Page 54 of 111 FirstFirst ... 4 44 52 53 54 55 56 64 104 ... LastLast
Results 531 to 540 of 1108
  1. #531
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by Hinjima View Post
    That's good news at least! If it runs stable on current bios and boosts to correct speeds, are there any benefits to upgrading to newer bios versions later down the line if one purely game? Maybe it is on zen 2 as its still in its early phase. I run a 6600k @ 4.8ghz currently and haven't bothered updating to the latest versions as they might cause issues. Thank you for taking the time to reply to me, its much appreciated
    No problem! I would say yes to the bios updates. At least until there has been a few more AGESA versions and everything is stable.

  2. #532
    New ROGer Array jeffersonpl PC Specs
    jeffersonpl PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook pro 2012
    Motherboardasus rog crosshair vi hero wi-fi
    Processorryzen 5 3600x
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z Royal Silver 3600mhz 16gb
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2070 strix
    Monitoragon 320
    Storage #1m2 reeino 512
    Storage #21 tb barracuda seagate
    CPU Coolerevga clc 280
    Casecore p5 thermaltake
    Power Supplynzxt 700 halo
    Keyboard Logitech g910
    Mouse logitech g502 hero
    Headset logitech g633
    Mouse Pad razer goliaths
    Headset/Speakers logitech g633
    OS windows 10
    jeffersonpl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Oops blz guys?
    I need some help, I'm ch6 (wifi) with ryzen 3600x, and with the gskill Trident Z Royal Silver F4-3600C18-16GTRS memories, and I can't overclock it to 3800mhz, it always falls on q-code 07, I used dram calculater, I did some calculations, but nothing. I am using the bios 7401, I tested with the official 7306 and also same error, before I could good.

  3. #533
    New ROGer Array EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VII x470/MSI Godlike x570
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X/3900X/3950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill FlareX 3800 14-16-14-16-26 CR1)
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1070Ti Titanium EK WB
    Graphics Card #21080Ti EK WB
    MonitorMSI Optix 32"
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro + Alphacool XT45 360 + D5 + HW Labs GTX480 + HW Labs GTX420
    CaseFully custom
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-650T
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    EZ_PC_TECH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffersonpl View Post
    Oops blz guys?
    I need some help, I'm ch6 (wifi) with ryzen 3600x, and with the gskill Trident Z Royal Silver F4-3600C18-16GTRS memories, and I can't overclock it to 3800mhz, it always falls on q-code 07, I used dram calculater, I did some calculations, but nothing. I am using the bios 7401, I tested with the official 7306 and also same error, before I could good.
    Your CPU or memory not necessarily will reach that speed. Many people can't even reach 3733

  4. #534
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffersonpl View Post
    Oops blz guys?
    I need some help, I'm ch6 (wifi) with ryzen 3600x, and with the gskill Trident Z Royal Silver F4-3600C18-16GTRS memories, and I can't overclock it to 3800mhz, it always falls on q-code 07, I used dram calculater, I did some calculations, but nothing. I am using the bios 7401, I tested with the official 7306 and also same error, before I could good.
    BIOS updates are still immature, just be glad you can run your memory at it's XMP profile at ALL.

    I don't know why so many people are memory overclocking right now, it's a known fact that these infant BIOS's have memory compatibility issues that need to be solved.

    Just wait until BIOS's really get mature, I think AMD's working on another AGESA code for 3rd Gen Ryzen aswell.

    However, if you really want to overclock, I'd recommend loosening timings at 3800mhz, try like 18-21-21-42 or something very loose. Then go from there.

    Also, 1900mhz on the FCLK is pretty high. There are LOTS of people who can't achieve 1900mhz on your FCLK. I'm assuming you are trying to run your IF clock and your memory at a 1:1 ratio.

  5. #535
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    I found something interesting, at least with 7401, tuning performance enhancer in BIOS to Default instead of Auto yields better results. Same clocks at lower temperatures.

    And for me, it seems more stable.

  6. #536
    New ROGer Array Alex656 PC Specs
    Alex656 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3900x
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 2080 Super
    MonitorDell S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 256 Gb
    Storage #2Toshiba 3TB DT01ACA300
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master CM690 II
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower 700W

    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by PLTD89 View Post
    Also, (C6H 7401) the restart of the PC gives it a "hard" restart. it powers the PC fully down for about 5 seconds before starting again, previously this was instantaneously.
    Same problem here both with the official 7306 version and with the 7401. Now i am back with the 7302 that works fine.

  7. #537
    New ROGer Array jeffersonpl PC Specs
    jeffersonpl PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook pro 2012
    Motherboardasus rog crosshair vi hero wi-fi
    Processorryzen 5 3600x
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z Royal Silver 3600mhz 16gb
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2070 strix
    Monitoragon 320
    Storage #1m2 reeino 512
    Storage #21 tb barracuda seagate
    CPU Coolerevga clc 280
    Casecore p5 thermaltake
    Power Supplynzxt 700 halo
    Keyboard Logitech g910
    Mouse logitech g502 hero
    Headset logitech g633
    Mouse Pad razer goliaths
    Headset/Speakers logitech g633
    OS windows 10
    jeffersonpl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by TechyInAZ View Post
    BIOS updates are still immature, just be glad you can run your memory at it's XMP profile at ALL.

    I don't know why so many people are memory overclocking right now, it's a known fact that these infant BIOS's have memory compatibility issues that need to be solved.

    Just wait until BIOS's really get mature, I think AMD's working on another AGESA code for 3rd Gen Ryzen aswell.

    However, if you really want to overclock, I'd recommend loosening timings at 3800mhz, try like 18-21-21-42 or something very loose. Then go from there.

    Also, 1900mhz on the FCLK is pretty high. There are LOTS of people who can't achieve 1900mhz on your FCLK. I'm assuming you are trying to run your IF clock and your memory at a 1:1 ratio.

    Rightly I do not understand yet, it is FCLK, but by logic I have left 1: 1 ratio. I already managed in other memory to use higher c with smaller FCLK. Well i'm on bios ripening, i'm just testing the limitations of each update, i believe beta is for that.

  8. #538
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Hinjima View Post
    Hey guys! Considering getting a 3700x and a x470 gaming-F mobo but reading through this thread makes me wonder if I should wait... There seems to be a lot of issues with the current BIOS updates and I am not very good when it comes to BIOS tinkering... I will not do any CPU overclocking or ram overclocking, I just want to play games! The PC will be a semi-custom built system and will come with the latest BIOS updates and tested for stability and such before arriving. Should I wait for BIOS and Chipset drivers to mature? I know this is probably the wrong thread to ask but I definitely feel like you guys are the best persons to ask on this matter, you guys know what you are talking about Huge thanks, Hinjima.
    Hey Hinjima, If you want to buy a motherboard now, get a Gigabyte mobo. THeir support with Gen 3 Ryzen has been much better than ASUS. Here we are mostly at the mercy of Shamino to release new BIOS versions and there isnt much communication.

    Good luck!

  9. #539
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by geerbeer View Post
    Hey Hinjima, If you want to buy a motherboard now, get a Gigabyte mobo. THeir support with Gen 3 Ryzen has been much better than ASUS. Here we are mostly at the mercy of Shamino to release new BIOS versions and there isnt much communication.

    Good luck!
    Thanks for the input Its quite sad that we only have to rely on Shamino ( I use a Asus Z170 board ) They need more people working on BIOS version.. However, Shamino is doing a great job considering!

  10. #540
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Quote Originally Posted by TechyInAZ View Post
    memtest86 is a good start.

    If that's stable, and you want to further insure stability. Run Prime95 with 512k small FFTs and 50% of your RAM. (make sure blend mode is pre-selected.)
    Thanks for the reply. I started out with the memtest that's included with the DRAM Calculator, 6 instances ob 2200mb unused memory and the 3600 CL14 got around 100 errors all together at 20% coverage, so yeah that one will need some work for anything else than a 3Dmark points boost.
    The 3200 CL14 fast setup got a BSOD even before i could start the memtest instances lol.
    The 3200 CL14 safe setup didn't get any errors with 130% coverage, so it seems that will be my daily one and substitute for DOCP.

    Will need to get a decent USB drive to make a bootable memtest86 if needed, also yet to do the prime95 test.

Page 54 of 111 FirstFirst ... 4 44 52 53 54 55 56 64 104 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •