Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array g051051 PC Specs
    g051051 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1060

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    ROG Zenith Extreme (not Alpha) switching to NVMe instead of SATA on DIMM.2

    I have a ROG Zenith Extreme (not Alpha) with 2 1Tb M.2 SATA sticks on the DIMM.2 card. The price for 1Tb NVMe sticks has dropped to under $100 per, so I'm considering an upgrade. How easy is that nowadays? I remember horror stories from early on with incompatible drivers, RAID getting messed up, etc.

    I have a 4Tb array on the normal SATA ports, and the most current SATA RAID drivers. Is there any issue with the NVMe RAID drivers and the SATA ports?

    I figure I'll have to do the following steps:

    1. Clone my boot drive off of the M.2 SATA RAID.
    2. Switch the firmware to enable NVMe.
    3. Replace the old M.2 SATA with NVMe sticks.
    4. Set up array on NVMe drives.
    5. Boot the clone drive
    6. Install NVMe RAID drivers???
    7. Clone updated boot drive back to NVMe RAID.
    8. Boot from NVMe RAID


    The "Install NVMe RAID drivers" part is my concern. Anyone have any experience with the most recent 9.2.0.120 AMD RAID Drivers package (7/7/2019)? Any additional steps I need to take? This seems like a totally safe operation...my old M.2 sticks will be untouched so I can just swap them back in if something goes wrong.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array FalloutBoy PC Specs
    FalloutBoy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY-T7042H
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD 2950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW64GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1Aorus GTX 1080 Ti Extreme 11Gb
    Sound CardInbuilt
    MonitorViewsonic XG-2703-GS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1 Tb
    Storage #2Raid 6 Array 8 x 4 Tb SAS III on a 9361-8i
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S TR4 Edition with two AF15s
    CaseXigmatek Elysium Super Tower
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider ST-1500
    Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Razor Chroma Deathadder
    Headset Hyper X Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Playmax
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit 1903
    Network RouterFritzbox 7490

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    I'm going to piggypack of this ( hope you don't mind )

    I would like to know also if you can place this device in the board with no drives in it - I like the aesthetic of it and what effects would it have if the board was unpopulated?
    I truly believe that there are people on this planet who should voluntarily remove them selves from the gene pool.
    Maximus IV Extreme Z/16G/2600K, Rampage V Extreme Edition 10/32G/6900K, G751JY-T7042H
    Zenith Extreme Alpha/64G/2950x , X399 Prime A/32G/1900X
    Power Mad Mu ha ha ha

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array g051051 PC Specs
    g051051 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1060

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by FalloutBoy View Post
    I would like to know also if you can place this device in the board with no drives in it - I like the aesthetic of it and what effects would it have if the board was unpopulated?
    I don't get your meaning. What device? How would it work with no drives? Or do you just mean 1 M.2 stick in the 3rd slot (under the protective cover)? I'm pretty sure that would work just fine.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array FalloutBoy PC Specs
    FalloutBoy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY-T7042H
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme Alpha
    ProcessorAMD 2950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW64GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1Aorus GTX 1080 Ti Extreme 11Gb
    Sound CardInbuilt
    MonitorViewsonic XG-2703-GS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 1 Tb
    Storage #2Raid 6 Array 8 x 4 Tb SAS III on a 9361-8i
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S TR4 Edition with two AF15s
    CaseXigmatek Elysium Super Tower
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider ST-1500
    Keyboard Hyper X Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Razor Chroma Deathadder
    Headset Hyper X Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Playmax
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit 1903
    Network RouterFritzbox 7490

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    The Dimm 2 Connector

    Quote Originally Posted by g051051 View Post
    I don't get your meaning. What device? How would it work with no drives? Or do you just mean 1 M.2 stick in the 3rd slot (under the protective cover)? I'm pretty sure that would work just fine.
    I assumed that the Alpha and the Non Alpha both have the DIMM2 socket near the ATX power connector ( ASUS's version of a M.2 PCIe Raid ) on which you can place the card for running two M.2 drives in Raid - that may be a wrong assumption on my part but if it is there I am wanting to know if you can plug the card in without any M.2 drives on it for purely aesthetic reasons.
    I truly believe that there are people on this planet who should voluntarily remove them selves from the gene pool.
    Maximus IV Extreme Z/16G/2600K, Rampage V Extreme Edition 10/32G/6900K, G751JY-T7042H
    Zenith Extreme Alpha/64G/2950x , X399 Prime A/32G/1900X
    Power Mad Mu ha ha ha

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array g051051 PC Specs
    g051051 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1060

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by FalloutBoy View Post
    I assumed that the Alpha and the Non Alpha both have the DIMM2 socket near the ATX power connector ( ASUS's version of a M.2 PCIe Raid ) on which you can place the card for running two M.2 drives in Raid - that may be a wrong assumption on my part but if it is there I am wanting to know if you can plug the card in without any M.2 drives on it for purely aesthetic reasons.

    I don't know about the Alpha, but the non-Alpha can have the DIMM.2 installed without any drives on it.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array g051051 PC Specs
    g051051 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorRyzen Threadripper 1950X
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 1060

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    A little thread necromancy here...

    I finally got some NVMe drives, but my upgrade process didn't work like I expected. These were my planned steps (different from the earlier list):

    1. Clone my boot drive off of the M.2 SATA RAID.
    2. Switch the firmware to enable NVMe.
    3. Replace the old M.2 SATA with NVMe sticks.
    4. Set up array on NVMe drives.
    5. Clone boot drive back to NVMe RAID.
    6. Add the NVMe drivers to the new boot disk.
    7. Boot from NVMe RAID.


    I got all the way through to "Clone updated boot drive back to NVMe RAID" before I hit a problem. When I booted my partition management software, it showed 2 identical drives instead of 1. Since this seemed very wrong and dangerous, I decided to roll back the install. However, after resetting the firmware to turn off the NVMe RAID, my old array was no longer recognized! Fortunately it was easy enough to recreate the array and then clone the boot drive back. Because the RAID arrays had changed, I had to jump through a few hoops with bcdedit, but it's working fine now.

    I'm hoping someone has more experience with this...do I need to explicitly set the NVMe RAID switch in the firmware? Is there anything I might be missing in regards to setting this up?

    Was this a sign of the RAID driver (rcbottom) not loading? I had a weird experience recently, where I wanted to update my SSD firmware. I downloaded a standalone boot disk, and expected that I'd have to just disable RAID so that the disk could see it. And indeed, that's what I had to do for the drives on the SATA ports. But I wanted to see what the installer would do with no drives visible, so I booted it without changing the firmware. And it saw the 2 M.2 SSDs and updated the firmware! So are they supposed to be visible as distinct devices before Windows starts?

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    32

    Another thread with no official Asus support input - judging by their absence in so very many threads, Is ROG support dead?

  8. #8
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    411
    Posts
    8,439

    Quote Originally Posted by mboogie View Post
    Another thread with no official Asus support input - judging by their absence in so very many threads, Is ROG support dead?
    This is a community forum so unless someone in the community reads it and has the solution there may not be an answer. Official support is provided through phone & email contacts provided on the ASUS website.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •