What device? How would it work with no drives? Or do you just mean 1 M.2 stick in the 3rd slot (under the protective cover)? I'm pretty sure that would work just fine.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array FalloutBoy PC Specs
    FalloutBoy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY-T7042H
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD 2950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW64GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1Aorus GTX 1080 Ti Extreme 11Gb
    Sound CardInbuilt
    MonitorViewsonic XG-2703-GS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1 Tb
    Storage #2Raid 6 Array 8 x 4 Tb SAS III on a 9361-8i
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S TR4 Edition with two AF15s
    CaseXigmatek Elysium Super Tower
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider ST-1500
    Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Razor Chroma Deathadder
    Headset Hyper X Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Playmax
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit 1903
    Network RouterFritzbox 7490

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    The Dimm 2 Connector

    Quote Originally Posted by g051051 View Post
    I don't get your meaning. What device? How would it work with no drives? Or do you just mean 1 M.2 stick in the 3rd slot (under the protective cover)? I'm pretty sure that would work just fine.
    I assumed that the Alpha and the Non Alpha both have the DIMM2 socket near the ATX power connector ( ASUS's version of a M.2 PCIe Raid ) on which you can place the card for running two M.2 drives in Raid - that may be a wrong assumption on my part but if it is there I am wanting to know if you can plug the card in without any M.2 drives on it for purely aesthetic reasons.
    I truly believe that there are people on this planet who should voluntarily remove them selves from the gene pool.
    Maximus IV Extreme Z/16G/2600K, Rampage V Extreme Edition 10/32G/6900K, G751JY-T7042H
    Zenith Extreme Alpha/64G/2950x , X399 Prime A/32G/1900X
    Power Mad Mu ha ha ha

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array g051051 PC Specs
    g051051 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1060

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by FalloutBoy View Post
    I assumed that the Alpha and the Non Alpha both have the DIMM2 socket near the ATX power connector ( ASUS's version of a M.2 PCIe Raid ) on which you can place the card for running two M.2 drives in Raid - that may be a wrong assumption on my part but if it is there I am wanting to know if you can plug the card in without any M.2 drives on it for purely aesthetic reasons.

    I don't know about the Alpha, but the non-Alpha can have the DIMM.2 installed without any drives on it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •