Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array markec872 PC Specs
    markec872 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG STRIX SCAR 2 GL704GW
    MotherboardLAPTOP ROG XD
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8750H
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1115W RTX 2070 8GB GDDR6
    Monitor1920x1080 FHD, IPS, 144HZ, 3MS
    Storage #1512GB NVME PCIE
    Storage #21TB HDD
    CPU Cooler2x 12V ASUS fans
    Power Supply230W Laptop PSU
    Keyboard ASUS ROG HYPERSTRIKE PRO
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset RAZER THRESHER 7.1
    Mouse Pad LOGITECH G840
    OS Windows 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    GL704GW Laptop's CPU overheating during gaming (temps up to 100-105 celsius)

    I'll try to explain as fast and simple as possible... So, I have STRIX SCAR 2 GL704GW, i7 8750H, 115W RTX 2070, 16GB DDR4... And CPU is overheating up to 100 degrees celsius while gaming and 60-65 while doing nothing. I opened it up, cleaned everything from dust, opened cooling system repasted gpu, cpu, vram and power section closed everything and didnt notice diffirence. After that i undervolted CPU with INTEL XTU both the cache and core by -100mV. Didnt't help at all while gaming but at idle temps are 15% lower... WHAT SHOULD I DO NEXT?
    Please help me!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos OH2.JPG  

    OH 1.JPG  


  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    in Power settings set Maximum processor state to 99% or use ThrottleStop and disable Turbo Boost . You won't notice any performance difference in games but your CPU temps will decrease a lot .

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by Passion64x View Post
    in Power settings set Maximum processor state to 99% or use ThrottleStop and disable Turbo Boost . You won't notice any performance difference in games but your CPU temps will decrease a lot .
    worst idea ever, disabling turbo boost MEANS THAT YOU RUN 2200mhz.
    that "99% of 100% (3.9ghz @ 6cores DOESNOT mean that your i7 8750h will run @ 99% of 3900mhz [ 3861mhz] NO NO NO.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	99.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	219.4 KB 
ID:	82746

    why would you comment on something that can be proved WRONG in literally 30seconds. just don't post something that will make newcomers doing mistakes. SHAME on you.
    Last edited by chumacher; 10-27-2019 at 04:57 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    413

    Quote Originally Posted by chumacher View Post
    worst idea ever, disabling turbo boost MEANS THAT YOU RUN 2200mhz.
    that "99% of 100% (3.9ghz @ 6cores DOESNOT mean that your i7 8750h will run @ 99% of 3900mhz [ 3861mhz] NO NO NO.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	99.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	219.4 KB 
ID:	82746

    why would you comment on something that can be proved WRONG in literally 30seconds. just don't post something that will make newcomers doing mistakes. SHAME on you.
    The guy never said it would run at 99% of the boost clocks. He said doing that would disable turbo boost, which is correct. The same can be achieved using Throttlestop. Just tick the "disable turbo" checkbox and it's done. Is it a good idea? Well, it depends. For me, that would be like buying a Ferrari and putting a brick under the gas pedal. But, to each their own. This workaround might work well for some but not for others.

    What exactly are you trying to prove here with your redundant replies?
    Last edited by FULLMETALJACKET7; 10-27-2019 at 03:34 PM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by FULLMETALJACKET7 View Post
    The guy never said it would run at 99% of the boost clocks. He said doing that would disable turbo boost, which is correct. The same can be achieved using Throttlestop. Just tick the "disable turbo" checkbox and it's done. Is it a good idea? Well, it depends. For me, that would be like buying a Ferrari and putting a brick under the gas pedal. But, to each their own. This workaround might work well for some but not for others.

    What exactly are you trying to prove here with your redundant replies?
    so now you are saying that you won't notice performance difference 6 cores @ 3900mhz and 6 cores @ 2200mhz.. OMG THESE FORUMS ARE SO BAD

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    413

    Quote Originally Posted by chumacher View Post
    so now you are saying that you won't notice performance difference 6 cores @ 3900mhz and 6 cores @ 2200mhz.. OMG THESE FORUMS ARE SO BAD
    Nope. Not what I said. It was actually the complete opposite.

    The only bad thing here is your reading comprehension. If you don't like hanging out around here, just leave. Don't forget to close the door on your way out.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by FULLMETALJACKET7 View Post
    Nope. Not what I said. It was actually the complete opposite.

    The only bad thing here is your reading comprehension. If you don't like hanging out around here, just leave. Don't forget to close the door on your way out.
    I have now ignored you and your posts. you are completely useless member of this community.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array FULLMETALJACKET7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    413

    Quote Originally Posted by chumacher View Post
    I have now ignored you and your posts. you are completely useless member of this community.
    Don't blame me for your bad reading comprehension, buddy.
    Talking about me being useless, when you're the one flaming people around the forums and giving redundant replies... makes a lot of sense.
    Read my post history, it speaks for itself. I'm only here to help.

    Good riddance.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Just to make it clear running at 3,9 GHz on all cores instead of base clock , does not mean you will double your fps so there is no reason for you to ever run 6 cores on 3,9 unless you are doing some sort of synthetic tests. But there will be a massive heat output and with only couple % in performance gain . So :
    1) Disable turbo boost and test it in games - you should lose like 10-15C (Most of the games are GPU intensive, so it should be fine )
    2) If that not satisfy you - play with ThrottleStop and dial down the turbo multiplier till you are satisfied with the temps. For example 6 Cores active 2.4Ghz 4 Cores active 3.4 Ghz etc. 1-2 Cores max 4.1 Ghz . But definitely just try with Turbo boost disabled at first and see how it feels . Or use different profiles for gaming and normal use In ThrottleStop
    3) Undervolt your GPU using MSI afterburner . There was a massive thread with how to go about it.
    4) Always play with Capped fps ( you can do it with Riva Tuner ) I play everything capped at 116 Fps or lower . There is no reason to max your gpu and cpu at all times , pushing 400fps in game menus etc . Instead it will be capped at some number and CPU + GPU load will fall and temps will fall for that time .
    5) Use max FAN speed
    6) You will never be able to play on laptop with stock settings . Maybe some bulky laptops with insane cooling .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •