Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Saikamaldoss PC Specs
    Saikamaldoss PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorAMD RyZen 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZ X 2Kits 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Vega64 - XSPC Vega Block
    MonitorLG 4K 27UD69P-W, Samsung 65 KS8000
    Storage #1Samsun 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2Segate 3TB & Segate 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO - XSPC 360mm 75CFM x3 2900RPM
    CaseNZXT H440 CUSTOM MADE
    Power SupplyEVGA B 700W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    ASUS X570 CROSSHAIR HERO VIII Stuck in A8 password verification 1800x

    Hello Guys,

    I upgraded my motherboard from ASUS HERO VI for my 1800x as a placeholder for 3950x and it booted up good and was working perfectly.

    I visited the website below and downloaded latest bios version 0803 and flashed it. after flash, computer is stuck in A8 error code (Password verification)
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...II-Hero-WI-FI/

    I have already tried using a 16 GB drive formatted in FAT32 and copied the bios file after renaming it to C8HW.CAP. put it in correct USB slot that says BIOS and held the bios button for 3 sec and I see the light blinking 3 times but then it will be stable meaning nothing is happening. Not sure what to try..

    Any suggestions ? IF nothing works I am planning to return this 375$ board for a MSI or something that will work. I should have stayed with 0590 or what ever it came with :/

    https://valid.x86.fr/5p4jds
    Last edited by Saikamaldoss; 08-07-2019 at 01:01 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Is this board even compatible with the 1800x? It only lists 2000 and 3000 series as supported!

    Quote Originally Posted by Saikamaldoss View Post
    Hello Guys,

    I upgraded my motherboard from ASUS HERO VI for my 1800x as a placeholder for 3950x and it booted up good and was working perfectly.

    I visited the website below and downloaded latest bios version 0803 and flashed it. after flash, computer is stuck in A8 error code (Password verification)
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...II-Hero-WI-FI/

    I have already tried using a 16 GB drive formatted in FAT32 and copied the bios file after renaming it to C8HW.CAP. put it in correct USB slot that says BIOS and held the bios button for 3 sec and I see the light blinking 3 times but then it will be stable meaning nothing is happening. Not sure what to try..

    Any suggestions ? IF nothing works I am planning to return this 375$ board for a MSI or something that will work. I should have stayed with 0590 or what ever it came with :/

    https://valid.x86.fr/5p4jds

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Saikamaldoss PC Specs
    Saikamaldoss PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorAMD RyZen 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZ X 2Kits 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Vega64 - XSPC Vega Block
    MonitorLG 4K 27UD69P-W, Samsung 65 KS8000
    Storage #1Samsun 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2Segate 3TB & Segate 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO - XSPC 360mm 75CFM x3 2900RPM
    CaseNZXT H440 CUSTOM MADE
    Power SupplyEVGA B 700W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Quote Originally Posted by magnusr View Post
    Is this board even compatible with the 1800x? It only lists 2000 and 3000 series as supported!
    It was working with stock bios I was playing division 2 for an hour or 2. So ya it is supported.

    it was working flawlessly with my CPU till I upgraded my bios. The best part was I was finally able to run my F4-3200C14D 64GB at 3200 14C. This is something to do with bios. Now it won’t do anything other then sitting at A8*

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array frkazid PC Specs
    frkazid PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Hero (WiFi) (0803)
    ProcessorAMD R5 3400G
    Memory (part number)F4-3466C16D-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX Vega 64 Red Devil
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseFractal Design R4
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G400s

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Then use flashback to 0702.

    If there is a steady light instead of a blinking one you should try another stick. Maybe it is broken.

    Keep in mind, that the C8H isn't compatible with Ryzen 1st gen.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Saikamaldoss PC Specs
    Saikamaldoss PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorAMD RyZen 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZ X 2Kits 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Vega64 - XSPC Vega Block
    MonitorLG 4K 27UD69P-W, Samsung 65 KS8000
    Storage #1Samsun 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2Segate 3TB & Segate 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO - XSPC 360mm 75CFM x3 2900RPM
    CaseNZXT H440 CUSTOM MADE
    Power SupplyEVGA B 700W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Quote Originally Posted by frkazid View Post
    Then use flashback to 0702.

    If there is a steady light instead of a blinking one you should try another stick. Maybe it is broken.

    Keep in mind, that the C8H isn't compatible with Ryzen 1st gen.
    I tried both bios and both failed. Won’t boot. A8...

    Not compatible ?? How did it woke with out of the box bios ? So you mean to say ASUS is blocking it now with new bios ? They will lose customers. That is all.* because I can simply use my x370 and upgrade to 3900x... I will be happy and AMD will win as I Will buy 3900x.. what about ASUS ?? Lol that is a no brainer..*
    Last edited by Saikamaldoss; 08-07-2019 at 06:02 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Saikamaldoss View Post
    I tried both bios and both failed. Won’t boot. A8...

    Not compatible ?? How did it woke with out of the box bios ? So you mean to say ASUS is blocking it now with new bios ? They will lose customers. That is all.* because I can simply use my x370 and upgrade to 3900x... I will be happy and AMD will win as I Will buy 3900x.. what about ASUS ?? Lol that is a no brainer..*
    AMD themselves has listed that first gen ryzens would not be compatible with X570 boards. It maybe possible that it was working with an old beta bios, but it would not be officially supported. X570 has a set of features that may not be compatible with 1st gen (such as PCIE 4.0) that's why dropping support for it may be necessary.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Saikamaldoss PC Specs
    Saikamaldoss PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
    ProcessorAMD RyZen 1800x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZ X 2Kits 64GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Vega64 - XSPC Vega Block
    MonitorLG 4K 27UD69P-W, Samsung 65 KS8000
    Storage #1Samsun 960 Pro M.2
    Storage #2Segate 3TB & Segate 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO - XSPC 360mm 75CFM x3 2900RPM
    CaseNZXT H440 CUSTOM MADE
    Power SupplyEVGA B 700W
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Quote Originally Posted by mj_dijamco View Post
    AMD themselves has listed that first gen ryzens would not be compatible with X570 boards. It maybe possible that it was working with an old beta bios, but it would not be officially supported. X570 has a set of features that may not be compatible with 1st gen (such as PCIE 4.0) that's why dropping support for it may be necessary.
    Ok then I will return it and will try MSI.*

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array frkazid PC Specs
    frkazid PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Hero (WiFi) (0803)
    ProcessorAMD R5 3400G
    Memory (part number)F4-3466C16D-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX Vega 64 Red Devil
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseFractal Design R4
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G400s

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Saikamaldoss View Post
    Ok then I will return it and will try MSI.*
    That shouldn't work either. All X570 should be incompatible with the first generation Ryzen.

    You should check mj_dijamcos link again.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Saikamaldoss View Post
    Hello Guys,

    I upgraded my motherboard from ASUS HERO VI for my 1800x as a placeholder for 3950x and it booted up good and was working perfectly.

    I visited the website below and downloaded latest bios version 0803 and flashed it. after flash, computer is stuck in A8 error code (Password verification)
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...II-Hero-WI-FI/

    I have already tried using a 16 GB drive formatted in FAT32 and copied the bios file after renaming it to C8HW.CAP. put it in correct USB slot that says BIOS and held the bios button for 3 sec and I see the light blinking 3 times but then it will be stable meaning nothing is happening. Not sure what to try..

    Any suggestions ? IF nothing works I am planning to return this 375$ board for a MSI or something that will work. I should have stayed with 0590 or what ever it came with :/

    https://valid.x86.fr/5p4jds
    Exactly the same issue. Using 1800x and upgrade from CH6. Worked out of box on bios 0506. Ezupdate flashed to 0702. Q code A8.

    Compatible bios not avail to flash back.

    Waiting avail of 3950x.

    Returned to Amazon as bricked.

    Don't really want to get a 2nd gen as temp.

    Asus should make 0506 avail online with the understanding it allows 1st gen, but enhanced features missing.


    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...nning_on_x570/

    So it is choice of board vendors...make the right choice asus

    Unless someone can dump the ROM...😀
    Last edited by IIIISubzeroIIII; 08-08-2019 at 04:18 PM.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    i can confirm that i have the same issue like Saikamaldoss, i also opened a thread some days ago:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...i)-BIOS-Update

    it cant be that i doesn't word after the bios update. We need the Stock BIOS 0506!!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •