Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array JTZ1032 PC Specs
    JTZ1032 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 Extreme 7980XE @ 2.6 GHz (18 cores, 36 threads)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Titan RTX
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Titan RTX
    Graphics Card #32 way NVLink Enabled
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition
    MonitorDell UP3218K and Dell U2711
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron NX500 800GB
    Storage #2Seagate SkyHawk 10 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i Pro RGB 360mm Liquid Cooler
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Windows Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse EVGA TORQ X10 Carbon
    Headset/Speakers Altec Lansing Expressionist FX3021 PLUS 2.1 @ 6 Ohms
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64 Bit (Version 1903)
    Accessory #1 64 GB Intel Optane M.2 Memory Accelerator

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hi cekeu,

    Thanks for your explanation. Apologies but I have more questions. I have now added my system specs to the forum profile.

    When you refer to the TPU mode I and II and XMP; would XMP be set by default in the BIOS? I haven't knowingly used these settings since I don't wish to overclock my CPU or memory; they are fast enough for me and I damaged my old Core i7 2600k CPU many years ago after running it overclocked for 1 whole year.

    When you say advanced games, can you give some examples, please? I ask since I use my Titan RTX GPUs for Folding@Home at close to 100% usage for days at time; stability here is critical. Also I have just unpacked my new 8k Dell UP3218K monitor. I hope to play 8k games in the future so I realize this heavy usage may qualify as advanced games.

    Thanks for letting me know about the BIOS Flash back feature. I still have a copy of my 1401 BIOS for use if necessary. This is fortunate since as you know Asus took down the 1401, 1500 and 1600 series BIOSes. I'm unsure why. I have stability tested the CPU and RAM and they have no issues. The Titans run very smoothly too.

    Given that almost all of my BIOS settings are default (apart from settings for the Intel Optane card and disabling the internal sound card)I hope this BIOS will work for me. Thanks for any further advice.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array cekeu PC Specs
    cekeu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Extreme Core
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG27UQ
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SSD 970 EVO NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2BARRACUDA PRO (8TB) ST8000DM005
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR Hydro Series™ H150i PRO RGB 360mm
    CaseLian Li PC 011 WXC
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Platinum SSR-1300PD
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Studio® R1800TIII
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    130

    Hi JTZ1032
    TPU I and II modes automatically activate the XMP profile of the memories. The TPU I mode is recommended for air cooling and TPU II for liquid cooling (it is up to us to see if our cooling is sufficient).The manual overclocking can be very simple if we stay in reasonable measures compared to our processor. The best is to group all the cores, to set the clock of the CPU (me I'm just 4.5 Ghz "45 written in the bios") then to choose the frequency of the Ram in the dropdown list and all that without activating the XMP function. That's what I'm doing right now. Leave voltages on Auto when you do not push in the extremes.
    I think for Folding @ Home the processor is not very important if it's the graphics card it uses.Advanced games in my opinion is beautiful video game graphics pushed in ultra to 4K with good performance of fluidity, and for that the performance of the processor and the graphics card are both important..
    Last edited by cekeu; 07-27-2019 at 03:24 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    With all the 'bugs' they are fixing it would be nice if they kept the old bugs they fixed, oh I don't know ... actually FIXED when the next release comes out?
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array Deepbluee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    My system:

    - R6E Board
    - Intel 7900x CPU
    - G.SKILL 64 GB 3600 Mhz Ram (8x8GB)
    - Asus Rog Strix 1080 TI OC GPU
    - Intel Optane 905p 960GB SSD + WD Black 6 TB Performance HDD
    - Corsair AX1600i PSU
    - Sound Blaster AE5 Sound Card
    - NZXT Kraken x62 AIO CPU Cooler
    - Corsair 760T Case
    - Windows 10 Enterprise 64 Bit 1903 + All drivers are up to date

    I am using bios 1902 without any issues since first day it's released until now.

    XMP is enabled, rams are running at 3600mhz, voltages are auto and cpu overclocked to 4.5 GHZ at auto voltages.

    I've tested system stability with AIDA64 and played a few games like:

    - PUBG
    - Shadow of The Tomb Raider
    - Resident Evil 2
    - Sekiro Shadows Die Twice

    There are no issues at all, system very stable and also temps are lower than previus bios'
    Last edited by Deepbluee; 07-28-2019 at 12:42 PM.

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Freezes too

    Hello,

    with my X299 Strix and the 1902 BIOS i`ve freezes too. Resetting the BIOS-Settings to default don`t solve this issue....
    I`ll roll back to 1704 and wait for a fix of this issue.

    regards

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array JTZ1032 PC Specs
    JTZ1032 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 Extreme 7980XE @ 2.6 GHz (18 cores, 36 threads)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Titan RTX
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia Titan RTX
    Graphics Card #32 way NVLink Enabled
    Sound CardCreative Sound BlasterX AE-5 Pure Edition
    MonitorDell UP3218K and Dell U2711
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron NX500 800GB
    Storage #2Seagate SkyHawk 10 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i Pro RGB 360mm Liquid Cooler
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Windows Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse EVGA TORQ X10 Carbon
    Headset/Speakers Altec Lansing Expressionist FX3021 PLUS 2.1 @ 6 Ohms
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 64 Bit (Version 1903)
    Accessory #1 64 GB Intel Optane M.2 Memory Accelerator

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by cekeu View Post
    Hi JTZ1032
    TPU I and II modes automatically activate the XMP profile of the memories. The TPU I mode is recommended for air cooling and TPU II for liquid cooling (it is up to us to see if our cooling is sufficient).The manual overclocking can be very simple if we stay in reasonable measures compared to our processor. The best is to group all the cores, to set the clock of the CPU (me I'm just 4.5 Ghz "45 written in the bios") then to choose the frequency of the Ram in the dropdown list and all that without activating the XMP function. That's what I'm doing right now. Leave voltages on Auto when you do not push in the extremes.
    I think for Folding @ Home the processor is not very important if it's the graphics card it uses.Advanced games in my opinion is beautiful video game graphics pushed in ultra to 4K with good performance of fluidity, and for that the performance of the processor and the graphics card are both important..
    Hi cekeu,

    Thanks again for your explanation. You explained it very well; your English is excellent.

    I agree these motherboards do make overclocking very easy. I now understand what you mean by advanced games. Agreed the processor and graphics card performance are both important.


    Quote Originally Posted by Deepbluee View Post
    My system:
    I am using bios 1902 without any issues since first day it's released until now.

    XMP is enabled, rams are running at 3600mhz, voltages are auto and cpu overclocked to 4.5 GHZ at auto voltages.

    I've tested system stability with AIDA64 and played a few games like:

    - PUBG
    - Shadow of The Tomb Raider
    - Resident Evil 2
    - Sekiro Shadows Die Twice

    There are no issues at all, system very stable and also temps are lower than previus bios'
    @Deepbluee,

    Thanks for your detailed explanation. I might try the 1902 BIOS after all since it includes the benefits you describe. I’ll gather more information on my side before trying this.

    With the varying results e.g. the report from Inqontrol87 above making the final choice to upgrade or stay where I am is not going to be easy.

  7. #17
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by JTZ1032 View Post
    Hi cekeu,

    Thanks again for your explanation. You explained it very well; your English is excellent.

    I agree these motherboards do make overclocking very easy. I now understand what you mean by advanced games. Agreed the processor and graphics card performance are both important.




    @Deepbluee,

    Thanks for your detailed explanation. I might try the 1902 BIOS after all since it includes the benefits you describe. I’ll gather more information on my side before trying this.

    With the varying results e.g. the report from Inqontrol87 above making the final choice to upgrade or stay where I am is not going to be easy.
    Hey guys,

    i`ve tried to force install the 1902 again, but the result is a blackscreen/reboot out of nowhere. With the OC settings and with the default oob-settings too.

    My relevant System Specs:

    ASUS ROG STRIX X299-E GAMING
    INTEL i9-9900X
    32GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR PLATINUM ROG-EDITION
    EVGA 1080 SC

    *EDIT* OS:
    Windows 10 Pro 18362.267 (1903)

    System Settings (OC):

    Ai Overclock Tuner [XMP]
    XMP [XMP DDR4-3200 16-18-18-36-1.350V]
    CPU Strap [100]
    BCLK Frequency [100.0000]
    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement [Auto]
    AVX Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset [5]
    AVX-512 Instruction Core Ratio Negative Offset [10]
    CPU Core Ratio [Sync All Cores]
    ALL-Core Ratio Limit [45]
    Min. CPU Cache Ratio [30]
    Max. CPU Cache Ratio [30]
    BCLK Frequency : DRAM Frequency Ratio [Auto]
    DRAM Frequency [DDR4-3200MHz]
    TPU [Keep Current Settings]
    CPU SVID Support [Disabled]
    DRAM CAS# Latency [16]
    DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay [18]
    DRAM RAS# PRE Time [18]
    DRAM RAS# ACT Time [36]

    CPU Load-line Calibration [Level 4]
    CPU Current Capability [140%]
    CPU VRM Switching Frequency [Auto]
    VRM Spread Spectrum [Auto]
    CPU Power Phase Control [Optimized]
    CPU Power Thermal Control [125]
    CPU Input Boot Voltage [Auto]
    CPU System Agent Boot Voltage [Auto]
    CPU VCCIO Boot Voltage [Auto]

    CPU Core Voltage [Adaptive Mode]
    - Offset Mode Sign [-]
    CPU Core Voltage Offset [0.025]
    Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage [1.230]
    CPU Cache Voltage [Manual Mode]
    CPU Cache Voltage Override [1.025]
    Uncore Voltage Offset [Auto]
    Uncore Voltage Offset Prefix [+]
    CPU Input Voltage [1.950]
    DRAM Voltage(CHA, CHB) [1.3500]
    DRAM Voltage(CHC, CHD) [1.3500]
    CPU VCCIO Voltage [Auto]
    CPU System Agent Voltage [Auto]
    PCH Core Voltage [Auto]
    PLL Reference Offset Mode Sign [+]
    PLL Reference Offset Value [Auto]
    Hyper-Threading [ALL] [Enabled]
    Max CPUID Value Limit [Disabled]


    I can not judge that the problem occurs on all types of X299 motherboards from ASUS, but my system is currently not stable with the 1902 version.

    regards

    Inqonrol87
    Last edited by Inqontrol87; 07-30-2019 at 07:32 AM.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    248

    Quote Originally Posted by Inqontrol87 View Post
    Hey guys,


    CPU Input Voltage [1.950]


    Inqonrol87
    Are you seeing smoke from the CPU yet? It should be under 1.3.

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by G75rog View Post
    Are you seeing smoke from the CPU yet? It should be under 1.3.
    I don`t know how you come to 1.3 V...I can not get my CPU stable at 1.3 volts with the above posted setting.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VOLTAGES MAX.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	55.4 KB 
ID:	81204


    *EDIT: And no, my CPU does not give smoke signals xD


    Under certain conditions, my CPU throttles. I could prevent this by increasing the CPU Input Voltage.

    The increase also means that the load on the VRMs will be reduced.
    Last edited by Inqontrol87; 07-30-2019 at 02:11 PM.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    248

    oops.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •