Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Maximus X Hero (WIFI) random micro freezes

    Hi, I've been experiencing random micro freezes since the first day of setup.

    It happens randomly, but as far as I have noticed, it mostly happens when I've been working with an application for a few minutes and then open another application.Then the PC freezes for about half a second, and then resumes.

    I have checked event logs and reliability history and found no serious errors.

    I'm thinking it might be because of the sound cart driver or card itself, because sometimes when I'm in a Skype conversation, and the freeze happens, Skype changes speaker to monitor's speaker. I have uninstalled sound card driver to work with Microsoft's one, but that didn't fix it.

    System Info:
    Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    CPU: Intel Core i7 @ 3.70GHz 39 °C Coffee Lake 14nm Technology
    RAM 16.0GB Dual-Channel Unknown @ 1071MHz (15-15-15-36)
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC) (LGA1151) 35 °C
    Graphics: MG248 (1920x1080@60Hz) - 4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti (MSI) 55 °C
    Storage: 1863GB Seagate ST2000DM008-2FR102 (SATA (SSD)) - 35 °C - 232GB Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 250GB (Unknown (SSD))
    Optical Drives: No optical disk drives detected
    Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio
    Last edited by alierror; 07-12-2019 at 01:04 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    as tu fait un clear cmos ? Quel est la version du bios ?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by tousmic88 View Post
    as tu fait un clear cmos ? Quel est la version du bios ?
    How should I clear cmos? BIOS is the latest version: Version 2004 - 2019/06/17

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Hello,

    I suggest that You can try to download LatencyMon app and check what processes/drivers could cause audio latencies.

    Check https://www.resplendence.com/latencymon for more info about this app.
    Check https://www.resplendence.com/latencymon_using for guide how to use this application.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    In your system info listing, you state "dual channel unknown" What do you mean?

    As mentioned above, clear the CMOS. If you don't know how to, google it or refer to your mobo manual.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB & 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    I'm guessing it'll be some offbrand memory modules the MB can't identify, and thus can't operate correctly, which in turn causes the micro freezing

  7. #7
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by alierror View Post
    Hi, I've been experiencing random micro freezes since the first day of setup.

    It happens randomly, but as far as I have noticed, it mostly happens when I've been working with an application for a few minutes and then open another application.Then the PC freezes for about half a second, and then resumes.

    I have checked event logs and reliability history and found no serious errors.

    I'm thinking it might be because of the sound cart driver or card itself, because sometimes when I'm in a Skype conversation, and the freeze happens, Skype changes speaker to monitor's speaker. I have uninstalled sound card driver to work with Microsoft's one, but that didn't fix it.

    System Info:
    Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    CPU: Intel Core i7 @ 3.70GHz 39 °C Coffee Lake 14nm Technology
    RAM 16.0GB Dual-Channel Unknown @ 1071MHz (15-15-15-36)
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC) (LGA1151) 35 °C
    Graphics: MG248 (1920x1080@60Hz) - 4095MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti (MSI) 55 °C
    Storage: 1863GB Seagate ST2000DM008-2FR102 (SATA (SSD)) - 35 °C - 232GB Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus 250GB (Unknown (SSD))
    Optical Drives: No optical disk drives detected
    Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio
    I had a similar problem with a xi hero and 2 different xi formulas... a little googling led me to check the tightness of the retention screws holding down my cpu waterblock. after loosing the screws just a bit the micro freezes went away. I believe i may have been compressing the layers of the board and causing a random short... with my problem the sound would continue to work during the freeze as well...worked for me anyway...

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi)
    Processori7 8700K
    Memory (part number)HX433C16PB3K4/32
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorLG 34UC89G
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard Black Widow Ultimate
    Mouse Logitech G600
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X53

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by alierror View Post
    Hi, I've been experiencing random micro freezes since the first day of setup.

    I'm thinking it might be because of the sound cart driver or card itself, because sometimes when I'm in a Skype conversation, and the freeze happens, Skype changes speaker to monitor's speaker. I have uninstalled sound card driver to work with Microsoft's one, but that didn't fix it.
    If it is changing to the monitor speaker, that might mean it is switching to the Nvidia HDMI audio drivers. Can we assume you have external speakers normally being used in this situation? Have you tried disabling the Monitor as a sound output device?

    Also, since you have brought Skype into the mix, you have also brought in the Network connection.. If the Realtek audio is having problems and forcing the system to switch audio output devices, it should be leaving some tracks when that happens.

    Do you have any symptoms which may not be related to the network? Do you have any network symptoms not related directly to Skype? Is your network Wi-Fi or Ethernet?

    What Power Scheme are you using for your system?

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Melkor View Post
    Hello,

    I suggest that You can try to download LatencyMon app and check what processes/drivers could cause audio latencies.

    Check https://www.resplendence.com/latencymon for more info about this app.
    Check https://www.resplendence.com/latencymon_using for guide how to use this application.
    Hi, I guess everything is fine since it says "Your system appears to be suitable for handling real-time audio and other tasks without dropouts. "

    Reports:
    https://gofile.io/?c=U8UzKd

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    In your system info listing, you state "dual channel unknown" What do you mean?

    As mentioned above, clear the CMOS. If you don't know how to, google it or refer to your mobo manual.
    The report was exported from CPU-Z application.

    I screenshot all the tabs in CPU-Z:
    https://gofile.io/?c=xZh5c1

    I will try clearing CMOS, thanks.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •