Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jackwolfskins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Hello, i want to report that 4 samples of this card here in Portugal show the same problem 110cº on vrm stock settings, our ambiant temperatures here in the summer are relativly high, iam afraid this will not even be possible to run it in the summer. Will it be qualified has a defect and will we be able to get replacement card ? Ive got one ordered and will arrive tomorow ill post my experience in the next 2 days.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array Vrwings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Can we get a more complete description of the cooling setup?

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Area 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    2,276

    Quote Originally Posted by Vrwings View Post
    Can we get a more complete description of the cooling setup?
    Do you have a photo, I don’t see how you can fit 3 x 3 slots GPU on this board without seriously affect the cooling

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR@ASUS View Post
    Dear R3ZN0R,

    Where else have you read about 'an overheating issue' because this is the first we have heard of this. RD is now testing your situation to see if they can replicate the issue. The VRMs are overspeced with a design to run cooler than the stock card.

    Are you sure the lowest card is getting enough air? What temperature does it run at versus the other cards in your case? Have you tried swapping around the cards to see if it's just an issue with that slot or that particular card?
    whole thread

    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1670759&page=13

    a lot of single cards too are having hot 100c+ vrm's

    hope there is a fix newegg just shipped my two
    Last edited by bill_d; 03-07-2012 at 07:51 AM.

  5. #15
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Thanks for the link, I've sent it to RD and the product managers directly for them to read.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array DougOtt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    With three ASUS HD7970-DC2T cards, you must be inserting them in slots 1, 3 and 6 of the RIVE MOBO, so there would be less air getting to cards one and two as there are no free PCI-e slots between cards one and two, and cards two and three. I guess this isn't a problem for you though as you said it appears it was the third card, probably in slot 6, that was not working properly. You were very fortunate to get three of these cards when it seem that nobody can get one at this time! Hopefully you will solve the problem with ASUS support looking into it. I wonder why there is such a scarce supply of these cards as I believe there are many people who want to get one, including me! BUt I am concerned about them due to the issues identified on other sites.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array DougOtt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    And there is also this link that describes a probelm with the HD-7950 which has many people wondering about the HD7970-DC2T.:

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1220328/b...i-fault-report

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have a single DC2T @ 1225/7000 (heavily over-volted) and I have never seen the temp go past 64c while playing BF3. At stock clocks the card never goes past 52c. VRM's stay at a constant 70-71c at the most. OP must have gotten a bad batch..
    Last edited by madvoltz_420; 03-09-2012 at 08:17 AM.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    is anyone using a DCUII at 2560x1600 with the the DVI-D duel link port

    both of my DCUII are artifacting in 2d and 3d and system bios, each separate or together in cfx
    but it is only very small sparkles and lines in some few colors on screen and not in others and if you move the window around artifacting moves with it

    i have replaced PSU to a
    CORSAIR Professional Series HX1050
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139034
    and still does it
    i have tried other dvi cables, cables and monitor are working fine with my HP LP3065 with a 4890 and my two 6970's

    the only thing i can think of is the non-standard DVI-D port on these cards is not pushing full 2560x1600

    or is there a bios or setting i should try on my R4E MB
    or is there a new card bios that would fix this


    everything is running at stock clocks
    i ordered
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815158198
    to try to come from a DisplayPort

    i hook them up to my tv at 1080p and they work fine at 1080p no artifacting at all

    so it look like these cards just do not like 2560x1600 from the dvi-d anyway

    and i still don't know why 60% of the artifacting goes away after it warms up some after it's been off for 1+ hours

    update
    the dvi-d ports on this thing just can not handle 2560x1600
    i found that i could not shift to a resolution lower than 1080p
    3dmark11 on performance would go to a black screen with flashes of what looked like running a 30" screen on a single link

    this adapter

    StarTech DisplayPort to DVI Dual Link Active Converter – USB Powered DP2DVID DisplayPort to DVI Interface
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815158198
    did fix it i'm now getting no artifacting and can switch to a lower resolution
    Last edited by bill_d; 03-15-2012 at 05:15 AM.

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Seems my skyrim issues with freezing are skyrim related not vrm related so i apolagise about that. The hardocp thread is the main one i fiund plus the 7950 related issues. I sent my card in as an RMA. They said they have no problem with it and since i got it back ive had no major issues with it either so i dont know what the problem is or was.

    The vrms on my top card hits over 100 in most cases with fans on auto.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20120228_115110.jpg 
Views:	767 
Size:	784.5 KB 
ID:	6879

    there is a 200mm fan at bottom and 3 120mm fans at front with nothing blocking them.
    Last edited by r3zn0r; 03-14-2012 at 08:11 PM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •