Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array matbry01 PC Specs
    matbry01 PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus XI code
    Processori7 9700K o.c to 5ghz
    Memory (part number)32G corsair vengeance pro RGB 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1nvidia RTX 2070 super
    Sound Cardn/a
    Storage #1samsung 970 pro 512G m.2 X2 raid 0
    Storage #2seagate barracuda 3TB
    CPU Coolerfull ek custom loop supermercy + vector.
    Casecorsair crystal 570X RGB
    Power Supplycorsair 850 full modular
    Keyboard corsair k70 2.0
    Mouse roccat kova
    Headset astro a50
    Mouse Pad corsair desk pad
    OS windows 10 1903

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    m.2 cover heatsink screws

    after having a failed attempt in contacting asus on what screws are for the cover of the m.2 cover on the XI code board does anyone know what screws they are ?
    reason being they have lock tight on them for some stupid reason, I remove my drives to update my bios as I have them in raid, remove drives, update bios, re upload profiles, then replace drives and then back into windows. and for obvious reason if I update the bios I will loos the array.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1TB (Boot) & 970 EVO 2TB (Scratch)
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 + Corsair MM800 Polaris (EU)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit, 2x LS100 RGB kit + 450mm expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    211

    Can't say what screws they are, but removing the drives for every bios update is asking for component failure. Sounds like you're scared of data loss? As in sooner or later you might drop one, or one of the gold contacts will get damage (on the drive or the port),... If they're installed, leave them in there. The bios will loose the raid configuration whether they are installed or not. That's the ONLY thing it will lose, the raid configuration. YOU WILL NOT LOSE ANY DATA THATS ACTUALLY ON THE DRIVE.

    You'll only have to recreate the array and everything should boot up immediately.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array matbry01 PC Specs
    matbry01 PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus XI code
    Processori7 9700K o.c to 5ghz
    Memory (part number)32G corsair vengeance pro RGB 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1nvidia RTX 2070 super
    Sound Cardn/a
    Storage #1samsung 970 pro 512G m.2 X2 raid 0
    Storage #2seagate barracuda 3TB
    CPU Coolerfull ek custom loop supermercy + vector.
    Casecorsair crystal 570X RGB
    Power Supplycorsair 850 full modular
    Keyboard corsair k70 2.0
    Mouse roccat kova
    Headset astro a50
    Mouse Pad corsair desk pad
    OS windows 10 1903

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
    Can't say what screws they are, but removing the drives for every bios update is asking for component failure. Sounds like you're scared of data loss? As in sooner or later you might drop one, or one of the gold contacts will get damage (on the drive or the port),... If they're installed, leave them in there. The bios will loose the raid configuration whether they are installed or not. That's the ONLY thing it will lose, the raid configuration. YOU WILL NOT LOSE ANY DATA THATS ACTUALLY ON THE DRIVE.

    You'll only have to recreate the array and everything should boot up immediately.
    I am not scared of data loss, just a pain in the rear in having to install everything back on it, now I tried re doing the configuration and it just will not boot at all after a update. do oyu know a way to get it to boot after a update at all ? would be greatly appreciated if you do

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1TB (Boot) & 970 EVO 2TB (Scratch)
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 + Corsair MM800 Polaris (EU)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit, 2x LS100 RGB kit + 450mm expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    211

    Nope sorry, i don't use raid for among other reasons, precisely the problem you're having. One of the other reasons is that a single nvme drive alone (especially the likes of a 970 pro like you're using) is capable of maxing out the pci-e lane throughput allowed. See if this video is of any help. One of my fav youtubers. It isn't exactly the same board or platform, but it may give you an idea. (on why raid on an nvme is just plain pointless) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_wjktb1wP4

    From what i recall its something like

    1. Disable CSM in bios
    2. Enable raid support in bios
    3. then assign the drives to the array
    4. then actually create the raid

    Could also see if the easy tuning wizard is of assistance https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V3_WEB.pdf (page 3-11) of your manual or this specific Asus Raid Configuration Guide for your board https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._EM_V4_WEB.PDF

    When you've manage to succesfully set the bios settings and recreate the array, windows should just boot. Maybe all this hassle will convince you it's not worth the pain, because you'll have to do it EVERY SINGLE TIME you update your bios

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array matbry01 PC Specs
    matbry01 PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus XI code
    Processori7 9700K o.c to 5ghz
    Memory (part number)32G corsair vengeance pro RGB 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1nvidia RTX 2070 super
    Sound Cardn/a
    Storage #1samsung 970 pro 512G m.2 X2 raid 0
    Storage #2seagate barracuda 3TB
    CPU Coolerfull ek custom loop supermercy + vector.
    Casecorsair crystal 570X RGB
    Power Supplycorsair 850 full modular
    Keyboard corsair k70 2.0
    Mouse roccat kova
    Headset astro a50
    Mouse Pad corsair desk pad
    OS windows 10 1903

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
    Nope sorry, i don't use raid for among other reasons, precisely the problem you're having. One of the other reasons is that a single nvme drive alone (especially the likes of a 970 pro like you're using) is capable of maxing out the pci-e lane throughput allowed. See if this video is of any help. One of my fav youtubers. It isn't exactly the same board or platform, but it may give you an idea. (on why raid on an nvme is just plain pointless) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_wjktb1wP4

    From what i recall its something like

    1. Disable CSM in bios
    2. Enable raid support in bios
    3. then assign the drives to the array
    4. then actually create the raid

    Could also see if the easy tuning wizard is of assistance https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V3_WEB.pdf (page 3-11) of your manual or this specific Asus Raid Configuration Guide for your board https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._EM_V4_WEB.PDF

    When you've manage to succesfully set the bios settings and recreate the array, windows should just boot. Maybe all this hassle will convince you it's not worth the pain, because you'll have to do it EVERY SINGLE TIME you update your bios

    thankyou ! that was a very interesting watch there, the only reason I have it in raid was I bought 1 512G drive then I ended up buying another one to then have it as one drive rather than 2 separate drives, I also do a fair bit of photo editing have hundreds of photos that are big files I shift back and forth on my pc anyway. I shall look into acronus and have a play with it and if it does happen again I shall give this ago.
    many thanks !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •