Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Crosshair VI No Boot or POST

    Specs:

    AMD 1700x
    G.Skill TridentZ 3200mhz 16GB
    EK Supremacy EVO Waterblock (I am aware of the pressure issues regarding this heatsink)
    Nvidia GTX 980Ti
    EVGA 1000 P2

    I am unable to get the motherboard to boot at all, and am unable to POST to get into the BIOS. I do not see any lighting effects other than the green CPU-READY light when the PSU is switched on as well an no Q-codes appearing. The start and safe-boot buttons do not initialize anything. I have reseated the CPU, RAM sticks, and GPU in multiple configurations. I have ensured that the 24 pin and i pin PSU cables are connected. I have also tried to clear CMOS both by the back panel button as well as removing the CMOS battery and unplugging the power cord and let sit overnight to discharge. I replaced the the battery with a new one and the same symptoms still persist. I believe the latest BIOS version is 1701.
    Last edited by ronkastner33; 09-09-2019 at 11:49 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by ronkastner33 View Post
    Specs:

    AMD 1700x
    G.Skill TridentZ 3200mhz 16GB
    EK Supremacy EVO Waterblock (I am aware of the pressure issues regarding this heatsink)
    Nvidia GTX 980Ti
    EVGA 1000 P2

    I am unable to get the motherboard to boot at all, and am unable to POST to get into the BIOS. I do not see any lighting effects other than the green CPU-READY light when the PSU is switched on as well an no Q-codes appearing. The start and safe-boot buttons do not initialize anything. I have reseated the CPU, RAM sticks, and GPU in multiple configurations. I have ensured that the 24 pin and i pin PSU cables are connected. I have also tried to clear CMOS both by the back panel button as well as removing the CMOS battery and unplugging the power cord and let sit overnight to discharge. I replaced the the battery with a new one and the same symptoms still persist. I believe the latest BIOS version is 1701.

    Only asking because your post does not specifically say: Do you have the 8-pin CPU power plug connected from your power supply? Connecting the 4-pin one is optional, but the 8-pin one is absolutely required. And if you ARE using the 8-pin power connector, make sure you have not accidentally plugged a PCIe 8-pin into it (I had a guy manage to do that once, strange since it isn't supposed to fit and yet he managed it - it didn't actually damage anything, thankfully, but it didn't work either)

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    @mvmiller12, yes I have the 8-pin CPU power plug connected. I also made sure to verify and re-connect the power cables both at their respective motherboard and psu connections.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Legate PC Specs
    Legate PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5 3600
    Memory (part number)Viper Steel 4000@3800
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 FTW HYBRID
    Storage #1Sabrent 1tb rocket nvme
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i GTX
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P400s
    Power SupplyEVGA 750w GQ
    Legate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I had the same problem, the culprit was the PSU. I tried using another PSU and everything was right.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array andyliu PC Specs
    andyliu PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)(32GB) 2*F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 FTW
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 850 500GB
    Storage #2Mushkin Enhanced ECO3 480GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCooler Master H500M
    Power SupplyThermaltake TOUGHPOWER 750W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC3100 + PCE-AC88

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    169

    well, since you have the EK's block
    try to trim the wing on the gasket or duct tape it.
    the gasket can be conductive and can cause issue.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/overclockin..._gasket_ryzen/


    you can also loose the knobs a bit to see if you can boot.
    Last edited by andyliu; 09-12-2019 at 08:12 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    @Legate, I hooked up the motherboard to another spare PSU and no changes.

    @andyliu, I ended up trying what was suggested in the reddit post by clipping the rubber gasket edges as well as loosened the screws holding the waterblock down and unfortunately did not do anything.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array andyliu PC Specs
    andyliu PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)(32GB) 2*F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 FTW
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 850 500GB
    Storage #2Mushkin Enhanced ECO3 480GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCooler Master H500M
    Power SupplyThermaltake TOUGHPOWER 750W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC3100 + PCE-AC88

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    169

    Quote Originally Posted by ronkastner33 View Post
    @Legate, I hooked up the motherboard to another spare PSU and no changes.

    @andyliu, I ended up trying what was suggested in the reddit post by clipping the rubber gasket edges as well as loosened the screws holding the waterblock down and unfortunately did not do anything.
    that's unfortunate.
    I had recently upgrade the cooling to ek's and that's how I solved the issue I had with motherboard light up (RGB n whatever lights) but wont boot.
    I knew there was a short somewhere because I never had issue before with AIO. All I replaced was the cooling.
    I did try the pressure thing by removing the center piece, but I still experience the non-boot.
    back and forth with ek support, not that helpful either. Google was ultimately helped me lolz.
    I duct taping the gasket and solve the issue.

    is your system new build? If so, I will try to completely remove the EK waterblock first and just put the included box cooler on the cpu to test if it boots.
    dont really need to lock anything in, just for a quick test.

    if it boots, maybe try the waterblock again, only this time, dont screw it too tie.
    What I do is to lightly holding the knobs and screw those knobs in. I turn the knobs while holding them lighting with just 2 fingers.
    I stop as soon as I can't turn them without holding the knobs firmly.

    if it still not boot, I would go as far as pulling the board out and just leave it on the cardboard box to test if it will boot.
    Normally, I would have done it first to make sure everything boots up before I install though.

    I would also inspect the pin on cpu to see if there is any bent pin, if you have recently done any change or new install the CPU
    Last edited by andyliu; 09-13-2019 at 01:43 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •