Page 64 of 111 FirstFirst ... 14 54 62 63 64 65 66 74 ... LastLast
Results 631 to 640 of 1108
  1. #631
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by EZ_PC_TECH View Post
    P.S.: Would be great if ASUS would let us open the entire page to which searched setting belongs to, because sometimes, you can change something to the manual, but can't adjust manual variable trough the search since it doesn't pop-up. Or at least show the path to that setting.
    +1 it is incredibly frustrating that the search does not show the location for the setting in the bios.

  2. #632
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    You'll find in the C6H OCN thread post by Elmor, he stated the manual did not have correct Q-Code info. Next the Q-Code display not only shows fault codes, but can display status code, I believe we see a status code change.

    When board posted on fresh kernel (ie WinOS Fast Boot off) I used to see 24, in later UEFI this became AA. Past UEFI (not check later) if you had WinOS set to use Fast Boot then you'd see 40. Past and later UEFI, when resume from sleep it's 30.

    From my testing the change of Q-Code display does not affect stability.

    Prior to having UEFI with AGESA ComboPi-AM4 1.0.0.3AB, when RM was opened I only had AA change to d3. I had read in the OCN C8H/F thread members seeing AA > d3 > F8, once I had AB like them I also saw the same.

    Before I had been wondering why Q-Code had changed from 24 to AA. I think this is down to AGESA, as I saw a thread with Gigabyte board highlighting same Q-Codes as I see on later UEFI, link.



    Advanced > AMD CBS > CPU Common Options > Global C-State Control set as Enabled, check with Ryzen Master you should see lowered voltage.
    Awesome thanks for clearing that up for me. My AIO died so gone the air cooling route and for the first time since getting this board I can now see the Q-Codes lol

  3. #633
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by EZ_PC_TECH View Post
    I have the same issue with TDP(PPT). It never goes over 17% means PBO doesn't extend as high as it should.
    +1 My PPT is always frozen at 9% and TDC at 0%. Only EDC seems to work properly. I've mentioned it a few pages back. I too think this is the reason PBO does nothing when enabled. Lets hope the next bios fixes this as it is definately a C6H/C7H issue.

  4. #634
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Quote Originally Posted by mikev190 View Post
    Awesome thanks for clearing that up for me. My AIO died so gone the air cooling route and for the first time since getting this board I can now see the Q-Codes lol
    NP .

    Just as added info. Not checked on recent UEFIs but if I booted into DOS or say Linux, instead of 24 I could have 00, so those UEFIs did a differing final code on Q-Code display for what OS was used.

    Quote Originally Posted by alexp999 View Post
    I have a different bug, my TDP is always stuck at 7%.
    Quote Originally Posted by EZ_PC_TECH View Post
    I have the same issue with TDP(PPT). It never goes over 17% means PBO doesn't extend as high as it should.
    Quote Originally Posted by mikev190 View Post
    +1 My PPT is always frozen at 9% and TDC at 0%. Only EDC seems to work properly. I've mentioned it a few pages back. I too think this is the reason PBO does nothing when enabled. Lets hope the next bios fixes this as it is definately a C6H/C7H issue.
    This is non issue IMO. It's just the reading is bugged. I recall when used R7 2700X on C7H it was same, did not hold it back for PBO, nor is the R5 3600 held back if using AGESA ComboPi-Am4 1.0.0.2.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  5. #635
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    NP .

    Just as added info. Not checked on recent UEFIs but if I booted into DOS or say Linux, instead of 24 I could have 00, so those UEFIs did a differing final code on Q-Code display for what OS was used.



    This is non issue IMO. It's just the reading is bugged. I recall when used R7 2700X on C7H it was same, did not hold it back for PBO, nor is the R5 3600 held back if using AGESA ComboPi-Am4 1.0.0.2.
    Ah cool thanks! I just feel like my CPU is being offset by something by around 100Mhz. When gaming it is normally 4075Mhz or lower depending on temps. It makes no sense to me when I can run 4.1GHz at 1.25v. Even on 1.0.0.2, I get 50Mhz random spikes higher. But in games it is more like a 25MHz increase. I know someone who basically has the same issue and CPU. But when used on a different board the CPU boosts over 4.2GHz and PBO works for them. Well until he puts it back into his Crosshair. I'm just clutching at straws atm lol.

  6. #636
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    351

    On bios 2501, -0.0875V offset, Auto OC, Global C-states Enabled:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	offset.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	125.6 KB 
ID:	81540

    Can't complain about "boost" anyway, more than one core is over 4.6GHz

  7. #637
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Advanced > AMD CBS > CPU Common Options > Global C-State Control set as Enabled, check with Ryzen Master you should see lowered voltage.
    I think it was enabled in auto settings.
    After enable it, acidently disabled also performance boost. Got flat 3.8ghz and voltages dropped but stayed in 1.1V. Enabling performance boost, boosting was back but so was voltage stuck in 1.4-1.5V

    I have to go back to older bioses. This is not working at all.
    Same problem in 7401, 7306 and 7304.

  8. #638
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Quote Originally Posted by mikev190 View Post
    Ah cool thanks! I just feel like my CPU is being offset by something by around 100Mhz. When gaming it is normally 4075Mhz or lower depending on temps. It makes no sense to me when I can run 4.1GHz at 1.25v. Even on 1.0.0.2, I get 50Mhz random spikes higher. But in games it is more like a 25MHz increase. I know someone who basically has the same issue and CPU. But when used on a different board the CPU boosts over 4.2GHz and PBO works for them. Well until he puts it back into his Crosshair. I'm just clutching at straws atm lol.
    The way algorithm for stock operation vs manual OC is not comparable IMO.

    The algorithm will aim to keep CPU stabilised for all cases loads, where as manual OC I doubt many test it to the same extent as stock operation maybe by AMD.

    HUB recently posted a CPU being tested between differing boards, the delta in MHz can seem something to talk about. When you look at the % it's more like run to run variance. I think the way algorithm is it has be to perfect setup conditions for each test run to make it be comparable to another. Even the OS at times can be observed to picking differing core to load up. At times load is on the best cores, at times not.

    I reckon the C6H is probably just a little behind on UEFI being sound. For example on the C7H I didn't note people having post issues on early UEFI with Matisse support, were as it seemed more of an issue on C6H to gain even a post at defaults.

    Hang in there. The C6H has decent VRM plus other aspects, yeah the C7H improves on it, but once the UEFI catches up you won't be behind IMO.

    I owned a C6H, had same RAM & 2700X in it and then used on C7H, no performance or OC gain difference. In fact on 4 dimms the C6H had the edge for tweaking than C7H. It does seem with Matisse though the dimm topology doesn't matter, well so far in what I've noted from others shares. I have even seen some not have 3800MHz 1:1:1 on C8H/F on 4 dimms and I have that on C7H.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sturmer View Post
    I think it was enabled in auto settings.
    After enable it, acidently disabled also performance boost. Got flat 3.8ghz and voltages dropped but stayed in 1.1V. Enabling performance boost, boosting was back but so was voltage stuck in 1.4-1.5V

    I have to go back to older bioses. This is not working at all.
    Same problem in 7401, 7306 and 7304.
    Maybe issue on C6H UEFI, that it not working same as C7H. I'd wait for another UEFI.

    Also make sure you don't have apps in the background. I have read posts where people have say steam minimised or something else and that causes CPU to not idle.

    For me HWINFO like this, polling interval 500ms.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HWINFO idle.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	591.3 KB 
ID:	81543

    Ryzen Master is like this.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ryzen Master.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	384.7 KB 
ID:	81544

    CPU stock, OC RAM, Global C-State Control: Enabled, UEFI 2606.
    Last edited by gupsterg; 08-21-2019 at 08:07 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #639
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Yeah not really trusting hwinfo.
    Even in Ryzen master all cores sleep but voltage is not dropping under 1.4V.
    Thats why i check hwinfo just incase it might pick up 0.2V in some point, but no.

    Yes i have normaly stuff background, but closed all. It can be proofed because all cores go to sleep in Ryzen master.

  10. #640
    ROG Enthusiast Array ZEEED PC Specs
    ZEEED PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII
    Processor3900X
    Memory (part number)Teamgroup 4133 8pack edition
    Graphics Card #1Watercooled Titan Pascal
    MonitorAcer 4k
    Storage #1Samsung 960 NVME
    CPU CoolerPhobya Nova Extreme
    CaseCheap one :D
    Power SupplySuperflower 1200 platinum
    Keyboard Saiteck Cyborg
    Mouse SK Gaming Mionix
    Headset Asus Volcan ANX
    Headset/Speakers Panasonic :)

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    https://youtu.be/o2SzF3IiMaE

    Steve made fantasti video showing how boot is more likely to not work as AMD say than is..

Page 64 of 111 FirstFirst ... 14 54 62 63 64 65 66 74 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •