Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Crosshair VII Hero + 3700x Boost hit never 4,3Ghz+

    I have tried all bios versions of the mainboard since the release of the 3700x. And no BIOS could boot over 4,3Ghz. It hits not even 4,3Ghz only 4,292 Ghz

    Is my CPU just bad or is it still the BIOS? All settings are stock.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    31

    Its AMD...your CPU probably hit the states boost speed, for a second...so legally AMD have not misled customers.

    They never promised all core boost or single core boosting 24/7...just that it in theory could.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I set up HWINFO. It updates the clockspeed every 500ms. My CPU went never over 4,3ghz

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array igralec84 PC Specs
    igralec84 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)2x F4-3200C14-8GVK
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 FE + EK Waterblock
    MonitorHP Omen 32
    Storage #1WD Blue 250gb M.2
    Storage #2Kingston SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerEK-KIT X360
    CaseThermaltake Core P3
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 3x Noctua NF-F12
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Premium Riser
    igralec84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    78

    Strange, i would have thought at least 2501 BIOS would boost to the max boost stated on the box.
    My 3600x did 4400mhz on all cores on that version, after that 4350 on 2 max.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Do you have XMP memory settings loaded up? I'm not sure what is up with the current ASUS bioses, but If I change from default settings (2166mhz memory) to XMP settings (3600mhz), all boost frequencies stop at 4.2-4.3Ghz on my 3900x (boosts to 4.5-4.55 with defaults). I should try doing manual memory tuning when I have time, but I don't know if doing that fixes the boost frequencies.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Sminka View Post
    I have tried all bios versions of the mainboard since the release of the 3700x. And no BIOS could boot over 4,3Ghz. It hits not even 4,3Ghz only 4,292 Ghz

    Is my CPU just bad or is it still the BIOS? All settings are stock.
    Ryzen 3700x, Asus C7h Wifi, Bios 2703

    Change the following in Bios:
    * global C-state: enabled
    * DF Cstate: enabled
    * Precision Boost Overdrive: enabled
    * max frequency overdrive: 100 MHz

    Change the following in Windows:
    * choose "AMD Ryzen™ high performance" power plan
    * edit power plan / change advanced power settings / Procesor power management / minimum Procesor state: 15%

    Before I found this my max boost was 4375 MHz, now it is 4425

    https://imgur.com/xyRXxxz
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos xyRXxxz.jpg  


  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Rebe1 View Post
    Ryzen 3700x, Asus C7h Wifi, Bios 2703

    Change the following in Bios:
    * global C-state: enabled
    * DF Cstate: enabled
    * Precision Boost Overdrive: enabled
    * max frequency overdrive: 100 MHz

    Change the following in Windows:
    * choose "AMD Ryzen™ high performance" power plan
    * edit power plan / change advanced power settings / Procesor power management / minimum Procesor state: 15%

    Before I found this my max boost was 4375 MHz, now it is 4425

    https://imgur.com/xyRXxxz
    I noticed something else. I activated for Hyper V the virtualization. Now my all core boost from a simple benchmark(CPU-Z Stress test) is 4,05Ghz https://i.imgur.com/E6uGH4M.png And my Bus Clock is not 100Mhz. Is there a way to change the Bus Clock in the BIOS? With Virtualization its 98,9 and without 99,8
    Last edited by Sminka; 09-03-2019 at 04:44 PM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    You received full, step-by-step instructions what you have to do to enable correct boost clock of 3700x @ C7h. Leave everything else on auto, run CB R15 and check.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    986

    Quote Originally Posted by Rebe1 View Post
    Ryzen 3700x, Asus C7h Wifi, Bios 2703

    Change the following in Bios:
    * global C-state: enabled
    * DF Cstate: enabled
    * Precision Boost Overdrive: enabled
    * max frequency overdrive: 100 MHz

    Change the following in Windows:
    * choose "AMD Ryzen™ high performance" power plan
    * edit power plan / change advanced power settings / Procesor power management / minimum Procesor state: 15%

    Before I found this my max boost was 4375 MHz, now it is 4425

    https://imgur.com/xyRXxxz
    Quote Originally Posted by Sminka View Post
    I noticed something else. I activated for Hyper V the virtualization. Now my all core boost from a simple benchmark(CPU-Z Stress test) is 4,05Ghz https://i.imgur.com/E6uGH4M.png And my Bus Clock is not 100Mhz. Is there a way to change the Bus Clock in the BIOS? With Virtualization its 98,9 and without 99,8
    Quote Originally Posted by Rebe1 View Post
    You received full, step-by-step instructions what you have to do to enable correct boost clock of 3700x @ C7h. Leave everything else on auto, run CB R15 and check.
    @Rebe1

    The advice you give is not on how to enable correct boost clock on 3700X with C7H, you are advising the user to enable PBO using an overdrive of +100MHz, which is overclocking.

    @Sminka

    AMD have stated they will update community on boost issue on 10th of September. So I'd say wait and see what happens.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  10. #10
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    @Rebe1

    The advice you give is not on how to enable correct boost clock on 3700X with C7H, you are advising the user to enable PBO using an overdrive of +100MHz, which is overclocking.

    @Sminka

    AMD have stated they will update community on boost issue on 10th of September. So I'd say wait and see what happens.
    Just to clarify, PBO is NOT overclocking. Enabling it bypasses some of the chip's built in power limits and uses the motherboard's instead. At no point will the chip exceed it's clock specifications with PBO.

    https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/3...hmarks-auto-oc
    Last edited by Maldiavolo; 09-10-2019 at 09:45 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •