Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: sad face.

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    sad face.

    So last night I changed my ram in bios from "auto" 1600, to manual "ddr3 1866".. It crashed and bsod' and came up with a bajillion error codes and my firewall wouldn't let me open ANYTHING !!! After many hours passed... I formatted everything and reinstalled windows completely.
    All is set to "auto" in bios except "amd turbo core" is disabled. A it bsod' me. I've completed Memcheck.. All is fine.
    But for some reason, my cha_fan1 and 2 Ports on my boared lose power for a quick second just as the PC comes into windows. and sometimes bringing up a chassis fan error pop up just above my clock. Bottom right'. I know.out losses power cause my 200 mm LED fan flashes on and off for.one wick second.. It was fine before three reinstall..
    Please help me
    Mobo - Sabertooth 990 fx R 2.0.
    CPU - AMD fx 8150 4114.9 MHz 24/7 OC. 1.2500v
    Cooler - Noctua NH D-14.
    Ram - 16gig Patriot Viper 1866.
    SSD - 60 Gig OCZ Vertex.
    PSU - Corsair HX 750
    VGA - ASUS HD 7970 direct CU ii.
    CASE - Thermaltake Level 10 GT

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array UltraNEO* PC Specs
    UltraNEO* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 13
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3600C17Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q (x3)
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1Tb (x4)
    CPU CoolerCustom Watercooled
    CaseCaseLabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Keyboard Paradise Custom
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers ART SLA2 Linear Amp with JBL Control 5
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterPF Sense
    Accessory #1 Logitech Brio 4k
    Accessory #2 Logitech PowerPlay Game Pad
    UltraNEO*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    605

    If it's 1866mhz ram, why not choose the XMP profile?
    ASUS ROG RVIE Encore| i9-10940x | Dominator Platinum 128GB 3333 MHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti SLI | Samsung 970 Pro 1TB NVMe (x3)
    WD Black 4TB | WD Black 6TB x2 | EVGA 1600 P2 | CaseLabs SMA8 | Custom Water Cooling | HWLabs Black Ice Nemesis GTX 560
    XSPC RX 480 v3 | XSPC D5 Vario x2 | EK Blocks | EK-RES X3 400 | BitsPower Fittings | GentleTypoon 1850 x12 | Corsair SP140 x8 | Lamptron CM615

    Twitch.tv/MsNikita | Twitter.com/MsNikitaTV | Instagram.com/MsNikitaTV | Reddit.com/r/MsNikitaTV

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    XMP ?
    And no clues about my fan ?
    Mobo - Sabertooth 990 fx R 2.0.
    CPU - AMD fx 8150 4114.9 MHz 24/7 OC. 1.2500v
    Cooler - Noctua NH D-14.
    Ram - 16gig Patriot Viper 1866.
    SSD - 60 Gig OCZ Vertex.
    PSU - Corsair HX 750
    VGA - ASUS HD 7970 direct CU ii.
    CASE - Thermaltake Level 10 GT

  4. #4
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    luke, it almost sounds like you have a Power Supply problem. Check your connectors and see if they are plugged in all the way or if they are getting hot, then put your hand on the side of the Power Supply and see how hot it is. Now for the last possibility, Get Rid of that ThermalTake Power Supply. I have posted several comments about them and the Toughpower XT line(all of them) have a very dirty output that it will cause everything your complaining about. I first learned about this problem from a site called Hardware Secrets where they even tear them apart to see how well they are made. In the latest reviews they said that Thermaltake has cleaned it up but I still don't trust them.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    :-\ I'll go over all the modular connections tonight, pull them out and clip then back into the PSU again just to makesure, I'll check all my fan cables and make sure they are all seated in the fan headers properly. ( all my fans are plugged into my boared)
    if it is my PSU I'll get very upset as it's as new as the whole system maybe 2 months.. And it was 180 clams..
    Thankyou for the advice, I'll let you know
    Mobo - Sabertooth 990 fx R 2.0.
    CPU - AMD fx 8150 4114.9 MHz 24/7 OC. 1.2500v
    Cooler - Noctua NH D-14.
    Ram - 16gig Patriot Viper 1866.
    SSD - 60 Gig OCZ Vertex.
    PSU - Corsair HX 750
    VGA - ASUS HD 7970 direct CU ii.
    CASE - Thermaltake Level 10 GT

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Everything is all good and connected.. It has the correct voltage everywhere..
    It seems only the "cha_fan" headers are causing the problems turning fans on and off for a split second..
    I have no clue
    Mobo - Sabertooth 990 fx R 2.0.
    CPU - AMD fx 8150 4114.9 MHz 24/7 OC. 1.2500v
    Cooler - Noctua NH D-14.
    Ram - 16gig Patriot Viper 1866.
    SSD - 60 Gig OCZ Vertex.
    PSU - Corsair HX 750
    VGA - ASUS HD 7970 direct CU ii.
    CASE - Thermaltake Level 10 GT

  7. #7
    Shut Up Stupid! Array DaemonCantor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    175
    Posts
    2,289

    By chance do you have another PSU to test with, I would do that just to eliminate the one problem. If it is still there with the other PSU then it's in the Mother Board itself and you might end up RMA'ing it.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    RMA'ing ???? I do but it's another thermaltake lol.
    Mobo - Sabertooth 990 fx R 2.0.
    CPU - AMD fx 8150 4114.9 MHz 24/7 OC. 1.2500v
    Cooler - Noctua NH D-14.
    Ram - 16gig Patriot Viper 1866.
    SSD - 60 Gig OCZ Vertex.
    PSU - Corsair HX 750
    VGA - ASUS HD 7970 direct CU ii.
    CASE - Thermaltake Level 10 GT

  9. #9
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Did you increase the voltage to the CPU memory controller and make sure you were running the correct RAM voltages too? Just increasing the memory frequency won't work alone as you found out, especially as you're running 4 DIMMs which requires far more voltage tweaking. Afaik Ripjaws X aren't specifically tailored for the AMD platform, but you could ask G.Skill recommended settings.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Na I just put it up to 1866 with no other changes. Cause the ram is 1866. The boared.just set it to auto 1600 as default. I originally only had 4 gig of ripjaws and that was running at 1866 just fine ? So.. Idk.. Is it possible that when it creaked it's ****ed my cha_fan circuit up ?
    It's weird..
    They run perfectly from when I press the button, then just a few seconds after it comes into windows, the fans that are plugged into any "cha_fan" port flash off for just a second..
    Mobo - Sabertooth 990 fx R 2.0.
    CPU - AMD fx 8150 4114.9 MHz 24/7 OC. 1.2500v
    Cooler - Noctua NH D-14.
    Ram - 16gig Patriot Viper 1866.
    SSD - 60 Gig OCZ Vertex.
    PSU - Corsair HX 750
    VGA - ASUS HD 7970 direct CU ii.
    CASE - Thermaltake Level 10 GT

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •