Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 94
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme burned 8 pin off the board.

    Ok here is what happened. Computer was running fine and I was about to do a reboot and go in to bios. I enter the bios and set load line on the cpu to high and set every thing for 4.8GHz. 1.4v for the cpu and every thing other than that at auto. Hit save and rebooted. Next thing I know i hear a pop and smell smoke then I see fire. I shut it down and pulled the power. the 8 pin was burned right off the board. The power cable for that 8 pin seems to be fine other than a little distortion and the remains of the 8 pin stuck to it.
    Now I know that 1.4v with high load line should in no way be enough to burn that off the board. Also there should be no way I can set a voltage high enough to do that. And the guy I talked to from asus said that because I had it over clocked it may not be covered because the overclock could have caused the problem. What the heck is that all about. Isn't this suppose to be the worlds best overclocking board. And can some one show me where it said if I over clock the worlds best overclocking motherboard that I void my warranty. I just cant see how using the advertised features of the board can possibly void it's warranty. Overclocking on a rampage 4 extreme is normal usage.

    I will be posting pictures later tonight of the damage.
    Last edited by mcj66106; 03-03-2012 at 12:23 AM.


    ACHOS
    i7 3930K|Asus RIVE|Dominator GT 2133 x 16GB|GTX580 AC block|Corsair X128|Titanium Fatal1ty|AX1200 and HX1000|CaseLabs M8|HK 3.0 chrome|Win 7

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    655

    Curious to see the photos!
    Can't wait, and that sucks man.
    I bet they'll take care of you though as it sounds like you haven't done anything to void the warranty.
    (It would suck if they denied you on the basis of overclocking, but the folks I've dealt with at ASUS seem to be a pretty good bunch, so I doubt that would happen.)

    Good luck!
    MB: ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697 v2 (Cooled by Corsair H100i w/ Noctua NF-F12 fans)
    RAM: 64GB G.SKILL RipjawsZ 1600 (10-10-10-30)
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X Hybrid
    TV Tuners: 2 * Hauppauge HVR-1800
    Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 2


  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Heck of thing to happen, just as well you were there to pick it up. Heaven forbid that had happened while your PC was unattended.

    Subscribed I want to see the images too.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    Ok here are the pix of the board and the power connector. From looking at the power connector you can see that it can not be the fault of the psu. (the psu is working 100% perfect right now) If the psu where pushing that much voltage or amps it would have burned the cables first and not the connector. This leads me to think that the fault is with the soldering connection on the board or possibly with the load line calibration. Both of witch are not user caused damage.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2012-02-29_15-21-14_751.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	454.6 KB 
ID:	6383Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2012-02-29_17-10-08_947.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	521.2 KB 
ID:	6384Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2012-02-29_17-11-11_386.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	566.0 KB 
ID:	6385
    Last edited by mcj66106; 03-01-2012 at 10:17 AM.


    ACHOS
    i7 3930K|Asus RIVE|Dominator GT 2133 x 16GB|GTX580 AC block|Corsair X128|Titanium Fatal1ty|AX1200 and HX1000|CaseLabs M8|HK 3.0 chrome|Win 7

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array 8 Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    916

    High LLC does put alot of current through that area as does the especially at 1.4v Vcore if the PC is heavily loaded. Was you actively cooling the VRM's as it says in the overclocking guide when using these settings.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    wow man that sucks, are you going to get this covered under warranty?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by 8 Pack View Post
    High LLC does put alot of current through that area as does the especially at 1.4v Vcore if the PC is heavily loaded. Was you actively cooling the VRM's as it says in the overclocking guide when using these settings.
    Yes I was cooling the VRM but it was not the VRM that burned. The only thing that burned was the plug in area. Also it was not under heavy load. I had just left the bios and it never had a chance to even begin to post.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gr3chie View Post
    wow man that sucks, are you going to get this covered under warranty?
    I cant say for sure at this point. But I can say that i will never buy another asus product if they do not honer the rma.

    Also i am not the only one with this problem. This is a link a thread on this forum where Tifone
    is having the very same problem with the exact same board. Link
    Last edited by mcj66106; 03-01-2012 at 11:18 AM.


    ACHOS
    i7 3930K|Asus RIVE|Dominator GT 2133 x 16GB|GTX580 AC block|Corsair X128|Titanium Fatal1ty|AX1200 and HX1000|CaseLabs M8|HK 3.0 chrome|Win 7

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    Is there any thing I could have possibly done in the bios that would make the mother board 8 pin connector burst in to flames?


    ACHOS
    i7 3930K|Asus RIVE|Dominator GT 2133 x 16GB|GTX580 AC block|Corsair X128|Titanium Fatal1ty|AX1200 and HX1000|CaseLabs M8|HK 3.0 chrome|Win 7

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    94
    Posts
    685

    its more than 50% likely bad contact of psu connector with MB pins.
    loose connection, rust on the connectors, you have bad contact, you have smaller surface area to transfer high amount of current. resistance and heat becomes a vicious cycle, hotter , higher resistance = hotter = higher resistance, finally that.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array 8 Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    916

    Hmm yes good point Shamino!!!

    The other thing I was thinking was maybe faulty PSU.

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •