Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    C7HWIFI + BIOS 2703 = Double Posting

    Hi All,
    My machine's specs:
    3900X
    C7HWIFI + 2703
    GSKILL RIPJAWS V 3200 16GB x4 (total 64GB)
    NVIDIA GTX1060 6GB

    Most of the BIOS/UEFI settings are OOTB. I just made the following changes:
    (a) DOCP (setting the RAM to 3200)
    (b) VCORE = Offset - 0.05
    (c) SOC = 1.1
    (d) DRAM = 1.35
    (e) PCIE = GEN3

    The strange thing is it will:
    (i) double post (after I press the power button, it will power off in like split second and post the second time successfully)
    (ii) long post (if remove power supply)

    I read one of Shamino's posts and it was mentioned that the "double post" is normal.

    Is everyone else facing this too?

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    If you can restart windows with no problem and have system booting from warm start then it is ok.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    996

    Quote Originally Posted by danielyeap View Post
    Is everyone else facing this too?
    Sailing same boat as you...

    Quote Originally Posted by danielyeap View Post
    I read one of Shamino's posts and it was mentioned that the "double post" is normal.
    Seems so to me...
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array neotokyo PC Specs
    neotokyo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR5 3600
    Memory (part number)2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT (BLS8G4D240FSC) @3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2070 WINDFORCE 8G
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
    MonitorDell UltraSharp U2414H
    Storage #1WD Nvme Black 2018/WD Blue M.2 SATA 500GB
    Storage #2TOSHIBA P300 3TB
    CPU CoolerMSI Core FROZR L
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyAntec EAG550
    Mouse Logitech G203
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Mine also double post, some bios/uefi reset/clear it just posts normally when I first set the timing of my ram, but then I touch something in the memory settings it starts to double posts. It never double posts if I don't touch the ram and everything is set to "auto". Not sure if it's related, but when it starts to double posts, if I revert APM Erp settings back to "disabled" from "s5" or "s4+s5", it stops double posting.
    ram is Crucial Balistix Sport LT 2400Mhz (Micron rev.b/b-die from 2016) @3200 16-19-19-19-39-73 or 17-19-19-19-39-73.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by neotokyo View Post
    Mine also double post, some bios/uefi reset/clear it just posts normally when I first set the timing of my ram, but then I touch something in the memory settings it starts to double posts. It never double posts if I don't touch the ram and everything is set to "auto". Not sure if it's related, but when it starts to double posts, if I revert APM Erp settings back to "disabled" from "s5" or "s4+s5", it stops double posting.
    ram is Crucial Balistix Sport LT 2400Mhz (Micron rev.b/b-die from 2016) @3200 16-19-19-19-39-73 or 17-19-19-19-39-73.
    so, with APM Erp set to disable and memory is oc, the double boot stop?

    how about reboot?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array neotokyo PC Specs
    neotokyo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR5 3600
    Memory (part number)2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT (BLS8G4D240FSC) @3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2070 WINDFORCE 8G
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
    MonitorDell UltraSharp U2414H
    Storage #1WD Nvme Black 2018/WD Blue M.2 SATA 500GB
    Storage #2TOSHIBA P300 3TB
    CPU CoolerMSI Core FROZR L
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyAntec EAG550
    Mouse Logitech G203
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    I've never had a double boot during a reboot. Only when I shutdown my computer and start it again, immediately or a while later.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by neotokyo View Post
    I've never had a double boot during a reboot. Only when I shutdown my computer and start it again, immediately or a while later.
    Same here. I have no problem at all with reboot. The double post will only happen if I cold boot or power down then up.

    Lately, I am starting to experience system freeze as well if I enable DOCP. So, I am back to 2133 (instead of 3200) now. At least it's stable until I run a thorough memtest.

    Do you guys think changing RAM will help?

    Or is it related to my total RAM of 64GB (utilized all 4 banks)?
    Last edited by danielyeap; 09-05-2019 at 03:50 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    996

    Quote Originally Posted by neotokyo View Post
    Mine also double post, some bios/uefi reset/clear it just posts normally when I first set the timing of my ram, but then I touch something in the memory settings it starts to double posts. It never double posts if I don't touch the ram and everything is set to "auto". Not sure if it's related, but when it starts to double posts, if I revert APM Erp settings back to "disabled" from "s5" or "s4+s5", it stops double posting.
    ram is Crucial Balistix Sport LT 2400Mhz (Micron rev.b/b-die from 2016) @3200 16-19-19-19-39-73 or 17-19-19-19-39-73.
    Shaminio's post does explain the reason...
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array neotokyo PC Specs
    neotokyo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR5 3600
    Memory (part number)2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT (BLS8G4D240FSC) @3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2070 WINDFORCE 8G
    Graphics Card #2MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
    MonitorDell UltraSharp U2414H
    Storage #1WD Nvme Black 2018/WD Blue M.2 SATA 500GB
    Storage #2TOSHIBA P300 3TB
    CPU CoolerMSI Core FROZR L
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyAntec EAG550
    Mouse Logitech G203
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Shaminio's post does explain the reason...
    I've read it...............................

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    996

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Shaminio's post does explain the reason...
    Quote Originally Posted by neotokyo View Post
    I've read it...............................
    So we've been given the reason. I don't believe ASUS can make changes to how PSP (Platform Security Processor) restricts aspects. So I don't understand why the discussions keep happening on this aspect of post?

    To me I really don't care on how post occurs, as long as it occurs within reasonable time and is done properly, so things are stable.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •