Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    x570 - ROG Crosshair VIII Hero - WOL

    Has anyone successfully gotten Wake on LAN to work with the x570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)? I just upgraded to a 3900x / Crosshair VIII setup coming from an Intell 6700k / ASUS Z170-A. The 6700k / Z170-A setup had zero problems with WOL when using TeamViewer to send the packet. However, I am having a very hard time getting this to work reliably on the new Ryzen setup. So far I have tried and confirmed the following:

    • WOL enabled in BIOS APM settings
    • WOL enabled on the Intel NIC in Windows
    • Disabled the power management features I could find on the NIC/BIOS
    • Disabled Fast Boot in Windows 10
    • Static IP assigned to NIC
    • Static IP also assigned in Router config (ASUS RT-AC88U)
    • All port forwarding still in place


    I've tried the above settings and many different combinations of those settings. The odd thing is that WOL very occasionally works, but usually only within a few minutes of placing my computer to sleep. After a period of hours, I am completely unable to wake the machine. In additional to trying the TeamViewer WOL, I've also tried the WOL option directly from the RT-AC88U.

    I'm at a bit of a loss here. I don't see anything in BIOS that I'm missing, I can't see that Windows or the NIC is configured differently than it was on my previous hardware. The only thing I can think is a BIOS issue or some other setting that I overlooked.

    I am using the Intel Gigabit NIC and I've tried the out-of-the-box drivers as well as updated to the most recent drivers. The only thing that I have left to try is the 2.5Gb Realtek NIC to see if it may be an Intel driver issue.

    I would be very appreciative of any insight or settings I may have missed from anyone who has gotten this working successfully.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Same issue. Can't get WOL to work correctly

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    41

    Does anything here help
    https://www.groovypost.com/howto/ena...an-windows-10/

    and i use this
    https://wol.aquilatech.com/

    I have always found I managed to miss something when I have had to set it up and takes few hours of frustration. Once it works it's great !

    Not needed this for my hero viii yet so not tried but my older vi hero works.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-03-2019 at 02:59 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •