Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    Good luck with G.Skill!

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    69

    Quote Originally Posted by n0xlf View Post
    128GB is no doubt overkill, but it's kind of the theme of my build too. I didn't need a 4 drive RAID-0 VROC, 18 cores, etc.

    I seriously considered the Dominus, but it would have shot my build price even higher than the obscene amount it already hit so I scrapped that idea.

    About to get on the phone with G.Skill and hope for an exchange, SPD reprogramming, or best case subtiming settings that will fix this.
    If you are talking about calling them of how to make mixed kits work, good luck with that. This is why they all say dont mix kits.

    As for 4 drive raid ) VROC it will blow your hair back with the numbers on large file sequential. Now run a single drive against that same and check your Q1 4K performance.....as in the one that actually counts for performance. The latency of raid 0 will kill it. Been there and done that. 4 drives dropped my Q1 4K reads to 40MB/s when I get 300 MB/s on a single drive. The raid zero is OK for large media storage but sucks for an OS install.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by BigJohnny View Post
    As for 4 drive raid ) VROC it will blow your hair back with the numbers on large file sequential. Now run a single drive against that same and check your Q1 4K performance.....as in the one that actually counts for performance. The latency of raid 0 will kill it. Been there and done that. 4 drives dropped my Q1 4K reads to 40MB/s when I get 300 MB/s on a single drive. The raid zero is OK for large media storage but sucks for an OS install.
    Yeah, I noticed that:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VROC.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	51.0 KB 
ID:	81646

    I may throw in Optane in the future but for now I'll live with it. It's ironic that the fastest computer I've ever built is hands down one of the slowest booting machines, partly due to the MB (to be expected to some extent) and partly due to VROC drivers and/or the way Windows is handling its initialization.

    As for G.Skill, so far so good. The RMA is approved for a swap. Just hoping that I end up with a new kit and don't inherit someone else's crazy over-volted soon to be dead sticks that passed validation for the moment. It took me a bit over an hour to get them out so this isn't something I really want to repeat.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    This story has a good ending!

    G.Skill was very easy to work with and replaced my 2 kits with F4-3200C15Q2-128GTZ . Received the (brand new!) kit and all is well.

    I'm successfully running it at it's XMP settings of 3200/15-15-15-35. Took me many hours to get it dialed in and passing memtest and P95 large FFT tests and have settled on 2.1v CPU input, 0.90v SM, and 1.29v on the memory. I still need to do more extensive testing but it's looking good, which is impressive for 128GB.

    So thanks to all in this thread for the suggestion and I'll certainly add matched sets to my book of computing knowledge. Pics and details of my build to follow in another thread but I'll also post it here.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    150

    Important is to lower the voltages because Asus on AUTO = overkill in most cases.
    Last edited by Mappi75; 09-16-2019 at 06:00 PM.
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I was a bit surprised that at 1.35v (manually set) it was actually unstable. I had to drop my CPU OC to 4.3GHz from 4.5 as well. What other settings did you need to change to get your 128GBs stable? Your 7980XE may just have a better memory controller too, hard to say.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    150

    @n0xlf

    Thats funny i told you my kits run stable - but the new bought HCI Memtest 6.3 pro show me errors...
    ...never had problems with that system - so i have to check my voltages too... :P
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Yeah, "stable" definitely has different meanings. When I started this thread I only had very occasional locks even though the memory was failing just about every test miserably. Normal use obviously doesn't stress things like the tests do but the tests certainly give you a good indication of what will eventually happen under normal use.

    Great, now I've probably got you started on endless hours of tweaking, hard locks, and reboots - enjoy!!

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    150

    I'am happy that i found a thread - how to create a batch file for running HCI MemTest 6.3 with "one click" only.

    https://www.overclock.net/forum/1805...ustration.html

    This helps a lot for running 32 Threads and 3.500MB each thread.

    Also there is a little tool called cmdow which can sort all 32 windows on the screen.
    Last edited by Mappi75; 09-18-2019 at 10:43 AM.
    Intel Core i9-7980XE @ Noctua NH-D15S | ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z SLI | G.Skill 128GB RAM, DDR4-3200, CL14 | Samsung SSD 960 PRO 2TB | 2x Samsung SSD 840 PRO (512GB) + 2x Samsung SSD 830 (512GB) | Plextor PX-L890SA | Corsair AX1500i Titanium | Lian Li TYR PC-X2000F @bequiet Silentwings USC |

    Intel Core i7-6950X @ Noctua NH-D15S | Asus ROG Rampage V10 Extreme | MSI GTX 1080 Ti Lightning Z | Kingston 128GB RAM, DDR4-2666, CL15 | Seasonic 1.000 Platinum |

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Here's my build, since I mentioned it: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic...ed-rgb-madness

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •