Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array tunst PC Specs
    tunst PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Non WIFI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.3 GHz with 1.37 v
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16 GFX, 16 GB (2x8) G Skill Flare X 3200 @ 3400 MHz timings: 14, 14,14,14, 34,48...1T
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GTX1080 G1 8GB PCIE RGB
    Sound CardN/A, on motherboard with Bose speakers
    MonitorLG 34UC80-B 34-Inch 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD
    Storage #2WD Blue 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO AMD RGB water block
    CaseExteded Mountain Ascension CYO Mirror Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 1300 Watt
    Keyboard Logitech MK710
    Mouse Logitech M720
    Mouse Pad TOWWI Leather Desk Pad Protector 36”x17” Desk Blotter Pad
    OS MS Windows 10 Pro / Arch Linux / Debian Linux
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk
    tunst's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    AMD 3700X on Crosshair VII, board fails to post if 3200 MHz Ram set over 2400 MHz

    Good Afternoon All,

    I have put an AMD Ryzen 3700X on my ASUS Crosshair VII Hero motherboard, I have overclocked the AMD Ryzen 3700X processor to 42.25 GHz on all cores with 1.36 volts on the processor. I have the latest bios, 2406 -AMD AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.2.

    My motherboard fails to boot if use 3200 Mhz for my G Skill Flare X 3200 DDR4 Ram (2 X 8 GB sticks), I have increase ram voltage to 1.4 volts on the ram and still it fails to boot. The motherboard stops on code "C5". Any ideas to run my 3200 ram at 3200 MHz?

    The 3700X has improved performance over the AMD Ryzen 2700X.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 3700X_20190707.JPG  

    Last edited by tunst; 07-12-2019 at 01:45 PM. Reason: added CPU-Z screenshot

  2. #2
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Ryzen 3000 needs at least AGESA 1.0.0.3AB to be able to run correctly. AGESA 1.0.0.2 is in the current bios 2304 and 2306.
    I have a 3900X on my CH7 and due to the bios limitations, my CPU will go no higher than 4.2 and the Flare X 3200 memory is stuck at 2129.
    We Ryzen 3000 owners just have to wait until ASUS releases a bios for the Crosshair Hero VII that will work fully with our new processors. The price of being an
    early adopter.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array tunst PC Specs
    tunst PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Non WIFI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.3 GHz with 1.37 v
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16 GFX, 16 GB (2x8) G Skill Flare X 3200 @ 3400 MHz timings: 14, 14,14,14, 34,48...1T
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GTX1080 G1 8GB PCIE RGB
    Sound CardN/A, on motherboard with Bose speakers
    MonitorLG 34UC80-B 34-Inch 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD
    Storage #2WD Blue 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO AMD RGB water block
    CaseExteded Mountain Ascension CYO Mirror Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 1300 Watt
    Keyboard Logitech MK710
    Mouse Logitech M720
    Mouse Pad TOWWI Leather Desk Pad Protector 36”x17” Desk Blotter Pad
    OS MS Windows 10 Pro / Arch Linux / Debian Linux
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk
    tunst's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyberscott View Post
    Ryzen 3000 needs at least AGESA 1.0.0.3AB to be able to run correctly. AGESA 1.0.0.2 is in the current bios 2304 and 2306.
    I have a 3900X on my CH7 and due to the bios limitations, my CPU will go no higher than 4.2 and the Flare X 3200 memory is stuck at 2129.
    We Ryzen 3000 owners just have to wait until ASUS releases a bios for the Crosshair Hero VII that will work fully with our new processors. The price of being an
    early adopter.
    Thanks for the reply, I guess that this is the price of being on the cutting edge. I will keep my eyes open for the updated bios, I am getting 2400 MHz on my 3200 MHz rtam.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 3700X_ram_20190707.JPG  


  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    217
    Posts
    6,218

    2400mhz-> 3200mhz with the new bios, it will fail i think

    try increasements in max 300mhz steps from 2400mhz until you hit target frequency ->

    I wrote about this before and i dont feel like taking it all again

    People, yall need to tinker with the stuff when its not working!
    Last edited by Rockford; 07-08-2019 at 01:37 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    285

    Quote Originally Posted by Rockford View Post
    2400mhz-> 3200mhz with the new bios, it will fail i think

    try increasements in max 300mhz steps from 2400mhz until you hit target frequency ->

    I wrote about this before and i dont feel like taking it all again

    People, yall need to tinker with the stuff when its not working!
    Depends if you use memory training or if you know your timings. If you know your timings it's just to type in each and everyone and it will boot. Gone straight from 2133 -> 3400 multiple times without any error, because I know the timings.

    However, these bioses are bugged or locked down, no memory OC for Ryzen 3000. Ryzen 2000 works well. Word is you need AGESA 1.0.0.3AB or higher to be able to OC RAM on B450/X470 regardless of motherboard vendor. The word is from 1usmus who knows about this stuff.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    We need AGESA 1.0.0.3AB, ASUS needs to update the bios asap, this motherboard wasn't cheap at all, I still can return it!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    217
    Posts
    6,218

    QUOTE=xeizo
    Depends if you use memory training or if you know your timings: The motherboard always perform memory training no matter manual settings or XMP on post, (only the first post is actually training/setting the memory timings, second post is reading them), if memory setting is changed, the cycle repeat again
    Gone straight from 2133 -> 3400 multiple times without any error, because I know the timings: Yes for many people this works, but for many people this can also be a problem (depending on memory kit, motherboard and bios version)

    AGESA 1.0.0.3AB or higher to be able to OC RAM on B450/X470 regardless of motherboard vendor: I dont have the Ryzen 3000 to try....

    >>The word is from 1usmus who knows about this stuff

    >And my father have black belt in Karate ))

    some people is already running +4000mhz memory speed on Asus X470/X570 with Ryzen 3000


    This is working with Ryzen 2000 series and the new bios versions, if the system wont post over 2400mhz with some memory kits

    load optimized defaults
    reboot
    disable fast boot, and all the other anti memory OC crap settings in bios
    set dram voltage manually
    type in the primary timings or XMP + TCWL manually (tertiary cas write latency)
    set 2133mhz or 2400mhz memory speed
    reboot
    then increase the memory speed gradually with max 300 mhz steps every boot, until target memory speed is reached

    Its impossible to have one universal fix for all memory kits, that's why compatibility problems is a fact

    You dont know unless you try......
    Last edited by Rockford; 07-09-2019 at 01:47 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Frostie36 PC Specs
    Frostie36 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470 WiFi
    ProcessorRyzen 2700x
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080TI FE
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi pcie
    MonitorAsus VG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 256mb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S SE AM4
    CaseHAF 932 Advance
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech g15 v2
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Creative Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR4500

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    I'm so ready to order the 3900x but just waiting for a bios that works correctly, clearly the new 3000 zen 2 is working on the c7h but I see the cpu supported last hasn't been updated yet.

    Wonder how long it'll take for a new bios with the latest agesa to be released, the latest bios for the c8h already has the latest agesa but I have no interest in pci gen 4.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    217
    Posts
    6,218

    i made a long and informativ video just now (Ryzen 2000 and maybe 3000?)
    background:
    With the new bios versions, my mem kit wont even post XMP 3000mhz without making the system hang after save and exit (first post) = clr cmos
    So instead of spending a lot of time to try and find the problem and turning bios inside out, i did like this (video), quick fix
    I am using CL17/TCWL12 in this video, however CL17/TCWL12 can only be used with Ryzen 2200G,2400G not Ryzen 26xx,27xx, so please dont mind my settings too much
    Video is showing 2400mhz setup defaults to 3533mhz without system failure on post
    I think most mem kits dont have this problem to reach XMP speed (or any other speed for that matter), but some kits do struggle with the new bios versions
    I am using the lastest bios version with this motherboard
    taper up the frequency, dont go max at once, dont load xmp and reboot
    I personally dislike compromises like this very much, but since i am not overclocking anymore, or using clr cmos.... no problem
    this video is connected to the post i made above in this thread, and not a tutorial


    https://rutube.ru/video/55bc69378587...5be13ecf449d6/
    Last edited by Rockford; 07-09-2019 at 01:06 PM.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array tunst PC Specs
    tunst PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Non WIFI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.3 GHz with 1.37 v
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16 GFX, 16 GB (2x8) G Skill Flare X 3200 @ 3400 MHz timings: 14, 14,14,14, 34,48...1T
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GTX1080 G1 8GB PCIE RGB
    Sound CardN/A, on motherboard with Bose speakers
    MonitorLG 34UC80-B 34-Inch 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD
    Storage #2WD Blue 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy EVO AMD RGB water block
    CaseExteded Mountain Ascension CYO Mirror Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 1300 Watt
    Keyboard Logitech MK710
    Mouse Logitech M720
    Mouse Pad TOWWI Leather Desk Pad Protector 36”x17” Desk Blotter Pad
    OS MS Windows 10 Pro / Arch Linux / Debian Linux
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk
    tunst's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Rockford View Post
    i made a long and informativ video just now (Ryzen 2000 and maybe 3000?)
    background:
    With the new bios versions, my mem kit wont even post XMP 3000mhz without making the system hang after save and exit (first post) = clr cmos
    So instead of spending a lot of time to try and find the problem and turning bios inside out, i did like this (video), quick fix
    I am using CL17/TCWL12 in this video, however CL17/TCWL12 can only be used with Ryzen 2200G,2400G not Ryzen 26xx,27xx, so please dont mind my settings too much
    Video is showing 2400mhz setup defaults to 3533mhz without system failure on post
    I think most mem kits dont have this problem to reach XMP speed (or any other speed for that matter), but some kits do struggle with the new bios versions
    I am using the lastest bios version with this motherboard
    taper up the frequency, dont go max at once, or load xmp and reboot
    I personally dislike compromises like this very much, but since i am not overclocking anymore, or using clr cmos.... no problem
    this video is connected to the post i made above in this thread, and not a tutorial


    https://rutube.ru/video/55bc69378587...5be13ecf449d6/
    Good Evening,

    I tried the recommended solution but motherboard failed to boot with ram at 2733 MHz. I can boot with ram at 2400 MHz with tight settings of 14,14,14,14,30... .

    My 3700X auto clocks to 4.348 GHz with 1.406 volts. I can manually over clock to 4.3 GHz with 1.38 volts.

    I guess, I will wait for new bios update.

    Edward
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 3700X_4348.JPG  

    3700X_4348_mem.JPG  

    Last edited by tunst; 07-12-2019 at 01:47 PM.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •