Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Chris Manico PC Specs
    Chris Manico PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorThreadripper 1950x
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 Ti FE
    Storage #1960 Pro 512 Gb NVMe
    Storage #2840 Pro 256 GB ssd
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqtech tr4 360
    CaseCorsair 540 AIR
    Power SupplyCorsair 860 AXi
    Keyboard Logitech 910+ Orion Spark
    Mouse Razer Naga 2012
    OS W10 Pro
    Chris Manico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    264

    Psu

    Evga gtx 580 -Requirements
    Minimum of a 600 Watt power supply.
    (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 42 Amps.)

    EVGA GTX 550 TI - Requirements
    Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply.
    (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 24 Amps.)


    pretty sure everything i've read was saying you need a high quality 1000 wat PSU atleast to SLI the 580's.


    not sure if the info i put in is going to be there but, if you input the info, even asus reccomends 1000 watts.

    http://support.asus.com/PowerSupply.aspx?SLanguage=en
    Corsair Carbide 540 Air ~ AMD FX 8350 ~ Asus Crosshair V Formula Z ~ 1901 BIOS ~ Corsair Dominator Platinum 2400 MHz 2x8 Gb CMD16X3M2A2400C10 ~ EVGA GTX 1080 Ti ~ Corsair AX860i PSU ~ Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb SATA 3 SSD ~ WD 4 TB 7200 RPM 64 MB ( RMA'd ) ~ Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum ~ Corsair SP2500 2.1 Gaming Speakers ~ 27 Samsung SA550 HD LED Monitor ~

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,783

    Quote Originally Posted by Corp$e View Post
    That shouldnt matter what hes running, an 850w is just fine. Look at my rig, I have no probs.

    I would keep switching parts around if u can, if everything is hooked up just right you should have no probs booting. Im wondering if your mobo or cpu might be bad. Where did you get these parts?

    AMD FX-8150 CPU
    CORSAIR WATER COOLING
    ASUS CROSSHAIR V FORMULA
    2 x 120GB OCZ AGILITY SSD RAID-0
    8GB CORSAIR 1866
    2 x GTX550Ti SLI
    850 CORSAIR POWER SUPPLY
    WINDOWS 7 PRO x64
    3 x DELL MONITORS
    Huge difference in power supply requirements between 560Ti's and 580's in SLI.

    Not even close in comparison...
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    I see that you have low voltage Crucial memory, would not be among my choices.
    Try booting with one stick of Corsair memory from your previuos build.
    Secondly, there is no way that you are going to adequately power two 580's with a CM 850W PSU.
    Yes, it's 80+ Bronze certified, but keep in mind that just one 580 requires min. 42 amps on the +12v rail.
    You have to consider the PSU output under continuous load, not just it's rated output.
    And now you're throwing a 125W CPU into the mix with your PSU, ever think about that?
    I thought I already went over this? I ran a system before with the two GTX 580's in place and had absolutely no problems - I don't.see how that would change when all I did was change the RAM, CPU, and Motherboard..especially when each actually consumes LESS wattage than what I had before.


    Quote Originally Posted by Corp$e View Post
    That shouldnt matter what hes running, an 850w is just fine. Look at my rig, I have no probs.

    I would keep switching parts around if u can, if everything is hooked up just right you should have no probs booting. Im wondering if your mobo or cpu might be bad. Where did you get these parts?

    AMD FX-8150 CPU
    CORSAIR WATER COOLING
    ASUS CROSSHAIR V FORMULA
    2 x 120GB OCZ AGILITY SSD RAID-0
    8GB CORSAIR 1866
    2 x GTX550Ti SLI
    850 CORSAIR POWER SUPPLY
    WINDOWS 7 PRO x64
    3 x DELL MONITORS
    I got them brand new from NewEgg, but I've already tried switching components around..also, I have tried with just one video card and RAM stick

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Well then something is wrong with one of your new hardware, either the cpu or the board. something isnt comunicating right,

    I just got my rig from newegg too, i did alot of searching and alot of ppl got DOA boards from newegg.
    Last edited by Corp$e; 03-03-2012 at 02:38 AM.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Corp$e View Post
    Well then something is wrong with one of your new hardware, either the cpu or the board. something isnt comunicating right,

    I just got my rig from newegg too, i did alot of searching and alot of ppl got DOA boards from newegg.
    Is there a known method to determine whether or not the motherboard is DOA for sure?
    Last edited by CrackBabySPORTS; 03-03-2012 at 04:40 AM.

  6. #16
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy

    Hi there, i,m having a similar problem....my config is:

    CPU: FX 8120
    COOLING: CORSAIR H80
    RAM: 8GB CORSAIR VENGENCE 1600 CS9
    MB: CROSSHAIR V (BIOS 1102)
    GPU: XFX RADEON 7970 3GB
    PSU: COOLER MASTER SILENT PRO 850M

    My problem is that i get the vga led red all the time (after cpu and ram leds flash for once). I dont have any signal on the monitor. The fan on the gfx is spinning full speed. The PSU has 6 "6 pin to 6+2 pin PCIe connectors. As you might know te 7970 need 8+6 for juice. In the first 2 pcie slots, card wont work at all. In the 3rd one it actually worked quite some times. I was able to get into windows but the screen had flashing lines/ artifacting all along (from post to windows - though only for a few cold boots and then it was ok as long as the colours were 16bit or less. But this was only with catalyst installed(the windows part only). with standard vga drivers, no such artifacting. On top of that, the card was always downclocked (core 300 and mem 150) with catalyst. Lauching anything 3d would bring the artifacting back and eventual full system hang.
    I have tried everything (like clearing CMOS, plugging the additional 4 pin molex for gpu on MB even though it should not be required, reseating everything, boot with only 1 ram in the last slot, boot with no I/O connected etc)
    And now.....its not working at all.....vga led is devil red......
    Just to check, i tried my old radeon 4870 512mb (6+6 pin).....and it works flawlessly....
    So guys.....is it the GPU, the MB or the PSU......

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •