Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Vali Pali View Post
    Gupsterg already fixed it two weeks ago.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...e11#post782282
    That was SMU FW 46.34.00 and not SMU FW 46.49.00

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by benonikenobi View Post
    That was SMU FW 46.34.00 and not SMU FW 46.49.00
    Yes, but it still fixed the boost.

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Vali Pali View Post
    Yes, but it still fixed the boost.
    No, it didn't. The new SMU has firmware updates of an issue that amd had with all previous versions. Boost clock doesn't equal performance.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    985

    SMU FW v46.34.00 did gain me back performance as well as CPU MHz.

    SMU FW v46.49.00 is using ~25mV MAX and ~10mV on average for CPU Core Voltage SVI2 TFN for same CPU/RAM OC.

    See WMVs in this ZIP, that post also had benches of say stock UEFI 2406/2501/0068/0002 and then with SMU mod of v46.34.00 & v46.49.00.

    Hopefully ASUS shoot out a new UEFI containing SMU FW 46.49.00 soon, rather than us having to use a UEFI with AGESA 1.0.0.3ABB with it modded in.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array Hurricane28 PC Specs
    Hurricane28 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair 7 hero wifi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600 x
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix RTX 2060 Gaming advanced
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Logitech G935
    Network RouterFritzbox 7590

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    Maybe Asus will surprise us, they have been very silent
    Oh they are going to surprise us alright, but not in a good way though..

    They always surprise me how good they can screw up a BIOS and blame it on AMD or someone/thing else..

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    They are working hard to make sure they over volt the CPU and then blame it on AMD lol. I have asrock x570 pro in another system. Idle voltage is hands down better. My processor always stays at less than 1.25v average. But asus croshair viii stays at 1.4+v most of the time. Yea it dips to sub 1v at times but average is always around 1.4v. I think they waste way too much time on extra **** that doesn't mean anything and need to stop overdoing things.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX/CorsairLP @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI 1080Ti @ Water
    Sound CardSteinberg UR22
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #1256GB Samsung 950 Pro NVMe
    Storage #22xSSD:s, 4xHDD:s
    CPU CoolerAntec 620 AIO push-pull 2xNidec Gentle Typhoon 1450rpm
    CaseCorsair Carbide 200R
    Power SupplyCooler Master V550S
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 preview build 16237
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    285

    Quote Originally Posted by nitinkumar00 View Post
    They are working hard to make sure they over volt the CPU and then blame it on AMD lol. I have asrock x570 pro in another system. Idle voltage is hands down better. My processor always stays at less than 1.25v average. But asus croshair viii stays at 1.4+v most of the time. Yea it dips to sub 1v at times but average is always around 1.4v. I think they waste way too much time on extra **** that doesn't mean anything and need to stop overdoing things.
    Idle voltage is intended to be high on Ryzen 3000, it's a design decision from AMD which benefits the latency of boosts. From 40ms down to 1ms with CPPC2. If you remove that, you remove the fast latency.

    High idle voltage doesn't do any harm, becuase in idle there is no consumption of power and there is no current flowing. I think a lot of you keyboard warriors mix match voltage with current and power. They are totally different entities and are coupled together in Ohms law.
    R9 3900X - Crosshair VII - 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB@3800MHz 1:1:1 - Corsair H150i Pro - 1080Ti@Water
    NZXT H700 - Corsair RM850x - 1TB 970 Evo Plus - BIOS 2801 (ABBA)

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    985

    Quote Originally Posted by nitinkumar00 View Post
    They are working hard to make sure they over volt the CPU and then blame it on AMD lol. I have asrock x570 pro in another system. Idle voltage is hands down better. My processor always stays at less than 1.25v average. But asus croshair viii stays at 1.4+v most of the time. Yea it dips to sub 1v at times but average is always around 1.4v. I think they waste way too much time on extra **** that doesn't mean anything and need to stop overdoing things.
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...801#post783844
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    Idle voltage is intended to be high on Ryzen 3000, it's a design decision from AMD which benefits the latency of boosts. From 40ms down to 1ms with CPPC2. If you remove that, you remove the fast latency.

    High idle voltage doesn't do any harm, becuase in idle there is no consumption of power and there is no current flowing. I think a lot of you keyboard warriors mix match voltage with current and power. They are totally different entities and are coupled together in Ohms law.
    Dude I know. I am not tripping about that. But it still shows asus needs to optimize things. Plus did you read my post. Both boards have ryzen 3000 processors. Crosshair viii has 3900x and asrock x570 pro 4 has 3600.

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Apples vs oranges. Crosshair viii hero does not equal crosshair vii. My 3600 does fine in my asrock board, not sure if it will do the same in asus board. But asus clearly needs to optimize crosshair viii. So like I said those are not the same boards.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •