Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Using m.2 Slot on Maximus Ranger VIII

    Hi all!

    I recently buyed a new SSD for my gaming PC but I'm not even sure if my plan to install works. Please could you help me how to configure it in the BIOS?

    I plan to replace my current SSD with the Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB. But I read in different forums when I install a m.2 SSD some SATA ports doesn't work.
    It would be nice if I could install the new m.2 and using PCIe x4 to get the full speed. But does this affect my current RAID configuration?

    Thanks a lot!

    Cheers

    Here is my current SATA configuration:
    DRIVE ASUS BW-16D1HT SATA, Blu-Ray RW (90DD01E0-B30000) (SATA 6G_1)
    SSD Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB, SATA (MZ-7KE1T0BW) (SATA 6G_2) (main system Windows 10)
    HDD1 HGST Ultrastar 7K6000 (6TB in RAID1) (US7SAK600) (SATA 6G_3 in RAID1)
    HDD2 HGST Ultrastar 7K6000 (6TB in RAID1) (US7SAK600) (SATA 6G_4 in RAID1)

    Here is the other system configuration (I think not quite helpful for my question):
    CPU Intel Core i7-7700K (Kaby Lake) @ 4,7 GHz (cooler: Noctua NH-D15)
    MB ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Ranger (BIOS 3802)
    RAM Kingston HyperX Predator DIMM Kit 16GB (2*8GB), DDR4-3000, CL15-16-16 (HX430C15PBK4/32)
    GPU Gainward GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Phoenix GS (11GB)
    PSU be quiet! Straight Power 10-CM 500W ATX 2.4 (E10-CM-500W/BN234)
    CASE Fractal Design Define R5 Black (FD-CA-DEF-R5-BK)
    Display HP Z27n LED-IPS (WQHD 2560 x 1440)
    Last edited by commy; 08-27-2019 at 06:36 AM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array Khean PC Specs
    Khean PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z390-E Gaming Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel 9th Gen Core i9-9900K OC 5.0Ghz @1.320 Adaptive
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 2x16 32gb 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080ti OC 11gb GDDR6
    Sound CardSupremeFX Onboard
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q Gaming Monitor
    Storage #1Corsair Force Series MP510 M.2 NVMe PCIE Gen3 240gb
    Storage #2Seagate Baracuda 2TB Mechanical Hard Drive
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H150i Pro RGB 360mm
    CaseCoolmaster Mastercae H500P Mesh
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 750x Gold Certified
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB MX Cherry RGB Red
    Mouse HyperX Pulsefire Surge
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad HyperX FURY S - Pro Gaming Speed Edition Mouse Pad – Large
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-M360 Soundbar
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetgear NigthHawk M1
    Khean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    34
    Posts
    33

    Quote Originally Posted by commy View Post
    Hi all!

    I recently buyed a new SSD for my gaming PC but I'm not even sure if my plan to install works. Please could you help me how to configure it in the BIOS?

    I plan to replace my current SSD with the Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB. But I read in different forums when I install a m.2 SSD some SATA ports doesn't work.
    It would be nice if I could install the new m.2 and using PCIe x4 to get the full speed. But does this affect my current RAID configuration?

    Thanks a lot!

    Cheers

    Here is my current SATA configuration:
    DRIVE ASUS BW-16D1HT SATA, Blu-Ray RW (90DD01E0-B30000) (SATA 6G_1)
    SSD Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB, SATA (MZ-7KE1T0BW) (SATA 6G_2) (main system Windows 10)
    HDD1 HGST Ultraistar 7K6000 (6TB n RAID1) (US7SAK600) (SATA 6G_3 in RAID1)
    HDD2 HGST Ultrastar 7K6000 (6TB in RAID1) (US7SAK600) (SATA 6G_4 in RAID1)

    Here is the other system configuration (I think not quite helpful for my question):
    CPU Intel Core i7-7700K (Kaby Lake) @ 4,7 GHz (cooler: Noctua NH-D15)
    MB ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Ranger (BIOS 3802)
    RAM Kingston HyperX Predator DIMM Kit 16GB (2*8GB), DDR4-3000, CL15-16-16 (HX430C15PBK4/32)
    GPU Gainward GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Phoenix GS (11GB)
    PSU be quiet! Straight Power 10-CM 500W ATX 2.4 (E10-CM-500W/BN234)
    CASE Fractal Design Define R5 Black (FD-CA-DEF-R5-BK)
    Display HP Z27n LED-IPS (WQHD 2560 x 1440)
    check your manual i have 6 sata ports on z390-e i used the 2 slot of m.2
    and 5 and 6 sata port was disabled.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I checked the manual before posting here

    it says when the M.2 is in SATA mode the SATA Interface 1 (SATA6G_12) will be disabled.

    But I don't know what is meant by SATA6G_12 and does this affect the raid 1 system?

    Cheers

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array yamatosan PC Specs
    yamatosan PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600K @ 3.5GHz
    Memory (part number)HyperX Fury HX426C15FBK2/8
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 SSC GAMING 6GB
    Sound CardROG Supreme FX
    MonitorSamsung BX2231
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial BX500 480GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X31 push - pull
    CaseCooler Master CM 690 III
    Power SupplyCorsair HXi 850
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless 800
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless 1000
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterTP-LINK Archer C2
    Accessory #1 WD 20EFRX 2TB HDD
    Accessory #2 WD 20EFRX 2TB HDD
    yamatosan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    M.2 working modes

    Quote Originally Posted by commy View Post
    I checked the manual before posting here

    it says when the M.2 is in SATA mode the SATA Interface 1 (SATA6G_12) will be disabled.

    But I don't know what is meant by SATA6G_12 and does this affect the raid 1 system?

    Cheers
    M.2 can work in two modes on VIII Ranger boards:
    1) One mode is SATA mode and you install a M.2 form factor SSD with SATA interface - basically SATA6G_12 will be disabled (you can't used them because M.2 form factor SSD you installed will use these 2 ports SATA 6G, number 1 and 2).
    2) Another mode is PCIE mode and you install a M.2 factor from SSD with PCIE interface - basically you can use ports SATA 6G, number 1 and 2, as your M.2 form factor SSD you installed will use PCIE lanes of your motherboard - Ranger has 20lanes i think and your SSD will use 4 of them at X4 speed. If you have a graphic card on a PCIE slot (I use a 1060 graphic card in it), it will use another 16 lanes at X16 speed.

    At least this is what I understood from manual - let me know if this is the case.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •