Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 139
  1. #101
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    315

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    I do not know but when I see

    7980XE, 4300 mhz (I believe) : 9031 (bench CPU-Z v17.01.64)
    10980XE, 4600mhz: 7650 (bench CPU-Z v17.01.64)
    10980XE, 5000mhz: 6733 (bench CPU-Z v17.01.64)

    Maybe the CPU-Z not updated, bios, throttle...

    With my 7980XE, 4600mhz (bench CPU-Z v17.01.64)

    Attachment 83245
    @tistou77

    Westlake uploaded a new 50657 microcode version 12c, maybe it can help. Or maybe CPU-Z must be updated, since 10980xe is recognised as 9980xe.

    By the way, I have been testing your beloved Microcode 49 and AVX512 is bugged. Whenever I use y-cruncher with MC49 and Omega Bios 0802, errors will arise and my cpu will lose 3 cores until I make a shutdown and reboot. This does not happen with Microcodes 5E, 60 or 64. Same usual overclock and settings for all of them.

    Microcode 49 also makes my cpu change clocks inbios when max performance is selected, thing that doesn't happen when I use the other Microcodes.

    I also have to say that AVX512 offset is fixed to a maximum of 4200MHz with the more recent Microcodes, but not with MC49, but this is so bugged it is not worth.
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 11-30-2019 at 06:24 PM.
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  2. #102
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by vmanuelgm View Post
    @tistou77

    Westlake uploaded a new 50657 microcode version 12c, maybe it can help. Or maybe CPU-Z must be updated, since 10980xe is recognised as 9980xe.

    By the way, I have been testing your beloved Microcode 49 and AVX512 is bugged. Whenever I use y-cruncher with MC49 and Omega Bios 0802, errors will arise and my cpu will lose 3 cores until I make a shutdown and reboot. This does not happen with Microcodes 5E, 60 or 64. Same usual overclock and settings for all of them.

    Microcode 49 also makes my cpu change clocks inbios when max performance is selected, thing that doesn't happen when I use the other Microcodes.

    I also have to say that AVX512 offset is fixed to a maximum of 4200MHz with the more recent Microcodes, but not with MC49, but this is so bugged it is not worth.
    Very interesting. What you write is very consistent with my experience as well. I had lots of AVX512 errors when using older microcodes (49 etc) but with mc64 errors are gone in Prime95 and y-cruncher. also found that the AVX512 is not possible to get above 4.2GHz. I thought it just was not stable above 4.2GHz because it just "ka'boomed" every time I tried (no matter the voltage tweaking) on my R6E rig, but it sounds like it is actually limited in the microcode (i.e. mc64). Thanks for clarifying this! Now I can stop trying to OC AVX512 above 4.2GHz.
    Last edited by Int8bldr; 12-01-2019 at 12:48 AM.

  3. #103
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,572

    I do not have (yet) CascadeLake-X, I can not say, but maybe this new microcode is good

    For the microcode, using no apps exploiting the AVX512, I was not curious about this and the AVX512 is at 3800mhz on my CPU, what I was advised on OC.net, do not use it...
    And it consumes a lot
    Last edited by tistou77; 11-30-2019 at 11:57 PM.
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  4. #104
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.6GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2021 Insider Preview 19592.1001
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    517

    The lastest update from phoronix test of Cascade Lake with 0500002c microcode Date 2019-11-24

    **https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pa...-jcc-taa&num=1

    Look like hardware mitigation on Cascade Lake Microarchitect bring some more seriously performance hit when it faced against *TAA + JCC Erratum mitigation ** Both TAA and JCC mitigation hit around 15% on worst case.
    Last edited by restsugavan; 12-01-2019 at 12:22 AM.
    Core i9 7980XE / R6E 3006 MODDED / Intel 02006906 MCU 2020-04-24 / VROC VMD 7.5.0.1030 / RST 17.8.3.4687 / ME FW 11.12.77.1664 DV 2021.14.0.1615 / 64GB GSKILL @3.2GHz 16-18-18-38 2T / POSEIDON 1080i GTX + NVIDIA Driver 455.41 WHQL / AX1200i / 1TB NVME 600P + OMS Driver 17.9.1.1009 WHQL / Microsoft Windows 10 Version 2004 Build 20161.1000 / i219 V PHY UNDI OROM / Boot Agent 0.0.29 / 0.1.16 / 12.18.9.23 WHQL WHQL AQC 107n FW 3.1.109 + AQC 2.1.21.0 WHQL. CAM 4.8.0 Realtek HD 6.0.8960.1 WHQL

  5. #105
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    315

    It ends in 12c...
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  6. #106
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Question Intel Optane SSD 905P 2.5in in the DIMM.2 adapter

    Hi, guys! I have a question to You:
    I want to install the Intel® Optane™ SSD 905P Series (480GB, 2.5in PCIe x4, 3D XPoint™) (SSDPE21D480GAM3) into one of the M.2 slot of the ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore motherboard through the DIMM.2 adapter. This SSD pack contains M.2 Adapter Cable to install the SSD into systems that haven't U.2 connector. As I think that M.2 slots on the DIMM.2 adapter in this motherboard is a simple M.2 in PCIe x4 mode slots connected to straight to CPU. Can somebody tell me will Intel® Optane™ SSD 905P Series (SSDPE21D480GAM3) and one of the M.2 slot in the DIMM.2 adapter work together?
    I know that Intel have M.2 SSD: Intel® Optane™ SSD 905P Series (380GB, M.2 110mm PCIe x4, 20nm, 3D XPoint™) (SSDPEL1D380GAX1), BUT I can't buy it in on our local market.
    Last edited by Sn8Wolf; 12-02-2019 at 08:41 PM. Reason: Add some information

  7. #107
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by Sn8Wolf View Post
    Hi, guys! I have a question to You:
    I want to install the Intel® Optane™ SSD 905P Series (480GB, 2.5in PCIe x4, 3D XPoint™) (SSDPE21D480GAM3) into one of the M.2 slot of the ROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore motherboard through the DIMM.2 adapter. This SSD pack contains M.2 Adapter Cable to install the SSD into systems that haven't U.2 connector. As I think that M.2 slots on the DIMM.2 adapter in this motherboard is a simple M.2 in PCIe x4 mode slots connected to straight to CPU. Can somebody tell me will Intel® Optane™ SSD 905P Series (SSDPE21D480GAM3) and one of the M.2 slot in the DIMM.2 adapter work together?
    I know that Intel have M.2 SSD: Intel® Optane™ SSD 905P Series (380GB, M.2 110mm PCIe x4, 20nm, 3D XPoint™) (SSDPEL1D380GAX1), BUT I can't buy it in on our local market.
    So it should be possible to install 1 or 2 Intel Optane SSD 905P Series 480GB which have the U.2 interface in the add in DIMM.2 card (that comes with the MB) that goes in the DIMM.2 slot next to the RAM slots (upper right corner of the MD). the way you do it is to get the Intel Optane SSD 905P Series 480GB U.2 drives with a U.2 to M.2 cable included. U.2 side of the cable does into the drive and the other side goes into the one of the wo M.2 slots on the DIMM.2 add in card. The M.2 side of the cable look like a M.2 card but is just a dummy so you can install and screw it in like if it was a M.2 card.

    The key for you is to get the intel drive with the U.2-M.2 cable included. Intel has two different SKUs: one with the M.2-U.2 cable included (this is the one you want) and one with a U.2-U.2 cable included.

    I know this because I have 4 x Optane SSD 900P (VROC Raided) with the U.2 interface with this cable connected to the Asus Hyper X16 card and it is working perfectly for soon 2 years. The U.2-M.2 cable came with the Optane drives. However, you need to make sure you buy the right SKU because it is not obvious from most etailers web site descriptions - call hem to make sure before you order.

    Also I have the R6E and the R6E Encore board as well and my U.2-M.2 cables fit in the Encores DIMM.2 card. There is no need to screw on the heat sink (and actually you cannot close it properly anyway with the cable sticking out) on the DIMM.2 card because it is just the cable m.2 adapter and that obviously does not need any cooling.
    Last edited by Int8bldr; 12-02-2019 at 10:17 PM.

  8. #108
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Int8bldr View Post
    So it should be possible to install 1 or 2 Intel Optane SSD 905P Series 480GB which have the U.2 interface in the add in DIMM.2 card (that comes with the MB) that goes in the DIMM.2 slot next to the RAM slots (upper right corner of the MD). the way you do it is to get the Intel Optane SSD 905P Series 480GB U.2 drives with a U.2 to M.2 cable included. U.2 side of the cable does into the drive and the other side goes into the one of the wo M.2 slots on the DIMM.2 add in card. The M.2 side of the cable look like a M.2 card but is just a dummy so you can install and screw it in like if it was a M.2 card.

    The key for you is to get the intel drive with the U.2-M.2 cable included. Intel has two different SKUs: one with the M.2-U.2 cable included (this is the one you want) and one with a U.2-U.2 cable included.

    I know this because I have 4 x Optane SSD 900P (VROC Raided) with the U.2 interface with this cable connected to the Asus Hyper X16 card and it is working perfectly for soon 2 years. The U.2-M.2 cable came with the Optane drives. However, you need to make sure you buy the right SKU because it is not obvious from most etailers web site descriptions - call hem to make sure before you order.

    Also I have the R6E and the R6E Encore board as well and my U.2-M.2 cables fit in the Encores DIMM.2 card. There is no need to screw on the heat sink (and actually you cannot close it properly anyway with the cable sticking out) on the DIMM.2 card because it is just the cable m.2 adapter and that obviously does not need any cooling.
    Thank You, Int8bldr, so much for information and for this full answer to my question! It will help me to build corectly new system!
    Last edited by Sn8Wolf; 12-03-2019 at 07:04 AM. Reason: Grammar

  9. #109
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,572

    Nobody has tested the OC on this motherboard ?
    The temperature of the VRMs is how ?
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  10. #110
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    315

    The temperature of the VRM's of the Encore with the stock cooler are better than first Rampage VI for example. But VRM temps depend on the kind of loads and overclock u are applying.

    More phases/surface, better stock heatsink plus minifans=better cooling and more capacity.

    For example with Prime95 latest version, if u load 4.6GHz avx (or higher) the VRM's are gonna get hot in 10 minutes more or less. If the Encore/Omega reaches 90 degrees, first Rampage should be around 110 or higher. There can be a lot of variables, case/benchtable, ambient temps, extra fans cooling the VRM, waterblocks... That can result in substantial differences.
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 12-05-2019 at 09:31 PM.
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •