Page 8 of 28 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 18 ... LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 280

Thread: Latest C7H BIOS

  1. #71
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    UEFI 2501

    HW in use:-

    - R5 3600 Batch Code: BF 1922 SUT
    - C7HWIFI
    - F4-3200C14D-GVK
    - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic 1GB
    - Intel 660P 1TB
    - Cooler Master V650
    - Logitech K400

    Cooling used:-

    - EK Supremacy EVO (Acetal+Copper)
    - Magicool 360 G2 Slim radiator
    - 3x Arctic Cooling P12 PWM
    - 1x Arctic Cooling F12 PWM
    - EK DDC 3.2 PWM

    All fans are using a 4 in 1 cable, connected to CHA_FAN2 and powered by molex. The water pump is powered by molex and gains PWM from H_AMP header. All fans/pump run a UEFI based profile, based on water temperature, T_Sensor1 is used.

    SW in use:-

    - W10 Pro x64 1903 fully updated
    - AMD Chipset driver v1.07.07
    - No other drivers, etc used, other SW versions as per screenies

    Positives of UEFI 2501

    - Mouse works in UEFI.

    Negatives of UEFI 2501

    - No Precision Boost Overdrive menu on Extreme tweaker.
    - No Performance Enhancer menu on Extreme tweaker.
    - No Memory Presets in DRAM Timing Control menu on Extreme tweaker.
    - DRAM Q-LED does not function on Matisse.

    Data from using UEFI 2501

    UEFI 2501 is like 2406 for training, only certain settings changes result in 2 posts, where as UEFI 0068 seemed to do it for many.

    UEFI 2501 is also like 2406 for SOC voltage. If you change SOC on Extreme Tweaker page, at POST it will shoot to ~1.1V, then what you set. Where as if you use the setting within AMD menu of UEFI you get what you set through POST process.

    My go to profile is PBO+150MHz Scalar: 6x, then 3600MHz C15 1T using The Stilt's 3466MHz timings, this has worked on UEFI 2406, 0068, 2501 without effort and voltages needed are nice and default like.

    So today was testing tailored towards length, here is screen capture video showing this, Kahru RAM Test ~17000%. The CPU does not go to idle near end of video as screen capture SW is running. This profile has also been rerun, so far ~4600%.

    The keypoint was changing ProcODT from default of 60 to 40, the voltages are only +6mV on SOC over default, +6mV on VDDG over default, +5mV on VDIMM. UEFI 2406 & 2501 on my setup default to ProcODT 60, but UEFI 0068 is 40.
    Last edited by gupsterg; 07-19-2019 at 05:59 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  2. #72
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Jackalito View Post
    How did you flash it? Did you use USB BIOS Flashback?
    Flashed from an USB drive from the BIOS tool. Worked just like when I flash to a new BIOS.
    *

  3. #73
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    we just got told to pull (was undergoing validation prior) 1003 ABA version:
    "... found that PCIE speed of BXB-C downgraded from gen4 to gen2,..."

    so its not surprising that bugs emerge since the source has hidden bugs that only gets unraveled with thorough testing. combine that with trying to get firmwares out in a tight time frame, kinda damn if you do (release f/w quickly) and damn if you dont (dont release fw quickly) situation
    You guys sshould atleast publish and push out a 1.0.0.3AB based bios so that people who upgraded to 1.0.0.2 stop getting the WHEA errors and bsods.

  4. #74
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    UEFI 2501

    HW in use:-

    - R5 3600 Batch Code: BF 1922 SUT
    - C7HWIFI
    - F4-3200C14D-GVK
    - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic 1GB
    - Intel 660P 1TB
    - Cooler Master V650
    - Logitech K400

    Cooling used:-

    - EK Supremacy EVO (Acetal+Copper)
    - Magicool 360 G2 Slim radiator
    - 3x Arctic Cooling P12 PWM
    - 1x Arctic Cooling F12 PWM
    - EK DDC 3.2 PWM

    All fans are using a 4 in 1 cable, connected to CHA_FAN2 and powered by molex. The water pump is powered by molex and gains PWM from H_AMP header. All fans/pump run a UEFI based profile, based on water temperature, T_Sensor1 is used.

    SW in use:-

    - W10 Pro x64 1903 fully updated
    - AMD Chipset driver v1.07.07
    - No other drivers, etc used, other SW versions as per screenies

    Positives of UEFI 2501

    - Mouse works in UEFI.

    Negatives of UEFI 2501

    - No Precision Boost Overdrive menu on Extreme tweaker.
    - No Performance Enhancer menu on Extreme tweaker.
    - No Memory Presets in DRAM Timing Control menu on Extreme tweaker.
    - DRAM Q-LED does not function on Matisse.

    Data from using UEFI 2501

    UEFI 2501 is like 2406 for training, only certain settings changes result in 2 posts, where as UEFI 0068 seemed to do it for many.

    UEFI 2501 is also like 2406 for SOC voltage. If you change SOC on Extreme Tweaker page, at POST it will shoot to ~1.1V, then what you set. Where as if you use the setting within AMD menu of UEFI you get what you set through POST process.

    My go to profile is PBO+150MHz Scalar: 6x, then 3600MHz C15 1T using The Stilt's 3466MHz timings, this has worked on UEFI 2406, 0068, 2501 without effort and voltages needed are nice and default like.

    So today was testing tailored towards length, here is screen capture video showing this, Kahru RAM Test ~17000%. The CPU does not go to idle near end of video as screen capture SW is running. This profile has also been rerun, so far ~4600%.

    The keypoint was changing ProcODT from default of 60 to 40, the voltages are only +6mV on SOC over default, +6mV on VDDG over default, +5mV on VDIMM. UEFI 2406 & 2501 on my setup default to ProcODT 60, but UEFI 0068 is 40.
    At least the mouse came back, right? :-D

  5. #75
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave1717 View Post
    Hey guys, this may not apply to you but..
    I have the Crosshair VII x470 NON WiFi, and have had trouble with memory but I read somewhere that if you set default and reboot, then set memory voltages to 1.4 and reboot back into bios you can set XMP profile and it WORKS.. I guess with these bios the memory is stuck at 1.2 and causing the C5 error code. Anyway it worked!

    I also used Rockfords solution by upping speed a bit at a time and that worked too.

    I can't remember where I seen it but it worked for me. Just an FYI
    If you go to the DIGI power section in the bios, right at the bottom under all the LLC settings.... is boot voltage for your ram. Just set what you need there AND in extreme tweaker and you'll be fine.

  6. #76
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    My go to profile is PBO+150MHz Scalar: 6x, then 3600MHz C15 1T using The Stilt's 3466MHz timings, this has worked on UEFI 2406, 0068, 2501 without effort and voltages needed are nice and default like.

    So today was testing tailored towards length, here is screen capture video showing this, Kahru RAM Test ~17000%. The CPU does not go to idle near end of video as screen capture SW is running. This profile has also been rerun, so far ~4600%.

    The keypoint was changing ProcODT from default of 60 to 40, the voltages are only +6mV on SOC over default, +6mV on VDDG over default, +5mV on VDIMM. UEFI 2406 & 2501 on my setup default to ProcODT 60, but UEFI 0068 is 40.
    I'm just finding I can reduce ProcODT way lower than I could previously - just testing 32ohms. I couldn't go over 60 or below 53 previously.

    But I thought higher ODT was better for higher frequencies?

  7. #77
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by bigtop1967 View Post
    If you go to the DIGI power section in the bios, right at the bottom under all the LLC settings.... is boot voltage for your ram. Just set what you need there AND in extreme tweaker and you'll be fine.
    That worked, should it be set to 1.35v my rams voltage?

    Thank you

  8. #78
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave1717 View Post
    That worked, should it be set to 1.35v my rams voltage?

    Thank you
    Set it to the same as your ram voltage. It just makes sure voltage is not 1.2v when you boot.

  9. #79
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array bigtop1967 PC Specs
    bigtop1967 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 1700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1XFX Raadeon RX 580 8GB Black Edition
    Monitor2 x Acer CB241HQK
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 NVME
    Storage #22 x SanDisk Ultra II
    CPU CoolerCoolMaster Masterliquid 240
    CaseAero 500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850
    Mouse Microsoft Mobile Wireless 4000
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS
    bigtop1967's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by Squall Leonhart View Post
    You guys sshould atleast publish and push out a 1.0.0.3AB based bios so that people who upgraded to 1.0.0.2 stop getting the WHEA errors and bsods.
    You want them to push out firmware they have definitely found problems with? That would be irresponsible to say the least.

  10. #80
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    My main issue with the BIOSes released, is with cold boot.
    The Voltage Dram under Digi+ power setting only works on warm reboots.
    My work-around procedure for both 2406 and 2501:
    1. Turn on power to PC (no standby nonsense)
    2. Push Clear CMOS button
    3. Turn on PC
    4. Wait for detection sequence and enter into BIOS (F1)
    5. Load my saved profile (with the recommended Vdram set to 1.35V and D.O.C.P. enabled - 3200Mhz FlareX profile)
    6. Save Setting and restart

    And, Yes. I turn of my computer / PSU when I'm not using it.

Page 8 of 28 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 18 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •