Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Hack0017 PC Specs
    Hack0017 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardROG Maximus VII Hero
    Processori7-4770k
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10Q-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 780 Ti DirectCU II OC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GTX 780 Ti DirectCU II OC
    MonitorDell U2713HM
    CPU CoolerLEPA LPWAC240-HF
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech Performance MX
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion® 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    Network RouterRT-AC68U

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Does the G752vy support 2.5" 15mm thickness HDD?

    The laptop comes with a 1TB HGST HDD 2.5" 9.5mm drive. I want to know if a 2.5" 15mm HDD would fit in the drive bay. I contacted ASUS support but
    they were not able to help me at all. They didnt even know the size of the drive that was in the laptop (pretty damn sad for customer support). Has anyone
    checked if its possible?? I want to upgrade the 1TB drive to a 2,3, or 4TB.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,186

    No I think Asus is moving away from Standard hard drives and the 9.5mm thickness is max. The M.2 SSD are replacing hard drives/SSD in 2.5" format. It might be possible to put it in a Optical Drive caddy if someone can verify that chime in I don't think so however.
    The best way to have larger hard drive is to use External USB 3.0 hard drives I belive WD has a passport in 3TB capacity and small package no power supply needed.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Hack0017 PC Specs
    Hack0017 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardROG Maximus VII Hero
    Processori7-4770k
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10Q-16GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 780 Ti DirectCU II OC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GTX 780 Ti DirectCU II OC
    MonitorDell U2713HM
    CPU CoolerLEPA LPWAC240-HF
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech Performance MX
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion® 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    Network RouterRT-AC68U

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I know that seagate has a 2TB drive that is 2.5" at 9.5mm, but Seagate is not a reliable brand. Is there any other drives that are at least 2TB at 9.5mm
    but from a better brand?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,186

    Goggle is your friend

    I found this one only 7mm thick and 4 TB

    Edit wrong link try this link much more affordable 860 EVO 256gB through 4 TB
    Last edited by Clintlgm; 09-07-2019 at 09:18 PM.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    141

    I think its possible you can make it work;

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    There are other alternatives but a 15mm drive is not going to fit.

    I have 2 M2 512GB in Raid 0 then another 1TB 850 EVO SSD for a total of 2TB which I find to be overkill already. Cant imagine putting a 4TB spinner in especially when any SATA SSD outperforms them by 5X. All my media that takes up a lot of space resides on my NAS that has 5 6TB drives and can be connected into from anywhere on the planet. With internet speeds being what they are today I have no problems streaming HD videos off my NAS from 5000 miles away.
    Then there is also the option of external USB drives, have several of those in 2TB size.

    Brands are all a choice. I hear people knocking on Seagate drives but I have some news for you. Go into any enterprise data center and thats all you see by the hundreds of thousands. Seagate everywhere. I have 10TB of seagate drives in my Desktop that have been running strong for 8 years now without a problem. Ive had the exact opposite luck with drives. Ive tried WD drives, even paid the extra for the enterprise WD red pros for my NAS. Within a year every one of them died, no warning just died. I replaced them all with Seagates.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    141

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    There are other alternatives but a 15mm drive is not going to fit.

    I have 2 M2 512GB in Raid 0 then another 1TB 850 EVO SSD for a total of 2TB which I find to be overkill already. Cant imagine putting a 4TB spinner in especially when any SATA SSD outperforms them by 5X. All my media that takes up a lot of space resides on my NAS that has 5 6TB drives and can be connected into from anywhere on the planet. With internet speeds being what they are today I have no problems streaming HD videos off my NAS from 5000 miles away.
    Then there is also the option of external USB drives, have several of those in 2TB size.

    Brands are all a choice. I hear people knocking on Seagate drives but I have some news for you. Go into any enterprise data center and thats all you see by the hundreds of thousands. Seagate everywhere. I have 10TB of seagate drives in my Desktop that have been running strong for 8 years now without a problem. Ive had the exact opposite luck with drives. Ive tried WD drives, even paid the extra for the enterprise WD red pros for my NAS. Within a year every one of them died, no warning just died. I replaced them all with Seagates.
    Seagates are good harddrives; I've owned plenty and never had one failed on me yet.

    I think the entire point of going with an HDD Spinner is cost; its just so much cheaper to have more storage on an HDD than on a SSD. A 2TB SSD cost nearly 6 times more than a 2TB HDD. So I can see why it makes sense to go with an HDD.

    The last time I opened up my back access panel I've come to find that the HDD compartment has plenty of space left before it even touches the rear cover. I am confident its doable. Although if your going to use the OEM drive cage; you probably will have to get longer screws to attach the drive to the laptop because with the 15mm height the drive cage may not sit flush.


    With USB 3 - using external hard drives are no longer really a bottleneck at all; You'll get 100mbs+ Read and 100mbs+ Write(Probably a little less) It comes close to the internal HDD sata speeds. HDD's are just slow but they prove still the cheapest storage options.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by httuner View Post
    I think its possible you can make it work;
    You can't. The G752v* will not take 15mm HDD as the front wall of the HDD bay has 10mm height. So unless you are planing on not using back cover at all or using some custom one you make, it can not be done easily.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •