Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Graphic's Card displays "No Signal"

    Hello all,

    I've got a ROG GTX 1060 GPU, however when i plug an HDMI cable in it doesn't pick up the monitor.
    I've tried installing the driver for this GPU on another laptop hard drive with my laptop, then put that hard drive into my new gaming pc but no luck as the installation of the driver tries and detects the GPU on my laptop which isn't there.
    I have got ROG ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z motherboard which doesn't have onboard Graphics to boot up into safe mode etc or generally to then install the driver.

    The fans and LED's are working on the graphic's card as it's plugged in via a 8pin as required so i know i don't have any issues there with this graphic's card.

    Please help! Any suggestion / ideas more than welcome & would be really helpful!


    Kind Regards
    Jord

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    255

    Try different hdmi cable.

    Try different hdmi connection points on card and monitor (assuming it has them).

    Re-seat the graphics card in the pcie slot, while doing so, look for any dust or foreign material in the pcie slot and remedy if present.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 10-19-2019 at 12:56 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Try different hdmi cable.

    Try different hdmi connection points on card and monitor (assuming it has them).

    Re-seat the graphics card in the pcie slot, while doing so, look for any dust or foreign material in the pcie slot and remedy if present.
    Tried different HDMI cables and other monitor.
    Tried all the PCIE slots on my motherboard but no further improvement from 'No Signal'

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    255

    Is this a new system or just upgrade of the card ?


    Here check these things (motherboard manual)

    Check the dip switch's are not all disabled (2-35)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-LaneSwitch.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	60.1 KB 
ID:	82641

    Check you have connected the power above the CPU (2-38)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	151.1 KB 
ID:	82642

    Beep codes (2-56)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	172.9 KB 
ID:	82643

    Hope you find this of help
    Last edited by RedSector73; 10-19-2019 at 02:02 PM. Reason: added checks

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Is this a new system or just upgrade of the card ?


    Here check these things (motherboard manual)

    Check the dip switch's are not all disabled (2-35)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-LaneSwitch.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	60.1 KB 
ID:	82641

    Check you have connected the power above the CPU (2-38)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	151.1 KB 
ID:	82642

    Beep codes (2-56)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	172.9 KB 
ID:	82643

    Hope you find this of help
    New System, however when i plug in power to the top left (A) pins up the top it trips out the power to the whole system...

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Is this a new system or just upgrade of the card ?


    Here check these things (motherboard manual)

    Check the dip switch's are not all disabled (2-35)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-LaneSwitch.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	60.1 KB 
ID:	82641

    Check you have connected the power above the CPU (2-38)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	151.1 KB 
ID:	82642

    Beep codes (2-56)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PCIE-3.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	172.9 KB 
ID:	82643

    Hope you find this of help

    Also just checked, all these switches are turned on. However there is a orange light by the ASUS network card & another orange light by the BIOS_LED.

    The power pins in the top left corner which trip out has 'ATX 12V' next to it if that helps on why?

    Unable to upload photos unfortunately just tried.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)PVR416G413C9K @ 3600 14-15-14-28 CR1
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    255

    Quote Originally Posted by Jord9857 View Post
    Also just checked, all these switches are turned on. However there is a orange light by the ASUS network card & another orange light by the BIOS_LED.

    The power pins in the top left corner which trip out has 'ATX 12V' next to it if that helps on why?

    Unable to upload photos unfortunately just tried.
    Motherboard LEDs are covered in your motherboard manual and what they mean. Refer to pages 2-20, 2-21, 2-22, plus maybe 2-23 & 224 which are interesting.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jord9857 View Post
    New System, however when i plug in power to the top left (A) pins up the top it trips out the power to the whole system...
    Without EATX-12v ('A' 2-38) plugged in you cannot boot. The no signal post would be consistent with this not being plugged in. So in this aspect it's 'a' but not maybe 'the' problem found. Tripping out is not normal response and is normally caused by a dead short.

    Try without the video card to rule out the card itself.
    Dead short / trip out, can be caused, if you have stand off screw in the wrong place under motherboard (ie - not lining up with the screw holes into the motherboard).
    Bent or damaged pins on cpu/motherboard slot.
    Other item causing dead short. (I've seen people bend the IO shield tabs when installing the motherboard and it cause a dead short)

    "The good news is the PSU is protecting your system and shutting down before damage can be done." You need to find out why this is happening.


    If you cant fix / remedy, I would suggest you may have a defective board. Still I would bench test that idea before RMA (set it up outside the case, like in the box or non conductive surface). I like to be sure.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 10-20-2019 at 01:00 AM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I plugged the other 4 pin power connector I wasnt using into this and seems to be fine now. However still displaying no signal on both monitors and it keeps cutting out then rebooting so I reckon the CPU is getting too hot as the heatsink I got is too small.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    104

    Download and launch HWmonitor sensors only and see what your CPU is actually doing for heat, voltage and frequency.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •