Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question R6E - Can not get DIMM.2 drives to show in windows.

    So I have a 2TB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 installed on my motherboard for my Boot/OS drive and that has been working fine for me for over a year now.
    I just bought two 2TB 970 Evo Plus M.2's and installed them onto the DIMM.2 card an onto the motherboard.
    I enabled the DIMM.2 slot in the bios and checked the RAID setting and they show up in there, however it say's they are unsupported for raid?
    Also if I go into Disk Management in windows, I do not see either of the drives installed into the DIMM.2.

    Am I missing something here? I am on the most recent BIOS version and I have looked up other people asking the same-ish questions and I can not find a solution.

    I have a single GTX 1080Ti and an ElGato 4k60 Capture Card in the 4X slot on the motherboard. I have tried removing the capture card to see if that changes anything but no luck.

    First I want them to show up and second, I would really like to raid them into a single partition.

    Any help would be very appreciated!

    Edit: I can get one of the two new 970 Evo Plus M.2's to show up if I change from CPU to PCH.
    Last edited by Monty4G63; 10-31-2019 at 10:41 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    99

    Quote Originally Posted by Monty4G63 View Post
    So I have a 2TB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 installed on my motherboard for my Boot/OS drive and that has been working fine for me for over a year now.
    I just bought two 2TB 970 Evo Plus M.2's and installed them onto the DIMM.2 card an onto the motherboard.
    I enabled the DIMM.2 slot in the bios and checked the RAID setting and they show up in there, however it say's they are unsupported for raid?
    Also if I go into Disk Management in windows, I do not see either of the drives installed into the DIMM.2.

    Am I missing something here? I am on the most recent BIOS version and I have looked up other people asking the same-ish questions and I can not find a solution.

    I have a single GTX 1080Ti and an ElGato 4k60 Capture Card in the 4X slot on the motherboard. I have tried removing the capture card to see if that changes anything but no luck.

    First I want them to show up and second, I would really like to raid them into a single partition.

    Any help would be very appreciated!

    Edit: I can get one of the two new 970 Evo Plus M.2's to show up if I change from CPU to PCH.
    I'm running 2 960 Pro's in the DIMM 2 slot with no issues. They are configured as individual drives and not RAID though. Try installing one at a time as a regular drive to see if Windows recognizes it. Make sure they are seated properly (which they probably are if they are seen in the BIOS). What BIOS are you running? Version 1503 worked best for me so that is what I'm staying with.

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Homewrecker View Post
    I'm running 2 960 Pro's in the DIMM 2 slot with no issues. They are configured as individual drives and not RAID though. Try installing one at a time as a regular drive to see if Windows recognizes it. Make sure they are seated properly (which they probably are if they are seen in the BIOS). What BIOS are you running? Version 1503 worked best for me so that is what I'm staying with.
    I am on Bios Version 2002. I have tried reseating both drives and the DIMM.2 multiple times now and I am not having any luck.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Okay so I have finally gotten all drives to show up in both bios and Windows. Seems that selecting to use PCH over CPU and selecting Disable for PCIEX8_4 made it so they now show up. I guess the drives are not supported in CPU mode?

    So now at least I can find them, only issue is I can't seem to raid them, when I go to raid it see's only one of the 970 Evo Plus' and the 960 Pro. The 960 Pro has my OS and all of my data on it so I don't want to mess with that.

    New dilemma: Is there a way I can get these two cards on the DIMM.2 to raid or will I have to play musical chairs with my OS drive?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    248

    What CPU are you using?

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    7940x

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •