Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    ROG Strix x570E Gaming Mobo 4 Pin ATX needed?

    Do I need to use the 4 pin ATX? I have a Corsair RM750i and have plugged in the 24 pin and 8 pin ATX connectors to the motherboard. There isn't a 4 pin ATX connector on this PSU. Do I need to have that one plugged in as well as the other two? I plan on doing some light overclocking. I have a Gigabyte RTX 2070 Super Gaming graphics card, 2 M.2 NVME drives and a PCIe to M.2 Adapter for a 3rd M.2 drive. 3700x AMD Ryzen. H710i NZXT Case. No additional RGBs or Fans (other than the included Wraith Prism Cooler CPU fan and the case fans). Will the two PSU cables be enough?

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    266

    I assume your talking about the 4 pin & 8 pin above the CPU.

    That's a tricky question (in that having 8 pin but not 4 pin may work but....)
    (some boards can detect either missing and wont boot)

    Typically the answer is a hard yes, you need both.
    (The risk is draw to many amps and over time or suddenly may burn the cables out.)

    Any chance you could swap PSU for one that has connectors? (that would be my first choice)

    next choice something like this
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/4-Pin-Molex...-/401376315479

    Personally I would not leave it empty.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-06-2019 at 12:15 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array dihartnell PC Specs
    dihartnell PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 13
    MotherboardROG Strix x370-f Gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 1600X
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RGB (CL14)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 1080TI
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster ZXR
    MonitorLG Ultrawide 3440x1440p
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO M.2 512Gb SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 Sata 1Tb SSD
    CPU CoolerDeepcool Captain EX240 RGB
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 G3
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Glasius II
    Headset Sennheiser PXC-550
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HTX-2200x
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X10

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by djxpress View Post
    Do I need to use the 4 pin ATX? I have a Corsair RM750i and have plugged in the 24 pin and 8 pin ATX connectors to the motherboard. There isn't a 4 pin ATX connector on this PSU. Do I need to have that one plugged in as well as the other two? I plan on doing some light overclocking. I have a Gigabyte RTX 2070 Super Gaming graphics card, 2 M.2 NVME drives and a PCIe to M.2 Adapter for a 3rd M.2 drive. 3700x AMD Ryzen. H710i NZXT Case. No additional RGBs or Fans (other than the included Wraith Prism Cooler CPU fan and the case fans). Will the two PSU cables be enough?
    Absolutely categorically no unless you are using ln2 extreme overclocking and a high core count cpu which yours is not.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •