Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    ROG MAXIMUS XI GENE on Windows7

    Hello, I am using the current z390 ROG MAXIMUS XI GENE. I have heard that Windows 7 is the best way to use Geekbench 3 though I'm usually using Windows 10. Again, please tell me in detail how to install Windows 7 and what you need. Also, if you can create a Windows 7 SSD, can you continue to switch between Windows 10 and Windows 7 by simply replacing the SSD with the OS in the same mother? Please forgive me that it may be difficult to understand by translating from Japanese

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB & 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    148

    Seems like you deleted your previous post in the 2 yr necro and made t his new one. Answer is the same.

    u don't. That board does not have (official) driver support for anything other than Windows 10. Oh and btw there's no such thing as a "windows 7 SSD". An SSD is a type of hard disk. Dual booting can be done on the same hard drive, no need to swap discs out. That said, doesn't change the fact that that board is NOT have (official) driver support for anything else than Win 10.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    thank you for your polite response
    But I want to hear from people other than you

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,412

    You can definitely switch OS by swapping drives. That might be the simplest method. It's not too hard to install multiple OS's on the same drive and use a boot loader menu to switch though. That way doesn't require any hardware swapping.

    As for Win 7, ASUS doesn't provide any drivers. Getting it to work is going to be very difficult, if not impossible. My recommendation would be to try running Geekbench on Linux. I've heard you can get higher scores than Windows and distros like Ubuntu aren't difficult to use.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    43

    There are no Win7 USB drivers for Z390.
    Intel has never supported Z390 on Win7, and older drivers (Z270/Z370) are not compatible.

    Thus, you have only two options:
    1) Use a PS/2 keyboard/mouse
    2) Install a PCIe-to-USB 3.0 adapter card

    #1 should work out of the box.
    #2 requires you to slipstream the USB driver (usually ASMedia, Renesas, or VIA) onto your Win7 install media. You can Google search to find many tutorials on how to do that.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    GENE has one PS2 port
    If you connect a mouse and keyboard using a distribution cable, you can use Windows 7 installation media.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    277

    Hi,
    10 drivers will likely work on win--7
    Problem is there is not win-7 driver section in the driver
    Little samurai skill needed
    https://www.sevenforums.com/installa...s-new-mbs.html

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...n-Threadripper


    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8VTC4k6SLWY
    Last edited by ThrashZone; 08-16-2019 at 02:51 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I do n’t know at all
    No one tells me more

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB & 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    148

    because you can't. There's no driver support? What more do you expect us to tell you. It was already not very easy on Z170 chipset.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    My board is ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI GENE

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •