Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array zathmi PC Specs
    zathmi PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3900x
    Memory (part number)4x CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 3000 (PC4 24000)
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce RTX 2080 Super GAMING OC 8G
    Graphics Card #2GIGABYTE GeForce RTX 2080 GAMING OC 8G
    Storage #1Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 2TB PCI-Express 3.0 x4 3D NAND Internal (SSD)
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" SATA III 2TB SSD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 280mm
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HXi Series HX1200i 1200W 80 PLUS PLATINUM power source
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64

    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Crosshair VIII Formula will not post, HDD Code: 02 Post Error

    • Ryzen 9 3900x
    • ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    • GIGABYTE GeForce RTX 2080 Super GAMING OC 8G
    • 4x: CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 3000 (PC4 24000)
    • NZXT Kraken X62 280mm
    • Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 2TB PCI-Express 3.0 x4 3D NAND Internal (SSD)
    • Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" SATA III 2TB SSD
    • CORSAIR HXi Series HX1200i 1200W 80 PLUS PLATINUM power source



    New system build, first boot went perfectly. Went through BIOS and Windows 10 setup without a hitch. All hardware was detected and running normally. Standards speeds, no OCing. Temps all satisfactory and constant. Once up and online updated the BIOS, Windows, and all of the drivers to the newest versions. Went through a number of the standard soft restarts that come with a new build setup, no problems. Got to the point where it was time for bed so I shut down completely and unplugged the power and all other cables so there were no unexpected updates or power issues overnight. The next day I plugged everything back in and attempted the first cold boot since setup, which stuck in the post. Everything seems to be getting power and functioning. The display on the motherboard goes through the CPU and VGA post okay but when it gets to the HDD post it hangs on "HDD Code: 02" then gives the "Code: 02 Post Error" and just stops. Does not finish microcode loading and does not proceed to BIOS/system boot.

    Pic:
    View: https://imgur.com/a/p7FOYgh


    Video:
    View: https://youtu.be/JqGOZsNVKn8


    Troubleshooting:

    • Reflashed BIOS to both versions available on ASUS support (Version 0702 & Version 0803).
    • Tried: CMOS reset, slow mode reboot, Safe BIOS mode reboot
    • Tried all configurations for the LN2 Mode Jumper
    • Reseated everything except the processor (don't currently have more thermal paste but the system booted fine the first time so issues in the CPU are unlikely).
    • Tried minimal setup with just processor, 1 stick of RAM, Vid card, and 1 storage device (tried each SSD, a magnetic HDD, a USB drive, and no storage at all, all separately).
    • Have checked all components (except CPU) individually on another system. No issues.


    My only guess at this point is maybe an error in the newer BIOS versions. Does anyone know if the factory BIOS is different from the versions available for download?
    Last edited by zathmi; 09-09-2019 at 09:45 PM. Reason: Fixed title

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Also experiencing this kind of issues, on a ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Formula. When i need to restart the pc, it just keeps on trying to post until it after 5-6 attempts stops at "HDD Code: 02" and "Code: 02 Post Error". If i clear CMOS and removes the power cord, and then wait 1 minut. if lucky it boots the bios into safemode and boot just fine. I have one time experienced same issue on a cold boot with the Code: 02 Post Error, but a simple restart on the case fixes it.

    Ryzen 9 3900x
    ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Lightning Z
    4x F4-3600C14Q-32GTZN
    ASUS ROG RYUJIN 360
    Corsair Force Series MP600 2TB
    Samsung 850 EVO 2TB SSD

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @3800 15-15-15-30 CR1 or @3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    609

    You have a single M2 drive and read few times that having something in SATA 1 may cause conflict.

    Make sure you have nothing plugged in SATA 1 and retry. If you have two m2 then SATA 1 & 2, clear them, and plug into other ports available.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 09-23-2019 at 03:29 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I have this problem as well and have tried all the troubleshooting steps as listed in the above posts and have also tried swapping out all components including psu and cpu for known to be good or brand new components , I ran the board with it's temporary 3600 cpu ( soon to be 3950X ) for around 4 weeks then one day after installing a new game and doing initial setup on it the computer crashed and went to a black screen and fron onwards all I get is this error 02 on the display screen .Anyone have any ideas ?.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I have found the reason for the post 02 error now , it was a faulty hdmi cable so if you have this problem and you use hdmi it should be on your checklist .

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by bowdog522 View Post
    I have found the reason for the post 02 error now , it was a faulty hdmi cable so if you have this problem and you use hdmi it should be on your checklist .
    Same here. Struggled with the 02 error code on a new board. Returned and replaced with a 2nd board..same issue. Then I removed my HDMI switch and cabled the RTX 2070 Super DIRECT to my monitor and the board booted with no problems. Once boot was complete and the BIOS configed, I was able to reinstall the HDMI switch without further 02 error code stops.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •