Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    655

    Maybe your CPU just cannot handle the OC.
    All have different capabilities (and your 3930k might be fine) - but the 3960s are usually a bit better at speeds above 4.5ghz.

    ALSO - just noticed you're using Corsair Vengeance 1600 RAM.
    If it's the 1.5V variety, ensure you are not using the XMP profile as it doesn't work correctly for whatever reason with this particular RAM and causes issues similar to what you are experiencing. (At least for me.)

    Set DRAM voltage for both channels to 1.500, speed to DDR3-1600 manually and make sure the XMP profile is disabled. I would start by doing this if you are currently not configured this way and your RAM is in fact the 1.5V variety.

    Good luck.
    Last edited by Necrosan; 02-26-2012 at 06:33 PM.
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Necrosan View Post
    Maybe your CPU just cannot handle the OC.
    All have different capabilities (and your 3930k might be fine) - but the 3960s are usually a bit better at speeds above 4.5ghz.

    ALSO - just noticed you're using Corsair Vengeance 1600 RAM.
    If it's the 1.5V variety, ensure you are not using the XMP profile as it doesn't work correctly for whatever reason with this particular RAM and causes issues similar to what you are experiencing. (At least for me.)

    Set DRAM voltage for both channels to 1.500, speed to DDR3-1600 manually and make sure the XMP profile is disabled. I would start by doing this if you are currently not configured this way and your RAM is in fact the 1.5V variety.

    Good luck.
    Thanks, I do currently have the ram set to the xmp profile so I will change that and see if it makes any difference.
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Ok a quick update.

    I changed the ram settings, to auto last night, switched off the XMP setting, and set the voltage to 1.50 volts in the bios.

    Switched it back to 4700mhz and it was IBT stable.

    Left it on overnight again, and when I turned the monitor on at 11.15am this morning, the screen was flickering every second or 2 (but pc was still running).

    I rebooted it and it's been fine again since.

    Checked the event log, and there is nothing in there to suggest any problems.

    Any idea's on the flickering screen (not had this before).
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    655

    Sounds GPU related.
    Try doing a clean install of latest drivers and see if it persists.
    You can also try changing the PCIE lanes to 2.0 instead of the default 3.0. (Although I doubt this is causing your issue.)
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Necrosan View Post
    Sounds GPU related.
    Try doing a clean install of latest drivers and see if it persists.
    You can also try changing the PCIE lanes to 2.0 instead of the default 3.0. (Although I doubt this is causing your issue.)
    PCI lanes already set to 2.0, and funnily enough I did update the driver yesterday to the latest version.

    Will see if it happenes again tomorrow, might just be a 1 off.
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •