Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Asus ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (Wi-Fi) x570 won't POST Q-Code "8d" - intermittent

    Hi Guys

    My new system intermittently turns on, though does not POST. Q-Code: 8d, Q-LED: DRAM (yellow) - according to manual. Occurs every 1-2 out of 5 boot attempts. Issue is usually overcome by turning system off and on again.

    Changed Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO DDR4 3200 CL16 memory for equivalent Kingston HyperX Predator RGB (HX432C16PB3A/8), the latter which is listed as officially supported memory according to QVL online.

    I have seen several reports online from other affected users with the same issue > https://www.reddit.com/r/ASUS/comments/cgmlmw/qcode_8d/ and https://www.reddit.com/r/ASUS/commen.../?ref=readnext.

    Does anyone know if there is an underlying issue (perhaps BIOS)? Thank you in advance.

    Regards,
    CTV
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 8d.jpg  

    Last edited by charltvisser; 08-18-2019 at 09:54 AM. Reason: Wrong attachment

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    i'm having the same problem

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Did you fix it ?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by zekikosiff View Post
    Did you fix it ?
    Without going into too much details, I was given this advice to try out:

    "8d can be related to Fabric AKA FCLK instability. Can manually try to set VDDG voltage to 1.0v to see and SOC voltage to 1.15v to see if this helps"

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Polder33 PC Specs
    Polder33 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)HX432C16PB3AK2/16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Super 8GB Gaming OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB M.2
    Storage #2Crucial M4 512GB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseBe Quiet Silent Base 801 Window
    Power SupplyCorsair HX Series HX850 V2
    Keyboard Logitech G13 & G19
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Astro A50
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z623 Speakers
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I'm having the same Kingston HyperX Predator RGB HX432C16PB3A/2x8 memory, none WiFi Croshair VIII, and do not have this issue.
    I'm using Bios 0803 and 0506 before and never had any problems.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    239

    8d

    The *error maybe to do with amd ryzen infinity fabric failure. Causes could be voltage to or FCLK Mghz setting.

    *I have triggered this when o/c the fclk.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 08-26-2019 at 04:25 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    8D Code fixed***

    I've registered to this forum just to present my solution to this ongoing issue.

    My System is composed of:
    Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix X570-E, latest bios, which is 1005
    CPU: Ryzen 9 3900x + Cooler Noctua NH-D15
    RAM: Two sticks of 16GB G-Skill Trident-Z 3600 Mhz CL17, running in BIOS as XMP Profile 3600. All auto
    GPU: Asus ROG Srix 1080 Ti
    PSU: Seasonic 860W Platinum


    What I've tried and didn't work:
    - Lowering RAM frequency (this worked to a certain extent as in the errors were less frequent)
    - Getting SOC voltage higher (this made no change)

    What did eventually work:
    - LOWERING SOC VOLTAGE A BIT.
    I've just lowered bit by bit until I got to 1.07 or so and the error was gone for what I was able to confirm by rebooting the system for tens of times.
    Then I've just lowered again to be on the safe side to 1.06250 V (see attached screenshot)

    It has been days without the error. I've got FCLK and RAM running 1:1 at 1800 Mhz.

    ASUS NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THIS AS THIS MIGHT JUST BE SOME WRONG OFFSET SOMEWHERE WHICH SETS THE REAL SOC VOLTAGE TOO HIGH!
    THIS IS NOT NORMAL BEHAVIOUR!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos bpbbZt9.jpg  

    Last edited by dlbogdan; 09-06-2019 at 05:52 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array Capricorn1 PC Specs
    Capricorn1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus K50I-D
    MotherboardAsus Sabertooth Z170S
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR4-3200 PC4-25600
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster Fatal1ty Champion Platnum
    MonitorDell U2713HM (27" 2560x1440)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO (512GB)
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO (1TB)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H60
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 B2
    Keyboard Microsoft 4000
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 4.2
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterLinux 14.04 LTS

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Question Any change since posting this result (maybe with a new BIOS)?

    Quote Originally Posted by dlbogdan View Post
    I've registered to this forum just to present my solution to this ongoing issue.

    My System is composed of:
    Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix X570-E, latest bios, which is 1005
    CPU: Ryzen 9 3900x + Cooler Noctua NH-D15
    RAM: Two sticks of 16GB G-Skill Trident-Z 3600 Mhz CL17, running in BIOS as XMP Profile 3600. All auto
    GPU: Asus ROG Srix 1080 Ti
    PSU: Seasonic 860W Platinum


    What I've tried and didn't work:
    - Lowering RAM frequency (this worked to a certain extent as in the errors were less frequent)
    - Getting SOC voltage higher (this made no change)

    What did eventually work:
    - LOWERING SOC VOLTAGE A BIT.
    I've just lowered bit by bit until I got to 1.07 or so and the error was gone for what I was able to confirm by rebooting the system for tens of times.
    Then I've just lowered again to be on the safe side to 1.06250 V (see attached screenshot)

    It has been days without the error. I've got FCLK and RAM running 1:1 at 1800 Mhz.

    ASUS NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THIS AS THIS MIGHT JUST BE SOME WRONG OFFSET SOMEWHERE WHICH SETS THE REAL SOC VOLTAGE TOO HIGH!
    THIS IS NOT NORMAL BEHAVIOUR!
    I'm curious if you've tried this with a BIOS that has AGESA 1.0.0.3. I've just had my system up a short while and updated to the latest Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI) BiOS (Version 1001) pretty much right away. My CPU SOC Voltage is 1.072 V and my CPU Core is at 1.297 V without me doing any manual settings. I'm just curious if they backed that off in later BIOS updates.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    239

    Quote Originally Posted by Capricorn1 View Post
    I'm curious if you've tried this with a BIOS that has AGESA 1.0.0.3. I've just had my system up a short while and updated to the latest Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI) BiOS (Version 1001) pretty much right away. My CPU SOC Voltage is 1.072 V and my CPU Core is at 1.297 V without me doing any manual settings. I'm just curious if they backed that off in later BIOS updates.
    Not to my knowledge. I had first bios for month or two and never had the issue on auto unless I was amm ammm - tinkering.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Latest BIOS

    I'm currently testing with the latest BIOS 1201 with AGESA 1.0.0.3ABBA with stock voltages.
    I'll let you know if the 8D error comes back.
    Btw, I haven't had any 8D post code errors since I modified the SOC voltage as in my prev post (with previous BIOS).

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •