Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Anyone have 128GB working on the R6EO?

    After many hours of tweaking every related setting to include the most likely ones (DRAM voltage/VCCIO/SA/increased current capability) I can not get 128GB of G.Skill F4-3600C17-16GTZKW working reliably. It fails memtest on the most basic of tests and hard locks almost instantly on the Prime 95 large FFTs test. I've tested all the way down to 2133 at 20-22-22-42 without success.

    At this point I'm thinking either a (very) crappy memory controller on my 9980XE, or a BIOS incompatibility issue with my modules. Running the latest 0702 BIOS, but I also tested what was in my BIOS 2 bank, which was really old (like 0204 or something). I have a custom loop that includes cooling the memory, so heat likely isn't an issue.

    I'm leaning toward a BIOS problem because the memtest/P95 results are pretty much the same at any settings between 2133-3200, meaning that they don't last any longer at more conservative settings. It won't POST above 3200 which is understandable for 128GB and certainly not my concern at the moment.

    I left out a lot of details on everything I've tested just to keep this shorter, so please feel free to suggest anything.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EO Bios 0702
    Processori9 9900X @ 4.9 1.28V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Revo XRes 140 D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    2,035

    This kit*F4-3600C17-16GTZKW looks like 16G. You bought multiple kits? Combining memory kits isn’t recommended.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EO Bios 0702
    Processori9 9900X @ 4.9 1.28V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Revo XRes 140 D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    2,035


  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Well, mixing kits is bad enough, but then OC 128GB of RAM too? Perhaps on an OC'd CPU? You need to be extremely lucky for this setup to work...

    I would try first to sell the 16GB kits and buy a single 128GB kit...

    May I ask why do you need so much RAM?*
    *

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Like Hopper said your mixing 4 kits of memory which are dual channel, they sell quad channel kits for a reason so there's no compatibility issues between dims.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EO Bios 0702
    Processori9 9900X @ 4.9 1.28V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Revo XRes 140 D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    2,035

    And I don't know how you're getting to 128G with that. That's 8 kits with 8G per memory module. There are only 8 DIMM slots=64.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    It was actually 2 64GB kits - The part number I listed is just what the individual sticks identify as. I think you guys are on to something (unfortunately for me!). Beyond what was mentioned, my step son used to work for a major memory manufacturer and confirmed that each kit size had different SPD information based on the size. That would explain the consistent failing results that I get all the way down to 2133MHz.

    I'll go with this theory for now and either try to manually set everything in the BIOS or swap the kit. I don't know if the BIOS exposes everything that is shown using an app like SIV to read the SPD so that may not be an option, plus I'd need the info from G.Skill unless someone has such a kit. Option #2 will be painful due to the water blocks, but it is what it is. I fall in the "I've combined kits for the last 30 years" category, but it may finally be biting me.

    As to why I need 128GB - Easy answer! The same reason I need 18 cores and an extreme i9 - just because - This is about an $11k RGB everything build (I have 16 RGB fittings if that tells you anything) that I'll post pics of once I get past fun things like this.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    56

    Mixing kits is not advised even if they are the exact same part number. More sticks just means more problems. As for a 128GB kit......If its just because Id back off. 16GB modules are always harder to OC than the 8GB. Im running 8X8GB corsair dominator RGB 3600/18 kit OCd to 3800 and C16 without touching the voltage. I do a lot of content creation, 3D rendering, video edits as well as photo batch and Ive not come close to saturating 64GB. Only reason I went ahead and stayed with the 8X8 is my OCD wont let me have empty slots.

    Sticks are first binned by their attributes like 3600 withh CL 18. Then they are binned together as kits being it 2, 4 or 8 sticks. The more sticks the less likely you are to get them to work so the cost goes up. Not saying that the chances of getting the same part number of different kits will never work. Just that your chances are slimmer with the more sticks you add to the mix and as speed goes up its even more risky. Your odds of getting non kit binned sticks to run at XMP are 50/50 at best. Probably more like 25% chance. Forum is full of the same issues of sticks from different kits.
    Last edited by BigJohnny; 08-26-2019 at 03:19 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    245

    Populate it with one 64GB kit and leave the ram blocks suspended in place.

    What? You didn't get a ROG Dominus?? Shame on you.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    128GB is no doubt overkill, but it's kind of the theme of my build too. I didn't need a 4 drive RAID-0 VROC, 18 cores, etc.

    I seriously considered the Dominus, but it would have shot my build price even higher than the obscene amount it already hit so I scrapped that idea.

    About to get on the phone with G.Skill and hope for an exchange, SPD reprogramming, or best case subtiming settings that will fix this.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •