Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
    I'm guessing it'll be some offbrand memory modules the MB can't identify, and thus can't operate correctly, which in turn causes the micro freezing
    Here are full info:
    https://gofile.io/?c=xZh5c1

    You mean the RAMs are not compatible with the Motherboard?

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by EvilPepe View Post
    I had a similar problem with a xi hero and 2 different xi formulas... a little googling led me to check the tightness of the retention screws holding down my cpu waterblock. after loosing the screws just a bit the micro freezes went away. I believe i may have been compressing the layers of the board and causing a random short... with my problem the sound would continue to work during the freeze as well...worked for me anyway...
    I will try, hope that's the problem... It's made me crazy.
    Aren't there any applications to monitor processes throughout the day?

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    If it is changing to the monitor speaker, that might mean it is switching to the Nvidia HDMI audio drivers. Can we assume you have external speakers normally being used in this situation? Have you tried disabling the Monitor as a sound output device?
    I disabled the monitor speaker, and it wasn't the default speaker. It just happened once when I was using Skype, hasn't happened with Skype yet since the last time.
    And I don't have external speakers, just the headphone and monitor speakers.

    Also, since you have brought Skype into the mix, you have also brought in the Network connection.. If the Realtek audio is having problems and forcing the system to switch audio output devices, it should be leaving some tracks when that happens.
    Are there any places to check those tracks?

    Do you have any symptoms which may not be related to the network? Do you have any network symptoms not related directly to Skype? Is your network Wi-Fi or Ethernet?
    The Network is Ethernet, and I haven't experienced any symptoms related to the network so far.

    What Power Scheme are you using for your system?
    It's a 850W PSU,
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	OCPT_GREEN_PSU.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	215.0 KB 
ID:	81041

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi)
    Processori7 8700K
    Memory (part number)HX433C16PB3K4/32
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorLG 34UC89G
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard Black Widow Ultimate
    Mouse Logitech G600
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X53

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by alierror View Post
    I disabled the monitor speaker, and it wasn't the default speaker. It just happened once when I was using Skype, hasn't happened with Skype yet since the last time.
    And I don't have external speakers, just the headphone and monitor speakers.
    I am a little confused, if your monitor speakers are your default, how did it jump to them? But since it only happened once, maybe not important.

    Quote Originally Posted by alierror View Post
    It's a 850W PSU,
    I asked about Power Scheme, not Power Supply. If you are using the Balanced power scheme, it may help going to the High Performance.

    I run several laptops, so I see hesitations all the time. I am sure they are caused by the system trying to save battery power and even shut certain components down if not used in about three seconds. Sound is one of those and on screen scrolling is another. Since I don't have a touchscreen on this system I can't check that and I don't use Skype but the audio otherwise during gaming and such, seems to be OK and I haven't noticed any breaks while streaming.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    365

    RAM 16.0GB Dual-Channel Unknown @ 1071MHz (15-15-15-36)

    You need to use memory that's been tested for compatibility with your board.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB & 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    148

    Quote Originally Posted by alierror View Post
    Here are full info:
    https://gofile.io/?c=xZh5c1

    You mean the RAMs are not compatible with the Motherboard?
    pretty much, or at the very least hasn't been tested with it and isn't on the memory QVL

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Well it's not on a QVL list but it's not some offbrand memory like someone stated but a G.Skill F4-3000C15. Can You remove XMP profile and run at stock DDR speed?

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB & 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    148

    images check out, but that doesn't negate the fact, if it's not on the QVL the board hasn't been tested with it which can cause these very issues

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Yep, that's why I asked to run at stock JEDEC speeds ;-)

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    I am a little confused, if your monitor speakers are your default, how did it jump to them? But since it only happened once, maybe not important.


    I asked about Power Scheme, not Power Supply. If you are using the Balanced power scheme, it may help going to the High Performance.

    I run several laptops, so I see hesitations all the time. I am sure they are caused by the system trying to save battery power and even shut certain components down if not used in about three seconds. Sound is one of those and on screen scrolling is another. Since I don't have a touchscreen on this system I can't check that and I don't use Skype but the audio otherwise during gaming and such, seems to be OK and I haven't noticed any breaks while streaming.
    Monitor speakers are not default, headphones are. When the freeze happened, Skype itself switched audio from headphones to monitor speakers.

    I've set power scheme to High Performance, it was on balanced. It's been a few days since then I haven't experienced any freezes yet.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •