Page 102 of 111 FirstFirst ... 2 52 92 100 101 102 103 104 ... LastLast
Results 1,011 to 1,020 of 1108
  1. #1011
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by mito1172 View Post
    If you're talking about the latest bios 7501 it is already problematic. Even in the 3rd series
    Techy is saying that there is no gains for 1st or 2nd gen with the newer bios. You are better sticking to an older bios with 1.0.0.6.

    It is irrelevant that 3rd gen is problematic when you don't have a 3rd gen CPU. If 3rd gen is having issues, then 1st gen isn't going to be any better. The newer bios also cut out most of the options in AMD CBS for 1st and 2nd gen. These newer bios have also brought back the cold boot bug and fan issues. So not sure why you would want to regress your 1st gen CPU.

    TLDR: Either use a older better/stable bios or upgrade to a 3rd gen. A 3600 can be picked up cheap and outperform a 1800X in cinebench and other apps. Gaming performance is another level

  2. #1012
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Just got my 3700X, i take these boost values are ok for 1.0.0.3 ABBA (probably shouldn't expect more cores to reach advertised 4.4ghz)? Nothing done in BIOS on the CPU side, everything default/auto currently.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3700x.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	156.2 KB 
ID:	82100

  3. #1013
    New ROGer Array EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VII x470/MSI Godlike x570
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X/3900X/3950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill FlareX 3800 14-16-14-16-26 CR1)
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1070Ti Titanium EK WB
    Graphics Card #21080Ti EK WB
    MonitorMSI Optix 32"
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro + Alphacool XT45 360 + D5 + HW Labs GTX480 + HW Labs GTX420
    CaseFully custom
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-650T
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    EZ_PC_TECH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Post This

    Quote Originally Posted by mito1172 View Post
    I guess you're kidding. Even in the 3000 series, this bios is problematic
    He is right. You don't need anything later than 1.0.0.6
    I had a rock-solid system with R5 2600X and 1006 AGESA. My ram was running at 3666 and I had a nice CPU OC. 0 BSODs or other problems. Many manufacturers said the same, so all your issues are consequences of your enthusiasm.

  4. #1014
    New ROGer Array EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VII x470/MSI Godlike x570
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X/3900X/3950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill FlareX 3800 14-16-14-16-26 CR1)
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1070Ti Titanium EK WB
    Graphics Card #21080Ti EK WB
    MonitorMSI Optix 32"
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro + Alphacool XT45 360 + D5 + HW Labs GTX480 + HW Labs GTX420
    CaseFully custom
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-650T
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    EZ_PC_TECH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by igralec84 View Post
    Just got my 3700X, i take these boost values are ok for 1.0.0.3 ABBA (probably shouldn't expect more cores to reach advertised 4.4ghz)? Nothing done in BIOS on the CPU side, everything default/auto currently.
    Glad that you got it finally. Yes, this is what I got too. 3 cores to 4425, 3 cores to 4375, and 2 cores 4350. With Gupsterg's mod based on 2501 I had 4 or even 5 cores boosting to 4400, but despite the frequency was higher, the performance was lower.
    Most importantly - how is your stability?

  5. #1015
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Quote Originally Posted by EZ_PC_TECH View Post
    Glad that you got it finally. Yes, this is what I got too. 3 cores to 4425, 3 cores to 4375, and 2 cores 4350. With Gupsterg's mod based on 2501 I had 4 or even 5 cores boosting to 4400, but despite the frequency was higher, the performance was lower.
    Most importantly - how is your stability?
    Great, so boost is good now.
    I haven't had a BSOD since Saturday when i switched to Ryzen Balanced plan with freshly installed chipset drivers with the 3600X, i'm now currently on 2133 RAM but will load up the 3200 CL14 for daily use now and use 3600 CL14 for 3Dmark points boost, maybe even try the 3600 CL16 1.35v for daily use, that's supposed to be as stable as 3200 CL14. And will see if the BSODs return then.

    EDIT: done some quick 3Dmark runs with all core 4.35ghz @ 1.4v and a manual 3200 CL14, quite satisfied so far, still have a lot of reserve (3-4°C lower room temp, 3600 CL14 profile and 100% fan speed all the time). 4.4ghz will probably be possible between 1.45v and 1.48v, but just for benchmark use, don't really OC for anything else manually. Noticed the CPU is quite new, 1930SUS so end of July if i'm not mistaken.
    Last edited by igralec84; 09-30-2019 at 07:49 PM.

  6. #1016
    New ROGer Array EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    EZ_PC_TECH PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VII x470/MSI Godlike x570
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X/3900X/3950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill FlareX 3800 14-16-14-16-26 CR1)
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1070Ti Titanium EK WB
    Graphics Card #21080Ti EK WB
    MonitorMSI Optix 32"
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro + Alphacool XT45 360 + D5 + HW Labs GTX480 + HW Labs GTX420
    CaseFully custom
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime SSR-650T
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    EZ_PC_TECH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Jesus... Now I have this issue with the latest BIOS: The platform firmware has corrupted memory across the previous system power transition. Please check for updated firmware for your system.
    Windows blames BIOS in crashes/issues related to waking up from S3 state.

  7. #1017
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Waking up from sleep has always been problematic for me, at first i suspected BSODs from that.

    Anyway had a BSOD while i was taking a shower, got back to it and it was frozen so it couldn't even display the BSOD sentence correctly and didn't leave a minidump, also didn't restart so no idea what happened.
    Might have to double check the 3200 cl14 safe manual profile or raise SOC and VDDP voltage as i tried the lowest ones, 975 SOC and 700 VDDP. Since 2133 worked for 3 days, it must be the RAM OC, although maybe it would be best to fresh install chipset drivers again for the new CPU. Or maybe needs some more memory training as it only got one run with this setting.

    Sometimes i really wonder if this BIOS saves everything you change or uses the values you put in.
    Last edited by igralec84; 09-30-2019 at 09:39 PM.

  8. #1018
    New ROGer Array Diskach PC Specs
    Diskach PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI HERO
    ProcessorRyzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)Aegis 3000 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI Gaming GTX 970
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorDell P2414H
    Storage #1Adata Sx8200 Pro 512 nvme
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 256g + Crucial MX500 1tb
    CPU CoolerThermalright Macho rev B
    CaseCM Advanced 2 White
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 450W
    Keyboard MS keyboard 600 White
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 X1 Gamepad with dongle
    Diskach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by igralec84 View Post
    Waking up from sleep has always been problematic for me, at first i suspected BSODs from that.

    Anyway had a BSOD while i was taking a shower, got back to it and it was frozen so it couldn't even display the BSOD sentence correctly and didn't leave a minidump, also didn't restart so no idea what happened.
    Might have to double check the 3200 cl14 safe manual profile or raise SOC and VDDP voltage as i tried the lowest ones, 975 SOC and 700 VDDP. Since 2133 worked for 3 days, it must be the RAM OC, although maybe it would be best to fresh install chipset drivers again for the new CPU. Or maybe needs some more memory training as it only got one run with this setting.

    Sometimes i really wonder if this BIOS saves everything you change or uses the values you put in.
    Try setting everything at default except RAM, for RAM use DOCP (and you can give it some more juice, 1.37-1.39V; to Ram, not CPU). Also, because of all the BSODs, maybe your win installation is corrupted.
    Open elevated Powershell (as Admin) and type: ''DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth''. After that's completed type ''sfc /scannow''.
    All without quotes.
    That should repair your win installation, you can also reinstall win from scratch.

  9. #1019
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    The last bios 7501 solves the fan problem?
    It is not indicated in the changelog.

  10. #1020
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    83

    Quote Originally Posted by Diskach View Post
    Try setting everything at default except RAM, for RAM use DOCP (and you can give it some more juice, 1.37-1.39V; to Ram, not CPU). Also, because of all the BSODs, maybe your win installation is corrupted.
    Open elevated Powershell (as Admin) and type: ''DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth''. After that's completed type ''sfc /scannow''.
    All without quotes.
    That should repair your win installation, you can also reinstall win from scratch.
    I tried all that in the last month and a half, even with no errors or corruption and also no memory errors in tests, i was getting 2-4 BSODs per day on idle. Switching to Ryzen Balanced plan stopped them, maybe staying at 2133 RAM also helped, now i'm back to 3200 CL14 with manual timings.

    How much stuff from the Ryzen Calculator do you guys put it except the timings, SOC + VDDP + VDDG + PLL voltages, command rate, power down, gear down and procODT? Do you have to also set the RTT and CAD_BUS stuff?

    In 3Dmark, it seems all core 4400 is stable (well doesn't crash, i'm sure prime95 or cinebench would) at 1.4v, that's pretty good although not for regular use of course.

Page 102 of 111 FirstFirst ... 2 52 92 100 101 102 103 104 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •