Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    On the router not on Windows At least this one "Wireless Mode" is set well" on choice 6.
    Need the Wifi standard set in the router for frequencies at 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz.

    Did you install the drivers ? Because with lastest drivers from intel I get 2 separate settings for Wireless mode.

    The most importants settings you have to check are :

    Roaming Aggressiveness : "1. Lowest" (if you have a good signal in all places your are using your laptop )
    Transmit Power : 5. Highest (normally it's default setting)
    Preferred Band : 1. No preference (normally it's default setting)
    Wireless mode (waiting for info)
    Last edited by Svan; 07-20-2019 at 06:17 PM.

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Here is the advance settings: looks like it's already set correctly?


  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Yes looks great just intall last driver I linked earlier and normally you should get 2 Wireless mode settings in Windows.

    If you have only 1 setting like this in the router it's fine (because can not see the part at bottom on 5Ghz part but I think there is nothing there.

    b/g : can use only 2.4 Ghz frequency
    n : can use both frequencies (2.4GHz and 5Ghz)

    After driver install you should get like me those 2 settings in windows (set them like this) :

    - 802.11a/b/g Wireless Mode : 4. 2.4 GHz 802.11b/g

    - 802.11n/c Wireless Mode : 802.11n

    If after some testing you still have some troubles, then should be an hardware problem.

    Cheers.
    Last edited by Svan; 07-20-2019 at 08:42 PM.

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I have 2 now in the device manager Advance settings:

    802.11a/b/g Wireless Mode value=6. Dual Band 802.11a/b/g
    802.11n/ac Wireless Mode value=802.11ac

    for the second one, should that be changed to 802.11n?
    Last edited by Executioner55; 07-20-2019 at 08:29 PM.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    You have to change both read what I posted earlier first one should be set to : 4. 2.4 GHz 802.11b/g

    Don't forget to check previous settings I posted earlier too.
    Last edited by Svan; 07-20-2019 at 10:25 PM.

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    OK thanks. Got them changed. I'll post back in a few days after I play with it. Thanks for all your help. If I have no further issues, I'll mark the thread as solved.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    45

    they are not hard to replace. PCIhalf slot. mine lived about a year and replaced with AC8260

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Full settings you should have set this way (if need some reference infos can check here Advanced Intel Wireless Adapter Settings) :

    802.11a/b/g Wireless Mode : 4. 2.4 GHz 802.11b/g
    802.11n/ac Wireless Mode : 802.11n
    Ad Hoc Channel 802.11b/g : 1 (default)
    Ad Hoc Qos Mode : WMM disabled (default)
    ARP offload for WoWLAN : Enabled (default)
    Bluetooth AMP : Enabled (default)
    Channel Width for 2.4 GHz : Auto (default)
    Channel Width for 5 GHz : Auto (default)
    Fat channel Intolerant : Disabled (default)
    GTK rekeying for WoWLAN : Enabled (default)
    Mixed Mode Protection : RTS/CTC Enabled (default)
    NS offload for WoWLAN : Enabled (default)
    Packet Coalescing : Enabled (default)
    Preferred Band : 1. No preference (default)
    Roaming Aggressiveness : 1. Lowest
    Sleep on WoWLAN disconnect : Disabled (default)
    Throughput Booster : Disabled (default)
    Transmit Power : 5. Highest (default)
    U-APSD support : Disabled (default)
    Wake on Magic Packet : Enabled (default) : Check if you need this enabled
    Wake on Pattern Match : Enabled (default) : Check if you need this enabled

    + DIsable Power Management
    Last edited by Svan; 07-21-2019 at 06:40 AM.

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    After leaving the laptop on overnight and closing the lid, I was already connected when I opened the lid. In fact, browsing and playing Steam had no issues, and I had ZERO disconnects.

    I'd like to give a big thanks to Svan for all his help and patience through this ordeal. I have never played around with any of those settings. Every desktop or laptop has always worked with no adjustments.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •