Page 10 of 37 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 12 20 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 368

Thread: Latest C7H BIOS

  1. #91
    ROG Enthusiast Array Ken429 PC Specs
    Ken429 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Toshiba
    MotherboardROG Hero VII WI-FI
    Processor2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill (F4-3200C-14D-16GFX)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorSamsung 36" UHD
    Storage #1Saamsung 970 500GB
    Storage #2Sandisk Extreme 256GB
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 280
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplySeasonic 1250XM
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Logitech M510
    OS Windows 10 1903
    Network RouterTP-Link AC1200
    Accessory #1 TP-Link SG 1016 Switch
    Accessory #2 Arris SBV 3202

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    I must thank for this too, I could lower my SOC voltage to the same 0.994V, before it was at 1.134V.

    Memory still passes membench, and temps went down a little bit. Always good with these cpus using temp/power headroom to set boost. Still at 2700X.
    I did a little more "research" and updated the DRAM Calculator program from 1usmus from version 1.4.1 to 1.5.1 and it now recommends and SOC Voltage of 1.025V vs the 1.0V it recommended in 1.41 for 3333-14 settings. Even though 1.0V SOC LLC Level 2 seems to work OK @ 3333-14 I will give in and go with the 1.025V. The new recommended SOC voltage for 3200-14 settings is 1.0125V. Probably all needle quiver but...it seems after more experience with the 2700X a little higher voltage is preferred.
    Last edited by Ken429; 07-22-2019 at 07:58 PM.

  2. #92
    ROG Enthusiast Array MattTheTech PC Specs
    MattTheTech PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Nothing Interesting
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3900x
    Memory (part number)3200C14D-16GFX (32GB Total)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
    Sound CardHT Omega eCLARO
    Monitor3 Wall Mounted-1x Samsung 55" 4K TV (Runs 1440p 120hz), 2x LG 32" 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo
    Storage #23x Samsung 850 Evo 512GB in Raid 0 For 1.5TB Array Game Drive + ZFS 30TB NAS/Server For Storage
    CPU CoolerEKWB Dual Custom Water Loop
    CaseModded Rosewill Evo Armor 2 (I know all reviews hated it, but after my Mods its been a GREAT CASE)
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair RGB k70 Lux V2
    Mouse Logitech G700s
    Headset Oculus Rift
    Mouse Pad Razor Vespula
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 Custom Built Surround Sound System
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900p
    Accessory #1 10Gb Nic
    MattTheTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Tikimotel View Post
    My main issue with the BIOSes released, is with cold boot.
    The Voltage Dram under Digi+ power setting only works on warm reboots.
    My work-around procedure for both 2406 and 2501:
    1. Turn on power to PC (no standby nonsense)
    2. Push Clear CMOS button
    3. Turn on PC
    4. Wait for detection sequence and enter into BIOS (F1)
    5. Load my saved profile (with the recommended Vdram set to 1.35V and D.O.C.P. enabled - 3200Mhz FlareX profile)
    6. Save Setting and restart

    And, Yes. I turn of my computer / PSU when I'm not using it.
    This is interesting, I was using 2406 Since my 3900x arrived, and just switched to 2501 on the day it was posted here. I have absolutely not had this issue. On 2406 I would not be able to boot from a Cold Boot if I did not go into Digi+ Power, set my Boot VDimm Voltage to 1.4v (anything lower would not reliably work) and then Save and Reboot before setting the rest of my Settings (Including my Ram Settings) However, I also do not use DOCP, I set my Timings manually, and because DOCP really only sets a few timings anyway, its easy enough to Memorize them. I also Have 3200Mhz Flare X, in fact I run 2 Kits, so 32GB Total. So after Setting the Boot VDimm setting, I boot back into the UEFI, set my Ram Speed Manually, I am successfully able to run my 2 kits no problem at 3466Mhz. I set the IF Clock to 1733Mhz, Set the Ram Voltage at 1.36v (I also have to set the SOC Voltage to 1.15v or I have trouble running all 4 Dimms, but with just 2 Dimms 1.0825v worked great for me) then I go into the Timings Menu and Set 14, 14, 14, 14, 34,48,6, and 8 (Those are the first 6 timings in Order) then find TRFC and set that to 256, I leave the rest on Auto (will eventually go tighten all them later, but for now this gives me a damn good result). Save and Exit, Reboot, make sure she boots, then go back into the UEFI and Save that Profile. Now I can cold boot all I want and do frequently. I turn off My PC And PSU before Leaving the House for Work, and have not had any issues what so ever when I get back home, just flip on the PSU, hit the Button, and ever since UEFI 2501 it Posts in Seconds and then boots right up. I don't know if its a DOCP issue or the Boot VDimm setting not being High Enough, but you may want to try mimicking my exact settings on your system and then see if that helps. Let me know if you want a screen shot or something.
    Last edited by MattTheTech; 07-22-2019 at 11:04 AM.

  3. #93
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    282

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken429 View Post
    I did a little more "research" and updated the DRAM Calculator program from 1usmus from version 1.4.1 to 1.5.1 and it now recommends and SOC Voltage of 1.025V vs the 1.0V it recommended in 1.41 for 3333 settings. Even though 1.0V SOC LLC Level 2 seems to work OK @ 3333 I will give in and go with the 1.025V. The new recommended SOC voltage for 3200 settings is 1.0125V. Probably all needle quiver but...it seems after more experience with the 2700X a little higher voltage is preferred.

    Well, 0.994V works with 3400c16 for me, 16GB sticks/dual rank so they are not "clock friendly". As I said, it's membench stable.

  4. #94
    ROG Enthusiast Array MattTheTech PC Specs
    MattTheTech PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Nothing Interesting
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3900x
    Memory (part number)3200C14D-16GFX (32GB Total)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
    Sound CardHT Omega eCLARO
    Monitor3 Wall Mounted-1x Samsung 55" 4K TV (Runs 1440p 120hz), 2x LG 32" 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo
    Storage #23x Samsung 850 Evo 512GB in Raid 0 For 1.5TB Array Game Drive + ZFS 30TB NAS/Server For Storage
    CPU CoolerEKWB Dual Custom Water Loop
    CaseModded Rosewill Evo Armor 2 (I know all reviews hated it, but after my Mods its been a GREAT CASE)
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair RGB k70 Lux V2
    Mouse Logitech G700s
    Headset Oculus Rift
    Mouse Pad Razor Vespula
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 Custom Built Surround Sound System
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900p
    Accessory #1 10Gb Nic
    MattTheTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken429 View Post
    I did a little more "research" and updated the DRAM Calculator program from 1usmus from version 1.4.1 to 1.5.1 and it now recommends and SOC Voltage of 1.025V vs the 1.0V it recommended in 1.41 for 3333 settings. Even though 1.0V SOC LLC Level 2 seems to work OK @ 3333 I will give in and go with the 1.025V. The new recommended SOC voltage for 3200 settings is 1.0125V. Probably all needle quiver but...it seems after more experience with the 2700X a little higher voltage is preferred.
    As far as I have been able to figure out, it appears the same 1.2SOCv is the recommended Limit still for Zen 2. Haven't been able to find an "OFFICIAL" Source on that yet, but have found posts from the Stilt and Other respected OCers running SOCv close to 1.2v. The recommended Limit for both Zen and Zen+ was definitely 1.2v, although Mobo Manufacturers Drove it as high as 1.3v at Stock, and other than Excess heat (And probably a degraded Memory Controller) there weren't many reports of problems.

    From my own Testing on Ryzen 3000 it seems there isn't much reason to run SOCv much higher then 1.1v for 2 Single Rank Sticks at Speeds of 3766Mhz or Lower, and for 4 Sticks 1.15v seems to get the job done for up to the same speed. Haven't done any testing higher then 3766 yet though. For my 2700x for 2 Single Rank Sticks I used the same 1.1SOCv for up to 3333Mhz, and 1.1625 SOCv for 4 DIMM 3200Mhz. Hope that helps.

  5. #95
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    93

    Quote Originally Posted by Squall Leonhart View Post
    Thats your misunderstanding, the version with issues is ABA, not AB

    Take care of that literacy problem.
    You need to read up before making (rude) statements like this.

    You are wrong, as has been pointed out to you. AB was also also passed over because it was too buggy, but that's ancient news.

  6. #96
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by bigtop1967 View Post
    You need to read up before making (rude) statements like this.

    You are wrong, as has been pointed out to you. AB was also also passed over because it was too buggy, but that's ancient news.
    Interesting. According to GamersNexus, Steve said AB was ok, but ABA was buggy.

  7. #97
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Sorry to interrupt the pissing contest, my 3900x has finally arrived, what is the current state of the crosshair vii and the latest bios?

    How's memory overclocking and pbo/boost working on this board?

  8. #98
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    93

    Quote Originally Posted by amadeus1171 View Post
    Interesting. According to GamersNexus, Steve said AB was ok, but ABA was buggy.
    True - it was ok compared to ABA, which is apparently a complete mess, but it still (sadly) had problems. ASUS invested in ABA, it makes no sense to go back and assign resources to older code when yet more up to date patches are available.

    We really need some AGESA/Bios code that is better than 'ok'. Again, AMD were not ready for this launch, and aren't great at supplying vendors with code in time to thoroughly test before they release their products.

    Saying that, I love my new tech, and as frustrated as I am, I know ASUS are working to get things working as they should. It's nothing I didn't expect as an early adopter.

  9. #99
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    93

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnEJohn View Post
    Sorry to interrupt the pissing contest, my 3900x has finally arrived, what is the current state of the crosshair vii and the latest bios?

    How's memory overclocking and pbo/boost working on this board?
    Lol - just trying to get the facts across!

    Use the latest bios (2501). Ram OCing is good. Most have 3800TMs running with IF and Mem running at 1900MHz. Beyond that we don't really know yet.

    When I first put my 3900x in - ran at stock - it's amazing! Coming from 1700x the performance gain, even with ram at 2133MTs, is amazing!

    Set PBO from the AMD menu instead of CBS which doesn't have it there yet. At stock, mine does boost to 4.6 - albeit briefly. Future bios should improve the boosting situation.

  10. #100
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by bigtop1967 View Post
    Set it to the same as your ram voltage. It just makes sure voltage is not 1.2v when you boot.
    Ok, thank you, bigtop.
    It works fine right now unless I unplug the computer, which I tend to do at night but it loses it's settings and cold boot I get the C5 error. But it I just shut it down and leave power to it it is fine at reboot. Any way to fix it so it boots after turning surge unit back on?
    Sorry to ask but ive been away from overclocking for many years. EPOX comes to mind the last time I was in it heavy
    Thanks for your help

Page 10 of 37 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 12 20 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •