Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Angry C7H + 3800X doesn't start - code F9

    Hi!
    I have some problem with my C7H (wifi) and 3800X - I instaled new BIOS 2801, instaled new ryzen, and it doesn't boot.
    Screen display only colorfull artefacts, and motherboard display F9 code.

    BIOS is in default settings - after instal.

    The same settings with 2700X - start normally... and works fine.

    PC:
    Asus C7H WiFi with 2801 BIOS
    G Skill RipjawsV F4-3200C14-16GVK x 2pcs
    RX580
    Antec 850W

    Any idea what's going on?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20190924_213603.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	835.8 KB 
ID:	82044
    Last edited by Shotem; 09-24-2019 at 08:36 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi All
    Post under post, but I found solution for my problem - I instaled BIOS 2501 - and with this BIOS PC is working!

    But I have second problem with memory performance, both CPU are set to AUTO
    2700X + memory @ 3266MHz - READ: 46428MB / s, WRITE: 44850MB / s, COPY: 42909MB / s - BIOS 2801
    3800X + memory @ 3333MHz - READ: 45789MB / s, WRITE: 25549MB / s, COPY: 46151MB / s - BIOS 2501

    Memory frequency is higher, but only in COPY I have better performance, READ is almost the same, but what about WRITE? It's wird ...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array andyliu PC Specs
    andyliu PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)(32GB) 2*F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 FTW
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 850 500GB
    Storage #2Mushkin Enhanced ECO3 480GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCooler Master H500M
    Power SupplyThermaltake TOUGHPOWER 750W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC3100 + PCE-AC88

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    168

    it's due to the chiplet design that it has half of the memory write speed for 1 chiplet

    also maybe try redownload the bios with different browser and use the back flash to do the bios update.
    Dont see any reason to stay 2501 for the 2nd gen ryzen

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I've actually had the same issue with my 3800x. I sometimes could press reset and it would boot much further. I think that setting boot voltage for Ram helped me to boot more reliably but I still run into issues when I restart Windows and get qcode 1f with latest bios. So far 2501 was the most stable bios for me with 64gb of crucial ballistix Ram.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Shotem View Post
    Hi!
    I have some problem with my C7H (wifi) and 3800X - I instaled new BIOS 2801, instaled new ryzen, and it doesn't boot.
    Screen display only colorfull artefacts, and motherboard display F9 code.

    BIOS is in default settings - after instal.

    The same settings with 2700X - start normally... and works fine.

    PC:
    Asus C7H WiFi with 2801 BIOS
    G Skill RipjawsV F4-3200C14-16GVK x 2pcs
    RX580
    Antec 850W

    Any idea what's going on?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20190924_213603.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	835.8 KB 
ID:	82044
    Hello everyone,

    I updated my CH VII to the 2801 Bios as well and when I put in the 3900x I have exactly that same screen.
    Does anyone know a reliable solution on how to make the 3900x work with the CHVII ?

    Many thanks in advance
    Nusko

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    The 3900x does not work on the CH VII with latest BIOS?

    I assumed it did!

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
    The 3900x does not work on the CH VII with latest BIOS?

    I assumed it did!
    Ofc it does, people have been running Zen 2 CPUs on the C7H since release day. Whatever the problem is here it isn't that the board doesn't support the processor...

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array djase PC Specs
    djase PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus VivoBook X202E
    MotherboardASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB DDR4-3200 CL14
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB STRIX GAMING OC
    MonitorLG 32GK850G 2560x1440@165hz
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-O11DX Black
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000W 80+Gold & CableMod Classic ModFlex C-Series Cable
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless Black
    Mouse Pad AUKEY Gaming Mauspad Large Size (900x400x4mm)
    Headset/Speakers MIFA A30 Bluetooth Speaker
    OS Windows 10 Pro 19H1 PRO x64
    Accessory #1 Corsair LL120 x6 & lighting Node Pro
    Accessory #2 NZXT Internal USB Hub
    Accessory #3 Cooler Master Accessory: Vertical Display VGA Holder Kit w/Riser Cable
    djase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Lothos View Post
    The 3900x does not work on the CH VII with latest BIOS?

    I assumed it did!
    It works great here dude.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •