cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recovery Partition

georgiejr
Level 7
Hi ROG,

I am new to this gaming laptop GL-504GW with the RTX 2070. I was perusing the disk partition using disk management console and saw a recovery partition. I assume this is to restore the laptop to its factory defaults. If my assumption is correct how do you restore this laptop back to the factory defaults.

Thank you for helping this novice.
4 REPLIES 4

Khean
Level 10
georgiejr wrote:
Hi ROG,

I am new to this gaming laptop GL-504GW with the RTX 2070. I was perusing the disk partition using disk management console and saw a recovery partition. I assume this is to restore the laptop to its factory defaults. If my assumption is correct how do you restore this laptop back to the factory defaults.

Thank you for helping this novice.

You need to use Windows Recovery.

hope this video will help you.

Thanks Khean. However, at the 1:28 pt in the video it mentions something about the recovery key. How and where does one obtain the recovery key? I was researching google re: bitlocker key and went to my Microsoft account and no bitlocker key found for my laptop. Now, I'm confused with this Reset PC option.

georgiejr wrote:
Thanks Khean. However, at the 1:28 pt in the video it mentions something about the recovery key. How and where does one obtain the recovery key? I was researching google re: bitlocker key and went to my Microsoft account and no bitlocker key found for my laptop. Now, I'm confused with this Reset PC option.

Hi georgiejr,

The standard partitions that Windows creates for a modern UEFI system are: