Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro / Intel Core i7 5960x XMP not working

    Hello everyone!

    I'm running 32GB of Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro RAM with an intel Core i7 5960X on a Rampage V Extreme board (BIOS Version 3801)

    Without doing any overclocking, the RAM defaults to 2133Mhz.
    As the memory I bought is supposed to do 3200Mhz I enabled the XMP profile in the BIOS but sadly, my PC won't boot anymore. It gets stuck during POST on either Q-Code bf or bd.
    Did some research and cranked up my vCore and vSystemAgent but without any success. I also tried manually putting in the timings and vDRAM specified by Corsair but nothing changed either.

    Full disclaimer: I'm a complete newby to overclocking...

    Is someone running the same setup and would maybe like to share their settings with me? Maybe I'm doing something wrong / forgetting to set something important in the BIOS?

    If you need any further information please let me know.

    Any help would really be appreciated!

    Thanks in advance for your time

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array catch36 PC Specs
    catch36 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V USB 3.1
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32GB F4-2800C15Q-32GRBB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980 Ti
    Sound CardCreative ZxR
    MonitorDell 24" x 3 Surround
    Storage #1Samsung 830 Pro SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCooler Master Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA 220-P2-1200
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder Wired
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    OS Windows 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Snakebyte View Post
    Hello everyone!

    I'm running 32GB of Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro RAM with an intel Core i7 5960X on a Rampage V Extreme board (BIOS Version 3801)

    Without doing any overclocking, the RAM defaults to 2133Mhz.
    As the memory I bought is supposed to do 3200Mhz I enabled the XMP profile in the BIOS but sadly, my PC won't boot anymore. It gets stuck during POST on either Q-Code bf or bd.
    Did some research and cranked up my vCore and vSystemAgent but without any success. I also tried manually putting in the timings and vDRAM specified by Corsair but nothing changed either.

    Full disclaimer: I'm a complete newby to overclocking...

    Is someone running the same setup and would maybe like to share their settings with me? Maybe I'm doing something wrong / forgetting to set something important in the BIOS?

    If you need any further information please let me know.

    Any help would really be appreciated!

    Thanks in advance for your time
    Try enabling DRAM SPD Write in the DRAM timing control and keep XMP disabled. I was told by Corsair that their RGB memory was compatible with the x99 chipset but the above might allow you to boot with also manually setting the memory speed and timings.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array PipJones PC Specs
    PipJones PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850K @ 4500 CPU / 3900 Cache / AVX -2
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX1080ti FE with EK W/C
    MonitorIiyama G-Master GB2888UHSU
    Storage #1256Gb Samsung NVMe (MZ-V5P256BW)
    Storage #24x HGST HTS721010A9E630 1TB 2.5" 7K1000 SATA 3 7200rpm (RAID 10)
    CPU CoolerCustom EK Loop
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Raptor K30 Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB FPS Gaming Mouse
    OS Windows 10/64
    PipJones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Also try changing the "MODE" to 2 on the DRAM timing pane. There are 3x modes.

    I think it is something like ...

    MODE1 = Performance
    MODE2 = Compatibility
    MODE3 = I can't remember!

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by catch36 View Post
    Try enabling DRAM SPD Write in the DRAM timing control and keep XMP disabled. I was told by Corsair that their RGB memory was compatible with the x99 chipset but the above might allow you to boot with also manually setting the memory speed and timings.
    Quote Originally Posted by PipJones View Post
    Also try changing the "MODE" to 2 on the DRAM timing pane. There are 3x modes.

    I think it is something like ...

    MODE1 = Performance
    MODE2 = Compatibility
    MODE3 = I can't remember!
    Thank you both for your answers

    I have already enabled SPD Write as it is needed to configure the LEDs.
    I've fiddled with the whole problem a bit and found out that i can do almost everything (changing timing / voltage) and boot to Windows without problems. As soon as i set a DRAM Speed high enough though, probably above 2400Mhz, my PC won't boot. I've tried a tiny increment from 2133 to 2200 and that worked fine although the RAM timings went down the drain.

    Could you maybe specify the exact settings i need to change in order to manually set the XMP values? (might changed something wrong / forgot something while trying manual OC)
    What I'm changing at the moment:
    CAS#Latency
    RAS# to CAS#
    RAS# Precharge
    tRAS

    vDRAM CHA/B
    vDRAM CHC/D

    DRAM Frequency

    Do I need to change anything else?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array CMDRZOD PC Specs
    CMDRZOD PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 6950x 4.3Ghz 1.3V
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 32GB 3200Mhz 13-13-13-32 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #2Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #3Aorus HB SLI Bridge RGB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek HD Audio
    MonitorUN65HU9000 4k TV with SEK-3500
    Storage #1RAID 0 4x 4TB Seagate Blue SSHD
    Storage #2Intel 750 PCIE 1.2TB NVME
    CPU CoolerEK Monoblock
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum M10 Doublewide
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500Axi
    Keyboard Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Mouse Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Headset Astro Gaming A50 wireless
    Mouse Pad Minecraft pad!
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 THX 300 watt using optical output
    OS Win 10 64 FCU
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U Merlin FW
    Accessory #1 Club3D DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 Active converter for TV
    Accessory #2 Phanteks PWM Fan Controller x2
    Accessory #3 Upgraded OC Front panel

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    You'll also want to be looking at System Agent voltage as well. There are guides on this site as well as other places on the internet. I've never had an XMP setting work out of the box. I always manually tweak until I find the max my processor can handle reliably.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    307

    Hi,
    All depends on the memory set bought
    3200C14 would likely work where as 3200C16 would be lucky to post to bios or os at all

    Been there 3200C16 wouldn't even post where as 3200C14 is the bomb

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232348

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •