Page 11 of 35 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 21 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 344

Thread: Latest C7H BIOS

  1. #101
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by MattTheTech View Post
    This is interesting, I was using 2406 Since my 3900x arrived, and just switched to 2501 on the day it was posted here. I have absolutely not had this issue. On 2406 I would not be able to boot from a Cold Boot if I did not go into Digi+ Power, set my Boot VDimm Voltage to 1.4v (anything lower would not reliably work) and then Save and Reboot before setting the rest of my Settings (Including my Ram Settings) However, I also do not use DOCP, I set my Timings manually, and because DOCP really only sets a few timings anyway, its easy enough to Memorize them. I also Have 3200Mhz Flare X, in fact I run 2 Kits, so 32GB Total. So after Setting the Boot VDimm setting, I boot back into the UEFI, set my Ram Speed Manually, I am successfully able to run my 2 kits no problem at 3466Mhz. I set the IF Clock to 1733Mhz, Set the Ram Voltage at 1.36v (I also have to set the SOC Voltage to 1.15v or I have trouble running all 4 Dimms, but with just 2 Dimms 1.0825v worked great for me) then I go into the Timings Menu and Set 14, 14, 14, 14, 34,48,6, and 8 (Those are the first 6 timings in Order) then find TRFC and set that to 256, I leave the rest on Auto (will eventually go tighten all them later, but for now this gives me a damn good result). Save and Exit, Reboot, make sure she boots, then go back into the UEFI and Save that Profile. Now I can cold boot all I want and do frequently. I turn off My PC And PSU before Leaving the House for Work, and have not had any issues what so ever when I get back home, just flip on the PSU, hit the Button, and ever since UEFI 2501 it Posts in Seconds and then boots right up. I don't know if its a DOCP issue or the Boot VDimm setting not being High Enough, but you may want to try mimicking my exact settings on your system and then see if that helps. Let me know if you want a screen shot or something.
    Well I'm hopeful it did the trick. (yet to test with a full day after work)
    I've entered the ram timings manually and upped the voltages you've suggested.
    (if you enter tools view spd and use left and right arrow keys you can switch backwards and forwards to the dram timing screen quickly)

  2. #102
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    90

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave1717 View Post
    Ok, thank you, bigtop.
    It works fine right now unless I unplug the computer, which I tend to do at night but it loses it's settings and cold boot I get the C5 error. But it I just shut it down and leave power to it it is fine at reboot. Any way to fix it so it boots after turning surge unit back on?
    Sorry to ask but ive been away from overclocking for many years. EPOX comes to mind the last time I was in it heavy
    Thanks for your help
    NP

    As of now, we need a bios update to fix that properly.

  3. #103
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by bigtop1967 View Post
    Lol - just trying to get the facts across!

    Use the latest bios (2501). Ram OCing is good. Most have 3800TMs running with IF and Mem running at 1900MHz. Beyond that we don't really know yet.

    When I first put my 3900x in - ran at stock - it's amazing! Coming from 1700x the performance gain, even with ram at 2133MTs, is amazing!

    Set PBO from the AMD menu instead of CBS which doesn't have it there yet. At stock, mine does boost to 4.6 - albeit briefly. Future bios should improve the boosting situation.
    Ahh that's put my mind at ease a little, cheers.

    Hopefully we will get a nice, new bios release soon.

  4. #104
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    281

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave1717 View Post
    Ok, thank you, bigtop.
    Sorry to ask but ive been away from overclocking for many years. EPOX comes to mind the last time I was in it heavy
    Thanks for your help
    Must have been about the same time I was rocking Abit NF7-S, plenty of modded bioses for that board. Most popular at the time was DFI LanParty from what I recall. My last AMD board was MSI K8N Platinum with the superhot Nforce 4 southbridge, which had to be modded with passive cooling.

    From then on, Intel. But all Asus boards: P5Q DeLuxe, P8Z68 DeLuxe/Gen 3, Z87-A, Maximus VII Hero, all solid boards that's why I'm still on Asus

    Currently I have the Crosshair VII and the Prime X470-Pro. Just cancelled my order for the 3900X, as it's heavily delayed, and I can't stand not playing with these new cpus. Decided I can manage with "only" 8 cores for the time being, there is a 16 core coming later

    Now waiting for the 3700X, which should be here on Wednesday. The 3700X will go with the Crosshair VII for gaming, my 2700X will be put in the Prime Pro for duties as a Linux server/workstation.

  5. #105
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by bigtop1967 View Post
    NP

    As of now, we need a bios update to fix that properly.
    Ok, thanks again.

  6. #106
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    Must have been about the same time I was rocking Abit NF7-S, plenty of modded bioses for that board. Most popular at the time was DFI LanParty from what I recall. My last AMD board was MSI K8N Platinum with the superhot Nforce 4 southbridge, which had to be modded with passive cooling.

    From then on, Intel. But all Asus boards: P5Q DeLuxe, P8Z68 DeLuxe/Gen 3, Z87-A, Maximus VII Hero, all solid boards that's why I'm still on Asus

    Currently I have the Crosshair VII and the Prime X470-Pro. Just cancelled my order for the 3900X, as it's heavily delayed, and I can't stand not playing with these new cpus. Decided I can manage with "only" 8 cores for the time being, there is a 16 core coming later

    Now waiting for the 3700X, which should be here on Wednesday. The 3700X will go with the Crosshair VII for gaming, my 2700X will be put in the Prime Pro for duties as a Linux server/workstation.
    WOW, you just put a flood of old info back into the forefront of my brain. I had all the, the ABIT, DFI LP and even had the MSI and an EVGA Nforce chipset.
    Fun times for sure.
    I still have a P5Q-D sitting on the shelf looking back at me and still works

  7. #107
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    9

    Asus, can you -PLEASE- allow us to disable HPET and Spread Spectrum?, there is literally no reason for not allowing us to do so

    Also, please let us control the fans as we please, forcing fans to 100% at 72c is just plain mean on our ears!

  8. #108
    ROG Enthusiast Array Gothmoth PC Specs
    Gothmoth PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix B350-F Gaming & Crosshair 6 & 7 Hero
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVMe M.2 SSD
    Power SupplyEVGA G2 750 & EVGA G2 850
    OS Windows 10 64Bit 1903

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    38

    updated to bios 2501(did nothing else) and now my system is not powering down.

    windows seems to shut down correctly but the pc is not powered down.
    fans and power led are on. even after waiting for 20 minutes.

    on next boot i get "F1 please enter bios" crap....

    from 10 times the system powers down correctly maybe 2 times.

  9. #109
    ROG Enthusiast Array MattTheTech PC Specs
    MattTheTech PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Nothing Interesting
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3900x
    Memory (part number)3200C14D-16GFX (32GB Total)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
    Sound CardHT Omega eCLARO
    Monitor3 Wall Mounted-1x Samsung 55" 4K TV (Runs 1440p 120hz), 2x LG 32" 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo
    Storage #23x Samsung 850 Evo 512GB in Raid 0 For 1.5TB Array Game Drive + ZFS 30TB NAS/Server For Storage
    CPU CoolerEKWB Dual Custom Water Loop
    CaseModded Rosewill Evo Armor 2 (I know all reviews hated it, but after my Mods its been a GREAT CASE)
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair RGB k70 Lux V2
    Mouse Logitech G700s
    Headset Oculus Rift
    Mouse Pad Razor Vespula
    Headset/Speakers 7.1 Custom Built Surround Sound System
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC1900p
    Accessory #1 10Gb Nic
    MattTheTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Axaion View Post
    Asus, can you -PLEASE- allow us to disable HPET and Spread Spectrum?, there is literally no reason for not allowing us to do so

    Also, please let us control the fans as we please, forcing fans to 100% at 72c is just plain mean on our ears!
    Are you using the C7H Wifi or non-wifi. With Wifi I have a working Modded 2501 UEFI that an awesome OCN Forum member "mtrai" modded that opens up all the options, including HPET And Spread Spectrum Toggles. You still have to search for them using F9 in the UEFI, but you can completely control them.

    If you have non-wifi that Modded Version is not quite working yet, but I hopefully will have it soon. Let me know if you are interested.

  10. #110
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by MattTheTech View Post
    Are you using the C7H Wifi or non-wifi. With Wifi I have a working Modded 2501 UEFI that an awesome OCN Forum member "mtrai" modded that opens up all the options, including HPET And Spread Spectrum Toggles. You still have to search for them using F9 in the UEFI, but you can completely control them.

    If you have non-wifi that Modded Version is not quite working yet, but I hopefully will have it soon. Let me know if you are interested.
    I know about his bios too, waiting a bit with using it as i just got my system

    However, it feels pretty bad that he can do something asus refuses to do, in a few hours no less.

    Dudes a literal boss.
    Last edited by Axaion; 07-23-2019 at 12:34 AM.

Page 11 of 35 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 21 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •