Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array N2G-WarMaster PC Specs
    N2G-WarMaster PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z390-F GAMING
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-11G-GAMING
    Sound CardAsus Xonar SE
    MonitorLG 34GK950B-F
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 USB-C White
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 650 Titanium
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterMikrotik RB2011UiAS

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Question [Z390-F Gaming] "Above 4G decoding" kills wake up from sleep

    Hi folks,

    This post is a conclusion of a loooong search for the culprit why my Windows 10 system will not resume from sleep mode successfully .
    In short; the system would go to sleep and "turn on" when tried to be woken up but never got to a working state. Fans, RGB lighting, etc. etc. all turn on but basically the system just hangs/is frozen. In every other sense the system is stable as a rock! I never ever experience issues with stability.

    I've been through all the usual suspects regarding these kind of issues like Windows itself, iffy drivers, BIOS versions. I even found some references that a 2080 Ti could have compatibility issues with the Samsung 970 NVME drives. All of those trails did not end up solving the problem. As it turned out it was one little ostensibly innocent option in the BIOS called "Above 4G decoding". Given the fact I've got Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING with 11 GB of video RAM enabling above 4 decoding seemed like a plausible setting to enable (although to this point I am not sure what it does EXACTLY).

    When this option is enabled the system just will not wake up successfully. When it's disabled; no problem!

    So this boils down to a few points/questions (in order of relevance):
    - If you're pulling your hair out and can't find the cause of the same issue; try this! I hope it will save you time and frustration.
    - How does disabling the above 4G decoding affect my system? (I am in no way a miner or something. Just gaming)
    - Are other people having this issue?
    - What could cause this behaviour?
    - Should Asus be made aware of this, and if so; How?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 860 M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NHu-14S on both boards
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 1909

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    122

    I tried the "Above 4g" on my Hero XI Wi-Fi and no problems with sleep mode. Made no difference to the performance of the PC. Leave it disabled, as far as I can tell it does nothing for one GPU.

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi,i assume you have samsung nvme on first m2 slot.I have samsung 970 evo plus 1T ... and my computer never resumes from sleep no matter what i tried . ASUS Support replied that the motherboard ROG STRIX Z390-H GAMING was not tested with that model of ssd...and proposed a series of windows tweaks... which were already unsuccessfully tried by me.I never had that problem with my sata ssd ...so the problem is related to m2 ssd . Personally i suspect it has something to do with the power and sleep mode given by mobo/bios to m2 slot.I already have the "above 4g decoding " option disabled and my computer still cannot wake up.So, if you or anyone else have any other suggestion...it will be much appreciated.
    P.S. The level of frustration is so big right now... that i want to sell my newly aquired mobo+cpu (9900k) and switch to AMD
    Last edited by zxspectrum; 07-13-2019 at 08:51 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array N2G-WarMaster PC Specs
    N2G-WarMaster PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z390-F GAMING
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-11G-GAMING
    Sound CardAsus Xonar SE
    MonitorLG 34GK950B-F
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 USB-C White
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 650 Titanium
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterMikrotik RB2011UiAS

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by zxspectrum View Post
    Hi,i assume you have samsung nvme on first m2 slot.I have samsung 970 evo plus 1T ... and my computer never resumes from sleep no matter what i tried . ASUS Support replied that the motherboard ROG STRIX Z390-H GAMING was not tested with that model of ssd...and proposed a series of windows tweaks... which were already unsuccessfully tried by me.I never had that problem with my sata ssd ...so the problem is related to m2 ssd . Personally i suspect it has something to do with the power and sleep mode given by mobo/bios to m2 slot.I already have the "above 4g decoding " option disabled and my computer still cannot wake up.So, if you or anyone else have any other suggestion...it will be much appreciated.
    P.S. The level of frustration is so big right now... that i want to sell my newly aquired mobo+cpu (9900k) and switch to AMD
    You are right! You could've seen my specs in my profile ;-) Anyhoo, I've got a Samsung 970 EVO 1TB in M.2 slot 2.
    I've found several issues online regarding the combination of the Samsung EVO NVME drive with Z390 motherboards. All the issues seemed to be related to wonky Samsung drivers that have since been updated and thus the issues are moot. Also the symptoms were slightly different to "not waking up" as some people were able to gather a crash dump which only occurs when certain types of BSOD's happen. However this could be the case in your situation. Not sure if it's a stupid suggestion or not as I figured you'd already tried it, but that's where you probably should start. Either update your Samsung NVME drivers or use the generic Microsoft ones (which will automatically be installed as you uninstall the Samsung drivers). Also you might want to update your NVME firmware through Samsung Magician if you haven't already done so. Have you also tried to move the NVME drive to the second M.2 slot?

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi, thanks for the interest.I have already tried samsung drivers, updated latest firmware (2b2qexm7) through magician, tried it manually before magician detected it but failed cause of bad samsung utility of flash., tried microsoft drivers.still cant properly wake up from sleep.
    i didn.t move it to second m2 slot cause its already used by intel 660p 2t ssd.
    P.S. i.ve seen your specs in your profile BUT there is no mention of which slot your storage #1 is... also there is no storage #2 mentioned...
    Also, why is your fastest ssd on m2 slot 2?

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi, thanks for the interest.I have already tried samsung drivers, updated latest firmware (2b2qexm7) through magician, tried it manually before magician detected it but failed cause of bad samsung utility of flash., tried microsoft drivers.still cant properly wake up from sleep.
    i didn.t move it to second m2 slot cause its already used by intel 660p 2t ssd.
    P.S. i.ve seen your specs in your profile BUT there is no mention of which slot your storage #1 is... also there is no storage #2 mentioned...
    Also, why is your fastest ssd on m2 slot 2?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •