Page 76 of 111 FirstFirst ... 26 66 74 75 76 77 78 86 ... LastLast
Results 751 to 760 of 1108
  1. #751
    ROG Enthusiast Array alexp999 PC Specs
    alexp999 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen R9 3900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill FlareX 3600 C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix RX Vega 64
    CPU CoolerCustom w/c
    CaseLian-Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplyBeQuiet! Dark Power 10 850W
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G403 Hero
    OS Win 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by hg2002qwe View Post
    I agree with Ryo_z's article. There are so many problems.

    [Problem list]
    Double booted
    RAM Overclocked Lower than previous BIOS
    Cold boot or restart has a high probability of a black screen and a long reboot time
    BSOD-IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL
    BSOD-CRITICAL PROCESS DIED
    Ramclock and Information Not Displayed in Task Manager
    Windows 10 Night Mode Not On
    Star 2, Micro Stuttering in Heos Play Seriously
    Blue screen occurs after clean installation
    Most of those are just indicative of an unstable overclock, you just need to back it off a bit.

  2. #752
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR9 3900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3800MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX2070 Super Gaming
    Sound CardMotu M2
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #11TB Samsung 970 Plus NVMe
    Storage #2plenty
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
    CaseNZXT H700
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    358

    Running gupsterg:s modded Shamino 0002-beta named "0002+" is great so far, slightly less single core bench than 2501 but multicore is better and latency is better. And no C5, and no Fan stop. Looks like a keeper until next official bios

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	1.84 MB 
ID:	81633
    Last edited by xeizo; 08-28-2019 at 12:39 PM.

  3. #753
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    These are all the BSODs i had since running the 3600X on C7H, there were also a lot since August 1st when i had the 3600, but none in the 10 days when i had the 2700X on it. Some were caused probably by experimenting with BIOS settings or memory timings, but i've had 3200 CL14 14-14-14-30-44 with 0 errors on 3100% coverage for around 2 weeks now.
    The bug check code 133 one seems to be nvidia drivers, when for some reason the RTX2080 gets uninstalled and installed again, which messed up the drivers (geforce experience had previous version as blank), not sure what this fresh intel LAN is about, i ofter see drivers from here that need to be verified again. SFC finds nothing wrong, DISM check health and restore health also nothing.
    It seems like somethings not right with either the LAN controller or USB or i don't know. Sometimes i wonder if it wouldn't be better to buy a X570 motherboard for less money than i can sell this 3 month old C7H and maybe just for kicks have a friend use the C7H for a while on the 2600 and see if he has any BSODs.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bsods.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	187.5 KB 
ID:	81637
    Last edited by igralec84; 08-28-2019 at 02:15 PM.

  4. #754
    New ROGer Array EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VII x470/MSI Godlike x570
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X/3900X/3950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill FlareX 3800 14-16-14-16-26 CR1)
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1070Ti Titanium EK WB
    Graphics Card #21080Ti EK WB
    MonitorMSI Optix 32"
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro + Alphacool XT45 360 + D5 + HW Labs GTX480 + HW Labs GTX420
    CaseFully custom
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-650T
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    EZ_PC_TECH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Bad oc

    Quote Originally Posted by igralec84 View Post
    These are all the BSODs i had since running the 3600X on C7H, there were also a lot since August 1st when i had the 3600, but none in the 10 days when i had the 2700X on it. Some were caused probably by experimenting with BIOS settings or memory timings, but i've had 3200 CL14 14-14-14-30-44 with 0 errors on 3100% coverage for around 2 weeks now.
    The bug check code 133 one seems to be nvidia drivers, when for some reason the RTX2080 gets uninstalled and installed again, which messed up the drivers (geforce experience had previous version as blank), not sure what this fresh intel LAN is about, i ofter see drivers from here that need to be verified again. SFC finds nothing wrong, DISM check health and restore health also nothing.
    It seems like somethings not right with either the LAN controller or USB or i don't know. Sometimes i wonder if it wouldn't be better to buy a X570 motherboard for less money than i can sell this 3 month old C7H and maybe just for kicks have a friend use the C7H for a while on the 2600 and see if he has any BSODs.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bsods.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	187.5 KB 
ID:	81637
    You can not expect to simply transfer your timings to the system with a new processor and BIOS. I have a much better RAM OC and way lower voltage with new Ryzen, but most of the timings were need to be retested. Test your RAm with TM5 and 1usmus v3 profile

  5. #755
    New ROGer Array EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VII x470/MSI Godlike x570
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X/3900X/3950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill FlareX 3800 14-16-14-16-26 CR1)
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1070Ti Titanium EK WB
    Graphics Card #21080Ti EK WB
    MonitorMSI Optix 32"
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro + Alphacool XT45 360 + D5 + HW Labs GTX480 + HW Labs GTX420
    CaseFully custom
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-650T
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    EZ_PC_TECH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Post Boosting Performance

    Hey, guys!
    I have an addition to my previous post.
    Not sure if everyone read it correctly, but those settings improve the performance itself, but not necessarily will improve the peak frequency. More important to have a consistent higher clock than see a higher frequency for a split second just for the record.

    There are a few more things that may improve your performance in addition to the steps that I described here https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...e71#post782128 :

    1) Download Revo Uninstaller and use it to uninstall your current Chipset Drivers. In Revo, select the advanced scan and delete all residue after uninstalling (just click "Select all" and delete, two times). Then reinstall the latest Chipset Drivers from AMD website (not ASUS). After that, my performance and most importantly behavior of my boost improved significantly. You will also notice different settings in the Ryzen Power Plans. After that, my CPU boosting much more happily and scores in benches improved.

    2) Go to Tweaker's paradise, set VDDP to 0.9000 and then set SenseMi to enabled. (You should notice lower temperatures btw)

    3) Make sure that your minimum processor state is set to 99% or lower. I noticed that AIDA64 switching this value to 100% when you using Cache & Mem.

    Don't simply look at the frequency, but test the actual performance. Ryzen tends to change the frequency much more often that monitoring tools can report it, so it's important to validate your results. Also, I noticed that PBO with ZEN2 helps to boost fighter and longer, but without going higher than advertised boost. It actually works and helps to improve multicore performance, but just a little bit and at the cost of higher temps, so I would still keep it off.

    Let me know your results.
    Last edited by EZ_PC_TECH; 08-28-2019 at 03:01 PM.

  6. #756
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Quote Originally Posted by EZ_PC_TECH View Post
    2) Go to Tweaker's paradise, set VDDP to 0.9000 and then set SenseMi to enabled. (You should notice lower temperatures btw)
    Sense Mi skews tCTL, so if it is working on Matisse you will not see "realistic" temperature, just bare that in mind.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  7. #757
    New ROGer Array EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VII x470/MSI Godlike x570
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X/3900X/3950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill FlareX 3800 14-16-14-16-26 CR1)
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1070Ti Titanium EK WB
    Graphics Card #21080Ti EK WB
    MonitorMSI Optix 32"
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro + Alphacool XT45 360 + D5 + HW Labs GTX480 + HW Labs GTX420
    CaseFully custom
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-650T
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    EZ_PC_TECH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Sense Mi skews tCTL, so if it is working on Matisse you will not see "realistic" temperature, just bear that in mind.
    I know. You'll see a 3-4C lower temp, but even without in, my cooler keeps the temps under 75C, so I don't need to worry about it. And I only enabled SenseMi Skew, without adjusting the offset, so temps are more realistic than it was before since it much closer now to the T.probe readings and CPU package temp.

  8. #758
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Quote Originally Posted by EZ_PC_TECH View Post
    I know. You'll see a 3-4C lower temp, but even without in, my cooler keeps the temps under 75C, so I don't need to worry about it. And I only enabled SenseMi Skew, without adjusting the offset, so temps are more realistic than it was before since it much closer now to the T.probe readings and CPU package temp.
    As long as people aware it all good what they wanna do .

    When you mean T.probe you have a probe stuck through hole in socket, in contact with back of CPU and measuring? if so that is gonna be lower than tCTL/tDIE. There are multitude of sensors which are shown as one value by tCTL/tDIE.

    Today latest HWNFO exposes per CCD tDIE, I had been testing it prior to public release, it can be slightly higher than tCTL/tDIE, so you may actually be higher than you think.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #759
    New ROGer Array EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VII x470/MSI Godlike x570
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X/3900X/3950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill FlareX 3800 14-16-14-16-26 CR1)
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1070Ti Titanium EK WB
    Graphics Card #21080Ti EK WB
    MonitorMSI Optix 32"
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro + Alphacool XT45 360 + D5 + HW Labs GTX480 + HW Labs GTX420
    CaseFully custom
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-650T
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    EZ_PC_TECH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    As long as people aware it all good what they wanna do .

    When you mean T.probe you have a probe stuck through hole in socket, in contact with back of CPU and measuring? if so that is gonna be lower than tCTL/tDIE. There are multitude of sensors which are shown as one value by tCTL/tDIE.

    Today latest HWNFO exposes per CCD tDIE, I had been testing it prior to public release, it can be slightly higher than tCTL/tDIE, so you may actually be higher than you think.
    yes, t.probe on the back of the socket. It's definitely reporting lower temps, but I know the offset because I calibrate it with Zen+ using thermal imaging some time ago, while I had my hands on the thermal camera. So, yes, I'm not assuming that T.probe gives exact numbers for tCTL/tDIE, but If you know how much offset you should apply to those numbers, then you good to go.

  10. #760
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Quote Originally Posted by EZ_PC_TECH View Post
    yes, t.probe on the back of the socket. It's definitely reporting lower temps, but I know the offset because I calibrate it with Zen+ using thermal imaging some time ago, while I had my hands on the thermal camera. So, yes, I'm not assuming that T.probe gives exact numbers for tCTL/tDIE, but If you know how much offset you should apply to those numbers, then you good to go.
    My R7 2700X aka Zen+, never ran as hot as my R5 3600, I'm using same board/RAM/cooling/TIM, etc as before. So personally if I'd determined an Sense Mi Skew offset using Zen+ I wouldn't be using it with Zen2.

    Again only my opinion, you may share yours and do as you wish . I just wanted others that may use your info to know what is happening when they do what you stated .

    *** edit ***

    Just wanna add worst case on R7 2700X was with AVX and R5 3600 is non AVX, that is my comparative when I say Zen2 is hotter than Zen+. I dare not run P95 with AVX on R5 3600 as I believe it would defo throttle...
    Last edited by gupsterg; 08-28-2019 at 03:59 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

Page 76 of 111 FirstFirst ... 26 66 74 75 76 77 78 86 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •