Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Slow Ethernet – ROG HERO XI and Windows 10 Pro (No GameFirst)

    Hi,

    I have a new build using a ROG HERO XI, 9900K and Windows 10 Pro.

    I’m having some challenges getting a consistent download speed on the built in Intel Ethernet i219-V. My internet provider download speed is rated at 300Mbps, and I’m getting anywhere from 90-160Mbps or so on a wired connection (CAT 6).

    Other PCs on the same network get 300+Mbps on a wired connection. I have also swapped my CAT 6 cable to one that I know to be working.
    From reading previous posts, the first suggestion seems to be to uninstall GameFirst. I’ve actually never installed that utility, and I can’t seem to find it in my program files. But I have installed AI Suite 3.

    I’ve also installed the 3 different Intel Gigabit Ethernet drivers from the Asus support web page (12.17.10.7, 12.18.8.9, 12.18.9.7) I have also installed the driver direct from the Intel web page (12.18.9.8).

    Could I have misconfigured something in my bios?

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by Knowthenazz; 08-16-2019 at 02:14 AM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Update:

    So, I uninstalled the Network adapter in Windows 10, Device manager, and then rebooted. It detected the Network adapter and installed a driver (12.18.9.8) for it.

    So I'm able to get the 300+Mbps now that I'm rated for after I boot, but it only lasts for about a day, or until I reboot again. My speed slowly seems to degrade to that 90-160Mbps speed and stays there as time passes, until I reboot again.

    Does anyone have any ideas what's going on?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    56

    What router and are you running QoS on that router?
    Could be drivers, double check when it slows down what drivers are running.
    Also when it slows down run Lan speed test to another PC in the network. That will prove or disprove the connectivity. Iff you get consistent results within the network its not the network connection.
    Check the attributes of your port for packet size etc.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJohnny View Post
    What router and are you running QoS on that router?
    Could be drivers, double check when it slows down what drivers are running.
    Also when it slows down run Lan speed test to another PC in the network. That will prove or disprove the connectivity. Iff you get consistent results within the network its not the network connection.
    Check the attributes of your port for packet size etc.

    Hi BigJohny,

    Thanks for your response.

    My router is a Netgear R7000P. I’m got DD-WRT installed on it, and I don’t have any kind of QoS enabled on it. And as I said previously, other computers on the same network, get 300+ easily.

    I do have a Lan speed test setup on the server on that subet, and when I have degraded performance, I’m getting about 60-70% of my original performance. So roughly the same as my ISP download rate performance reduction.

    In the Network Adapter properties, I have made the following changes:

    -Energy Efficient Ethernet: Off
    -Speed & Duplex: 1.0 Gbps Full Duplex
    -System Idle Power Saver: Disabled
    -Moderation Rate: Minimal
    -Jumbo Frames: Enabled
    -Transmit / Receive Buffers: Both increased to 2048


    The Transmit / Receive Buffer size increased seems to have made the biggest change. I seem to be consistently getting in the mid to high 200’s now, even when I have the performance reduction. One thing that I did notice is that my ping increases with my performance degrades, even on my local subnet (from about 3ms to 10+ms)..

    What packet size changes do you recommend?

    Thanks a lot!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    365

    It sounds like something is hung up in your network stack.

    We could try to analyze the network stack if you can post the results of the, 'ipconfig /all' command typed into a command prompt.

    It will look similar to the results below. Use this command> ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ROB-DESKTOP-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : san.rr.com

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : san.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-24-AF-36-21-B9
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2942:8805:30f7:3aa0%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.199(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, August 23, 2019 7:01:33 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 29, 2155 5:09:00 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 494412975
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-22-6F-03-FC-78-24-AF-36-21-B9
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 1:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-AF-F7-77-45-AD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : san.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link DWA-140 RangeBooster N USB Adapter(rev.B2)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-AF-F7-77-45-AB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::91:2197:212e:e993%5(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.192(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, August 23, 2019 7:01:36 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, August 24, 2019 7:01:36 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 186429431
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-22-6F-03-FC-78-24-AF-36-21-B9
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    This does not give away your WAN ip address.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    It sounds like something is hung up in your network stack.

    We could try to analyze the network stack if you can post the results of the, 'ipconfig /all' command typed into a command prompt.

    It will look similar to the results below. Use this command> ipconfig /all



    This does not give away your WAN ip address.




    Hi chevell65

    Thanks for chiming in!

    My computer is in a relatively healthy state right now. My ISP download is 300+, but my local speed test ping is around 7ms (at it’s lowest, it’s around 3ms).

    Here are the results of an: ipconfig /all


    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ISP_Provider.net

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ISP_Provider.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (7) I219-V
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 04-D4-C4-52-BB-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::70d0:7eae:8bf1:0000%17(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.9.77(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : August 23, 2019 2:21:27 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : September 29, 2155 9:53:29 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.9.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.9.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 302306500
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-24-8C-F3-A1-04-D4-C4-52-BB-00
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.9.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled



    Thanks again!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    365

    Nothing strange here.

    Have you tried using a different DNS server besides using your ISP's DNS server?

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by chevell65 View Post
    Nothing strange here.

    Have you tried using a different DNS server besides using your ISP's DNS server?

    Hi,

    Thanks for your response.

    I have tried using different DNS servers such as OpenDNS and Google.

    Yeah it's really odd. It just happened to me again after 2 days of uptime, and I was getting 50 or down. But once I rebooted, I was once again getting 300+.

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •