Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array apocalypzez PC Specs
    apocalypzez PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I would like to get a sexy 'LAP'top...;p
    MotherboardMaximus IX APEX
    ProcessorCore i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 2x8GB kits
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Black Edition
    Graphics Card #2Can't afford it
    Graphics Card #3!!!!
    Graphics Card #4!!!!!!!
    Sound CardMotherboard Built-in
    MonitorDell U3011
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 in RAID0 (trying to)
    Storage #2WD RED 3TB x 2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro 360mm AIO
    CaseNZXT H700i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G512 Carbon RGB Mech Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero Gaming Mouse (Wired)
    Headset Corsair Vengenace Pro 2000
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula (2011 model)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z2300 (the king of all 2.1 PC Speakers)
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterTP-Link C3150 AC Router
    apocalypzez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    128

    Exclamation BIOS stuck in QCode 'A2'

    I have a Maximus IX Apex that will not boot anymore. I dismantled my system to change my SSD & HDD, & also to clean the dust out of my system. and now after putting back everything, the motherboard gets stuck at A2 Q_Code, which means IDE Detect. So my first thought was to disconnect my hard disk and SSD, which I did and still wouldn't boot. I did a CLRCMOS as well after removing all the storage devices but error still popped up. I then disconnected everything and left it at the bare minimun, i.e., MOBO, CPU & RAM. This also failed and error code again appeared and stays there as long as i leave the system on.

    There is not much on the internet on how to fix this issue. Many say it's storage related but I don't have any storage device connected, unless my motherboard is a dud !!!!

    Any help would be appreciated, thanks!!
    ASUS Maximus IX APEX || Core i7 7700K || Corsair H150i Pro || EVGA RTX 2080 Ti B.E. || G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 @ 15-16-16-35-2N || ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 (RAID0) || WD RED 3TB x 2 || Corsair AX1200i || NZXT H700i (without the smart hub) || Dell U3011 || Windows 10 Pro x64 || Logitech Z2300 THX Certified 2.1 & Corsair Vengeance 2000 ||

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    HI apocalypzez

    POST cycle will not continue until the error with your HDD or SSD is fixed and you will continue to get QCODE A2. You will receive an A2 error if you do not have any drive connected.
    If you can, test the drives in another system and check all cabling and SATA connections are correct and functional.
    Test first the drive containing your OS and leave the other drives out of the loop for now.
    Ensure your Bios is up to date and use your rear IO panel and a USB for the flashback.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array apocalypzez PC Specs
    apocalypzez PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I would like to get a sexy 'LAP'top...;p
    MotherboardMaximus IX APEX
    ProcessorCore i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 2x8GB kits
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Black Edition
    Graphics Card #2Can't afford it
    Graphics Card #3!!!!
    Graphics Card #4!!!!!!!
    Sound CardMotherboard Built-in
    MonitorDell U3011
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 in RAID0 (trying to)
    Storage #2WD RED 3TB x 2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro 360mm AIO
    CaseNZXT H700i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G512 Carbon RGB Mech Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero Gaming Mouse (Wired)
    Headset Corsair Vengenace Pro 2000
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula (2011 model)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z2300 (the king of all 2.1 PC Speakers)
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterTP-Link C3150 AC Router
    apocalypzez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    128

    Thanks for the reply. I tried removing one part at a time. At one stage I had no HDD but my SSDs were still in the DIMM slot (as per the Apex board layout).
    ASUS Maximus IX APEX || Core i7 7700K || Corsair H150i Pro || EVGA RTX 2080 Ti B.E. || G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 @ 15-16-16-35-2N || ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 (RAID0) || WD RED 3TB x 2 || Corsair AX1200i || NZXT H700i (without the smart hub) || Dell U3011 || Windows 10 Pro x64 || Logitech Z2300 THX Certified 2.1 & Corsair Vengeance 2000 ||

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by apocalypzez View Post
    Thanks for the reply. I tried removing one part at a time. At one stage I had no HDD but my SSDs were still in the DIMM slot (as per the Apex board layout).
    DIMM slots are for RAM modules, review your MB Layout again as they have nothing to do with your storage drives.
    Check your SATA connections for the correct connections (page 1-23 in your MB manual)
    Check your QLEDs (page 1-14 in your MB manual) Do any light up, BOOT_LED lit green indicates a fault with your Boot drive.

    BTW: Your HDD and SSD are storage devices.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 07-23-2019 at 08:50 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,411

    Check the boot order in BIOS....if you have "windows boot manager" somewhere set that as first priority

    If you installed windows with another drive connected it is possible that the boot sector is on another disk other than the target OS drive...windows annoyingly does that sometimes...

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array apocalypzez PC Specs
    apocalypzez PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I would like to get a sexy 'LAP'top...;p
    MotherboardMaximus IX APEX
    ProcessorCore i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 2x8GB kits
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Black Edition
    Graphics Card #2Can't afford it
    Graphics Card #3!!!!
    Graphics Card #4!!!!!!!
    Sound CardMotherboard Built-in
    MonitorDell U3011
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 in RAID0 (trying to)
    Storage #2WD RED 3TB x 2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro 360mm AIO
    CaseNZXT H700i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G512 Carbon RGB Mech Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero Gaming Mouse (Wired)
    Headset Corsair Vengenace Pro 2000
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula (2011 model)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z2300 (the king of all 2.1 PC Speakers)
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterTP-Link C3150 AC Router
    apocalypzez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    128

    It's a Maximus IX Apex, and the SSD goes in an adapter which then in turn goes in to the DIMM Slot, i think its called DIMM.2 slot. My SSDs are like brand new with nothing in there. My HDDs were recently removed from the NAS box and i though of recycling it in to my PC as they were 3TB each. However, I haven't check the QLEDs yet, i will give that a go tonight.
    thanks for all the help. much appreciated.
    ASUS Maximus IX APEX || Core i7 7700K || Corsair H150i Pro || EVGA RTX 2080 Ti B.E. || G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 @ 15-16-16-35-2N || ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 (RAID0) || WD RED 3TB x 2 || Corsair AX1200i || NZXT H700i (without the smart hub) || Dell U3011 || Windows 10 Pro x64 || Logitech Z2300 THX Certified 2.1 & Corsair Vengeance 2000 ||

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array apocalypzez PC Specs
    apocalypzez PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I would like to get a sexy 'LAP'top...;p
    MotherboardMaximus IX APEX
    ProcessorCore i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 2x8GB kits
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Black Edition
    Graphics Card #2Can't afford it
    Graphics Card #3!!!!
    Graphics Card #4!!!!!!!
    Sound CardMotherboard Built-in
    MonitorDell U3011
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 in RAID0 (trying to)
    Storage #2WD RED 3TB x 2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro 360mm AIO
    CaseNZXT H700i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G512 Carbon RGB Mech Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero Gaming Mouse (Wired)
    Headset Corsair Vengenace Pro 2000
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula (2011 model)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z2300 (the king of all 2.1 PC Speakers)
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterTP-Link C3150 AC Router
    apocalypzez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    128

    After dismantling all components except for the board and the PSU cables, I tried with just the Motherboard, CPU & RAM. And the result was still the same QCODE A2 error. And the Boot led stays green. I have attached an image of my error code and boot led light.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	QCODE A2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	209.0 KB 
ID:	81189
    ASUS Maximus IX APEX || Core i7 7700K || Corsair H150i Pro || EVGA RTX 2080 Ti B.E. || G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 @ 15-16-16-35-2N || ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 (RAID0) || WD RED 3TB x 2 || Corsair AX1200i || NZXT H700i (without the smart hub) || Dell U3011 || Windows 10 Pro x64 || Logitech Z2300 THX Certified 2.1 & Corsair Vengeance 2000 ||

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    From your photo, I can see your Boot_led is lit and this is because you have either no Storage device installed or something is wrong with it, either improper connections or the unit or adapter is faulty.
    You will continue to get a QCode A2 error until the issue is rectified.
    Try using an SSD with standard SATA config instead of the dimm slot adapter to test.
    This could also be a Bios config problem as ARNE has said however that proposes a problem since you can't get into Bios.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 07-29-2019 at 04:45 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array apocalypzez PC Specs
    apocalypzez PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I would like to get a sexy 'LAP'top...;p
    MotherboardMaximus IX APEX
    ProcessorCore i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 2x8GB kits
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Black Edition
    Graphics Card #2Can't afford it
    Graphics Card #3!!!!
    Graphics Card #4!!!!!!!
    Sound CardMotherboard Built-in
    MonitorDell U3011
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 in RAID0 (trying to)
    Storage #2WD RED 3TB x 2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro 360mm AIO
    CaseNZXT H700i
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G512 Carbon RGB Mech Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero Gaming Mouse (Wired)
    Headset Corsair Vengenace Pro 2000
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula (2011 model)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z2300 (the king of all 2.1 PC Speakers)
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterTP-Link C3150 AC Router
    apocalypzez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    128

    So I finally removed all components from the case, cleaned everything and re-assembled it from scratch and after that it started to work just fine. took me 2 weekends to complete this process....age is catching up, i guess!!

    to be honest I don't know what fixed this issue - but thanks for the help guys!!!
    ASUS Maximus IX APEX || Core i7 7700K || Corsair H150i Pro || EVGA RTX 2080 Ti B.E. || G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C15D-16GTZR 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 @ 15-16-16-35-2N || ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB x 2 (RAID0) || WD RED 3TB x 2 || Corsair AX1200i || NZXT H700i (without the smart hub) || Dell U3011 || Windows 10 Pro x64 || Logitech Z2300 THX Certified 2.1 & Corsair Vengeance 2000 ||

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,411

    OK...cool....maybe a dodgy SATA connection?....who knows...it works is all that matters!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •