Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7820X 3.6 GHz @ 4 GHz
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4A3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    Monitor2x ASUS VG248QE, 24"
    Storage #12x SSD: WD Blue 1 TB, WD Black 1 TB
    Storage #2HDD: WD Red, 1 TB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    Casebe quiet! SILENT BASE 800
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 @ 3200 dpi
    Headset DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Ubuntu 16.04, Win 10 Home 64bit, 1903
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    45

    Reboots and SATA drives not detected when AE-9 is in

    Hi folks,

    I've got a Sound Blaster AE9 with X299-E. The card on its own works as expected, but it is causing quite a havoc if I have any SATA drives attached.

    Symptoms

    Two symptoms. The first one, there is a strange cycle of three reboots that is happening when I:

    - Reseat the AE-9, or
    - Attach any SSD drives to Sata Connectors

    I've made a recording of the MOBO state indicator:
    indicators while the reboots are happening:

    So, it goes up to E7, then it drops back to 00. Then it rolls up to 9A, 88, drops to 00 and shuts down briefly. Then it starts again, rolls to b0, 80, 00... then 60, 61, 8A, 9A, 88, 00... shuts down briefly and starts again. Then again 00, ... A3, 88, b0, 88, AF, 88, 00, ... some time on bd, ... , some time on bC, ... some time on 22, ... some time on b2, ... some time on 9C, and then it travels a bit more to A0 (bios screen telling of inappropriate shut down.

    The second symptom is that no SSD drives attached to SATA slots are visible.

    Attempts to amend the situation

    - I tried relocating the AE-9 to another PCIe slot. I've only got two slots where I can place it and neither works fine. The card's behavior is the same. The only drive that I can use (and am using now) is the M.2 NVME SSD.
    - I tried different power and SATA connectors for the drives (no luck)
    - I tried to run the card without PCIe power cable (and without the ACM unit that utilizes it)
    - I've tried different PCIe power cables (which was unlikely to fix things, because the card works otherwise)
    - I've summed up how much power is being used, just in case I don't have enough power. That is like:

    * X299-E: 40 W
    * RAM: 12 W
    * i7-7820X: 140 W
    * Dark Rock Pro 3: 30 W?
    * GTX 1080 Ti Strix: 350 W
    * HDD, 2x SSD, M2 SSD: say 20 W
    * AE-9: 75 W

    Total: 667 W
    Supply: 1000 W

    I don't think that this is lack of wattage.

    Halp!

    What is happening? What can I do? Thanks
    A Quaker here

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7820X 3.6 GHz @ 4 GHz
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4A3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    Monitor2x ASUS VG248QE, 24"
    Storage #12x SSD: WD Blue 1 TB, WD Black 1 TB
    Storage #2HDD: WD Red, 1 TB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    Casebe quiet! SILENT BASE 800
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 @ 3200 dpi
    Headset DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Ubuntu 16.04, Win 10 Home 64bit, 1903
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    45

    News:

    - Using the P1 and P2 SATA connectors made two SSDs visible again.
    - Reseating the AE-9 (e.g., to another PCIe slot) still causes a one-off triple to quadruple reboot on next start
    - Most of the time, the BIOS is still non-responsive to boot sequence changes

    I am still trying to stabilize boot to save my choices and to regain the SATA connectors.

    ---

    I've had a closer look at the docs for my MOBO and the board itself. Found a few things:

    1. AE-9 may be seizing some assets. I found this handy piece of information in the manual:

    PCIe 3.0/2.0 x4 slot share with SATA_56 ports and SATA_78 ports
    when use device in x4 mode. Adjust BIOS settings to use SATA
    devices.
    2. One ATX power connector was unplugged

    The connector is the 4-pin EATX12V_2. It has been unplugged for years. Well, now I gave it some P8/P4 power. I plugged the P4 part of the cable in it. The other two ATX connectors were already plugged.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190906_221339.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	538.6 KB 
ID:	81757

    3. The CPU was not on overclock setting

    The CPU_OV, CPU Over Voltage Jumper was on the 'disable' setting. Well, I wanted to OC the CPU above 4.0 GHz, but attempts left me wondering why aren't there options. Here you go, I put it to 'enable' setting.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190906_215627.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	51.7 KB 
ID:	81758

    4. System panel connector had speakers short-circuited with the ground, some items not entirely plugged.

    It happens when there is a lack of space (and light). I don't think this was causing something notable. I corrected those.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20190906_215934.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	465.7 KB 
ID:	81756
    A Quaker here

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    248

    Your manual also mentions not using the first Sata port when an M2 is installed.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7820X 3.6 GHz @ 4 GHz
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4A3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    Monitor2x ASUS VG248QE, 24"
    Storage #12x SSD: WD Blue 1 TB, WD Black 1 TB
    Storage #2HDD: WD Red, 1 TB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    Casebe quiet! SILENT BASE 800
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 @ 3200 dpi
    Headset DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Ubuntu 16.04, Win 10 Home 64bit, 1903
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by G75rog View Post
    Your manual also mentions not using the first Sata port when an M2 is installed.
    Thanks, I see it.

    The M.2_1 socket shares SATA_1 port when use M.2 SATA mode device. Adjust BIOS settings to use a SATA device.
    I am reluctant to mention that it doesn't sound like proper English to me. However, from what I make out of it, this refers to the M.2_1, while I am using only M.2_2. I could play with freeing up the P1, but this looks like it shan't make a difference.
    A Quaker here

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array martine-dee PC Specs
    martine-dee PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7820X 3.6 GHz @ 4 GHz
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4A3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Strix Gaming, 11 GB VRAM
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster AE-9
    Monitor2x ASUS VG248QE, 24"
    Storage #12x SSD: WD Blue 1 TB, WD Black 1 TB
    Storage #2HDD: WD Red, 1 TB
    CPU Coolerbe quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    Casebe quiet! SILENT BASE 800
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex 7, Red
    Mouse Logitech G403 @ 3200 dpi
    Headset DT 770 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    Headset/Speakers Creative Inspire T6300
    OS Ubuntu 16.04, Win 10 Home 64bit, 1903
    martine-dee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    45

    Okay, by now I stabilized things. Sorta.

    I am not reseating the sound card, only using the SATA connectors P1 and P2, and M.2_2. Things are stable for the time being: no more wild resets or such. The BIOS still forgets the boot sequence, but I have F7-F8 for that. I will keep the thread updated with what happens when I try to expand to P3, P4, and P5.

    The card works in the following aspects... I can hear the sound through headphones or speakers. I can use a XLR phantom power mic. I tried plugging my S10 earphones into the headset sock and the impedance was just too great for practical use. On max boost I can hear my voice at moment come through the base noise. It is fine with the XLR mic, but that thing costed me additional whooping EUR 150+.
    Last edited by martine-dee; 09-13-2019 at 09:15 PM.
    A Quaker here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •