Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy X99-Deluxe: impossible to run XMP profile after bios flash

    Specs:
    X99-Deluxe
    5960x
    4x4GB G-SKILL Ripjaws4 DDR4-3000 CL15

    So yeah. This isn't the most brand spanking new thing I'm having a problem with today. More like my 5 year old system that's causing headaches.

    I decided to flash the bios to the latest version yesterday (mostly 'cause I hadn't done it in a while... ahem... an eternity), and because I figured it might actually solve one or the other stability issues I have been facing every now and then.

    So I upgraded from bios v1801 to v4001 (yes, there were a few years and iteration in-between).

    Interestingly, I was able to get pretty much all my overclocking settings as I previously had... but... IMPOSSIBLE to run the DDR4 at its rated speed.

    It would either go straight to code B7, or just cycle to bd a few times and end up giving up in CC (mobo status codes).

    The highest frequency I was able to boot at was 2400. No matter what strap, bclk and divider I chose.

    I started to think the ram might just have unseated itself, or got damaged in the bios flash... But then I flashed back to bios 1801, re-applied my profile and bam, XMP loads, 15-15-15-35 1T @ 3200 boots and loads without a glitch.

    After that I tried v4101 again, triple-checking I was running the exact same settings... but again, same crapping out above 2400 MHz.

    Is there a rational explanation as to why the new bios(es) won't allow the ram to work properly (anymore)? I'm staying on my (vulnerable) v1801 until further notice I suppose. Can't live with having a water-chilled top-of-the-line (2015 edition) PC with gimped DDR4.

  2. #2
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Well, I guess nobody's still running these dinosaur setups anymore I guess...

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,855

    Some builds can simply favour certain CPUs over others, as no two CPU are identical. If the system was working fine on the previous build, it's safe to leave it. Or, you can dial out the instability manually.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    I think I'm having the exact same issue with my rampage v edition 10. only now I cant get xmp to work on any bios version after the first flash...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,593

    For Haswell E I'd try the last of the 2XXX BIOSes

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array krantrold PC Specs
    krantrold PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 strix Gaming
    ProcessorI7 6850K
    Memory (part number)Corsair lpx 3000 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG poseidon 1080TI
    MonitorIIlyama X4071
    Storage #1Intel SSD 750 1.2
    Storage #2Crucial MX 500 512GB
    CPU CoolerRaystorm copper
    CaseXigmatek Elysium Mod
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 860
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB gaming
    Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB FSP
    Headset Sennheiser PC360
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500
    OS Windows 10 64
    krantrold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    I have X99 strix gaming with the last win 10 updates bios 2101 go to **** my graphic card
    with bios 1801 all things works 100 %

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    67
    Posts
    260

    Any time Ive changed the BIOS and had adverse effects I just roll it back. I normally pay the extra for the boards with dual BIOS so I can switch back using alternate BIOS ROM first before rolling back the other.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •