Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array npapanik PC Specs
    npapanik PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus PRIME X470-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair VENGEANCE LPX (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Tri-X Radeon R9 FURY
    MonitorDell SE2717H
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 500Gb
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCoolermaster CM 690 II (ver.2)
    Power SupplyCoolermaster Silent Pro M850W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate 2014
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset Razer Electra v2 USB
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterSynology RT2600ac

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    36

    PRIME X470-PRO BIOS 5204 & PBO settings - BUG??

    In the latest BIOS 5204 there are two different group settings for Precision Boost Overdrive (PBO), one located under "AI Tweaker" and the other under "Advanced -> AMD Overclocking". The weird thing is that if you change the value in one (eg Enable PBO), in the other menu it does not change! What gives?
    I don't know what happened with previous BIOSes since I just got the board. Running a R5 3600. Check the images attached.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1321.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	455.8 KB 
ID:	81261

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1322.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	524.1 KB 
ID:	81262

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array npapanik PC Specs
    npapanik PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus PRIME X470-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair VENGEANCE LPX (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Tri-X Radeon R9 FURY
    MonitorDell SE2717H
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 500Gb
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCoolermaster CM 690 II (ver.2)
    Power SupplyCoolermaster Silent Pro M850W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate 2014
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset Razer Electra v2 USB
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterSynology RT2600ac

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    36

    Installed the latest BIOS 5216, exactly the same menus. I have verified with Ryzen Master that only the one under AI Tweaker works, all the others do nothing!

    Also with PBO set to "Advanced", "Motherboard", "10x", "200MHz" respectively I get the following with Prime95 max heat stress test:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hwinfo.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	132.5 KB 
ID:	81816
    Last edited by npapanik; 09-12-2019 at 09:42 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Hello,

    I am having/ seeing the same behavior.
    I have another question though.. were you able to increase PPT above 88 ? no matter hwta i do it stioll maxes to 88 ( the other values max to 255)

    i have the same board and cpu.

    Christian
    Last edited by christizzz; 09-14-2019 at 06:56 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array npapanik PC Specs
    npapanik PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus PRIME X470-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair VENGEANCE LPX (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Tri-X Radeon R9 FURY
    MonitorDell SE2717H
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 500Gb
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCoolermaster CM 690 II (ver.2)
    Power SupplyCoolermaster Silent Pro M850W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate 2014
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset Razer Electra v2 USB
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterSynology RT2600ac

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by christizzz View Post
    Hello,

    I am having/ seeing the same behavior.
    I have another question though.. were you able to increase PPT above 88 ? no matter hwta i do it stioll maxes to 88 ( the other values max to 255)

    i have the same board and cpu.

    Christian
    I thought it was only me that I couldn't understand Asus mess!!! Thank you Christian!

    Just noticed they have removed "motherboard" from the settings I have noted above in the new BIOS!!!

    New settings that work below:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	483.6 KB 
ID:	81899

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Webp.net-resizeimage (1).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	434.1 KB 
ID:	81900

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Webp.net-resizeimage (2).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	429.2 KB 
ID:	81901

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	109.3 KB 
ID:	81902

    Nikos
    Last edited by npapanik; 09-15-2019 at 04:03 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    ok..thanks..but it is kinda weird.. i cna only max PPT in ryzen master only if i put it enabled in pbo under ai tweaker.. thats ankther thing i dont get.. why do i have PBO settings in 2 different locations under my Bios...

    sometimes messing around in RM and rebooting and messing around in bios will kill my asmedia usb 😀 (disconnect sound under windiws)... the settings are weird.. so i disbaled PBO (put it back to auto everywhere)... i think it is broken..

    another question though..does your motherboard tests the cpu fan at start up (post)..mine will turn..stop for 1-2 seconds then turns back on normally.. (air cooling)

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array npapanik PC Specs
    npapanik PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus PRIME X470-PRO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3600
    Memory (part number)Corsair VENGEANCE LPX (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Tri-X Radeon R9 FURY
    MonitorDell SE2717H
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 500Gb
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCoolermaster CM 690 II (ver.2)
    Power SupplyCoolermaster Silent Pro M850W
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate 2014
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset Razer Electra v2 USB
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterSynology RT2600ac

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    36

    Quote Originally Posted by christizzz View Post
    ok..thanks..but it is kinda weird.. i cna only max PPT in ryzen master only if i put it enabled in pbo under ai tweaker.. thats ankther thing i dont get.. why do i have PBO settings in 2 different locations under my Bios...

    sometimes messing around in RM and rebooting and messing around in bios will kill my asmedia usb 😀 (disconnect sound under windiws)... the settings are weird.. so i disbaled PBO (put it back to auto everywhere)... i think it is broken..

    another question though..does your motherboard tests the cpu fan at start up (post)..mine will turn..stop for 1-2 seconds then turns back on normally.. (air cooling)
    Mine does the same.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •