Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    31

    Can you RMA a motherboard because of broken BIOS ?

    I've documented my issue with Asus bios on video, but is that reason enough for Asus to issue an RMA ticket?

    I'm not sure or what an RMA would accomplish, outside of them giving me a X570 board, which I doubt they will do.

    Sending in my B450 E for another B450 E seems pointless...and they sure as hell wont give you a refund.

    So...is it pointless to RMA?....just lesson learned and never buy an Asus product again ?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array andyliu PC Specs
    andyliu PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)(32GB) 2*F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 FTW
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 850 500GB
    Storage #2Mushkin Enhanced ECO3 480GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCooler Master H500M
    Power SupplyThermaltake TOUGHPOWER 750W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC3100 + PCE-AC88

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    169

    it sounds more a hardware issue than a BIOS issue, unless there were other working version of BIOS.
    it will be reason enough if you have gone thru all troubleshooting steps.
    just be sure to add the links to the post and inform them all the troubleshooting step you have gone thru.
    that way you can speed things up.
    so RMA will get you a working motherboard at least. and you can sell them if you decide to go for other motherboard.

    lemon happens,
    the first 1700x i picked up, had **** memory controller that it wont go beyond 3000Mhz, swap and easy 3200Mhz
    or just like the 2700x that I had just swap out was crap, way below avg performance.

    totally understand the frustration that you have, just make sure you explain the issue and ask them nicely.
    as long as it's under warranty, they should replace it for you.
    Last edited by andyliu; 08-29-2019 at 12:07 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    31

    It's not broken hardware:

    https://youtu.be/DZzMddQt8OI

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Japion PC Specs
    Japion PC Specs
    MotherboardB450-E Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 3700X
    Memory (part number)16GB Trident Z RGB 3200 MHz CL16
    Graphics Card #11070 STRIX
    MonitorBenq EX3501R
    Storage #1KIngston A400 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i Platinum
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus 650W
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Japion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    I have Ryzen 3700x, B450-E and Trident Z 3200 MHz CL16 (2x8) and it has worked perfectly for me on 2704, 2605 and 2501 BIOSes. No issues, even got managed to OC CPU to 4.2 GHz at 1.1875 V and RAM to 3600 MHz CL16.

    I run my RAM sticks on A2 and B2 slots. Our configs are pretty close to one to another.
    Last edited by Japion; 08-29-2019 at 09:46 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •